We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over the top customer service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Shenzhen
Ranked #7 of 2,786 Hotels in Shenzhen
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Over the top customer service.”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I have been Platinum Ambassador for some time now with over 90 nights already this year. I have been furious with my past 3 Intercontinental stay at different countries. I had made a statement to IHG Ambassador program that I will no longer will stay at IHG and will be continuing my travels with SPG hotels.

Shenzhen was a last minute stop for me and I literally booked my hotel through IHG on my iPhone app as I was arriving to Shenzhen.

I was greeted by the bell boys in this weird outfit but was probably the nicest people that got me and my luggage out of my taxi. I went to the front desk to just do my regular check and I was told that someone have already gotten all my paperwork ready and escorted me to the Ambassador desk.

I met Joyce Zeng. She had a smile of an angel and told me that here is 2 document I need to sign because she had already taken care of everything. I gave her passport to scan and a credit card for deposit the usual. She gave me a welcome gift and my room key within minutes. Usually I would be at the desk waiting for 15-20 sometimes 30 minutes to get everything set up.

She checked up after the first day to make sure my stay was comfortable and see if I needed anything. I usually get this call several days into my stay from my previous experience. I told her the reception in my room is that great and there is a lot of tomato in my fruit bowl because I really don't like that, overall it was a goodnight. That afternoon I came back to my room with apples and pears and good cell phone reception. I went to contact Joyce to tell her thank you for getting this taken cared so fast. Typically I get ignore by the staff during my stay.

She was so polite and also informed she updated my IHG profile to make sure I don't get tomato for any of my future stay with intercontinental. I didn't even know that was an OPTION!

Anyways, I informed all my colleagues that are travelling around China like myself who are IHG platinum also to give this place a try and see if you could work with Joyce because she provided the best customer service I could ask for.

My stay was 3 weeks? and few of my other colleagues have been here for nearly a month LOVES it here.

The price is also very reasonable compared to other Intercontinental in China.

Room Tip: Get the pool view. Avoid corner rooms. You will love the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calvin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, General Manager at InterContinental Shenzhen, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Calvin N, Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with the InterContinental Shenzhen. We continuously strive to exceed our guests’ expectations and make it our ambition to make the InterContinental Shenzhen a leader in excellence. To hear your ever so generous comment and satisfaction makes us particularly thrilled and pleased. Please rest assured that I have conveyed my deep appreciation with Ms. Joyce Zeng’s outstanding service, and we will definitely keep up the good work and improve our products as well as service continuously in order to make sure our distinguished guests like you will have a pleasant experience when staying at our hotel. we look forward to welcoming you back many times in the future to the InterContinental Shenzhen, where you may be assured of our best possible attention at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    790
    405
    58
    18
    8
See reviews for
78
57
50
412
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2014

IHG is always the best in my mind. However, the service of Inter-Continental ShenZhen is really over my expectation. They really tried their best to satisfy all my needs and achieve my expectations. Sometimes even make me WOW.
Best staff and concierge in Town.
Beautiful hotel ..good Spa.
Massive room.

Room Tip: Every single room has big balcony…So good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anth0nyH0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, General Manager at InterContinental Shenzhen, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Anth0nyH0, thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with the InterContinental Shenzhen. We are thrilled to hear that you regarded our service over your expectation. Please rest assured your commendation will be shared with our entire team, as reinforcement to continue their efforts and improve our service to make the InterContinental Shenzhen a leader in excellence. Looking forward to welcoming you back to the InterContinental Shenzhen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

A sensible place to rest your head after a hectic day doing business in Shenzhen. Despite being part of a large international chain the hotel had a couple of unique features that ensure you can never forget that you are not in the West - specifically a recreated Spanish galleon (really!) which is a theme bar as well as an matador/Spanish bull theme ( for example the taps in the bathrooms have mable statues of bulls).
Service is good and the rooms are huge.

Room Tip: Get a room on the opposite side if the hotel to the next door "window on the world" theme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GDM70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, General Manager at InterContinental Shenzhen, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear GDM70, thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with the InterContinental Shenzhen. It is our great pleasure you enjoyed staying with us. Our hotel opened in 2006 with the Spanish theme hence everywhere you look, there are a Spanish features. Our Galleon Bar is a replica and double in size of the real Santa Maria which set sail Columbus’s odyssey to find the Land of America. We look forward to welcoming you back again where you may be assured of our best possible attention at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Come for the swimming pool. Rooms are OK but the swimming pool is the reason to visit this hotel. When you are done swimming, walk out the front door, across the parking lot to the underground subway station and continue straight up to the other side of the street. Turn to your right, 50 meters ( 150 yards ) on the left and up the staircase to all the local restaurants. It is approximately a 10 minute walk for the best local food at great prices.

Room Tip: Find the bar inside the ship. Live band at night but you will need to look for it or ask someone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, General Manager at InterContinental Shenzhen, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Tom P, thank you for sharing with us your staying experience with the InterContinental Shenzhen. Always glad to hear our esteemed guests enjoyed staying with us especially enjoyed our swimming pool (which is one of our unique selling point). Many appreciations for you to share great dining experience around our hotel. We will definitely keep on improving our F&B products continuously so that distinguished guests like you will have a pleasant dinning experience in the hotel as well. Looking forward to welcoming you back to the InterContinental Shenzhen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Not located in the centre of Shenzhen but in the west makes this Hotel the perfect spot for your weekend activites, as a lot of attractions are located in this area. The spanish theme of the Hotel may seem absurde at the beginning, but it is very funny though, if you know what you get yoursef into. (I would not recommand it to Business Travellers). The pool area is big, including a sand area and a big ship which is of course great for kids. The rooms are nice (though you should insist on a newly rennovated room as the old ones can have a wet/mold smell). Staff is very friendly, and you will find somebody you can deal with your needs in English.

Room Tip: Insist on a newly rennovated room. The Hotel is huge, so if for whatever reason you can't walk a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, General Manager at InterContinental Shenzhen, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear ALHong Kong, thank you for sharing with us your staying experience. We are glad that you find our location, Spanish deco and outdoor swimming pool proper for your staying purpose. Our hotel is trying our best to renovate as many rooms as possible to provide our guests an enjoyable stay experience and we will definitely keep on improving our products as well as service continuously in order to make sure our distinguished guests like you will have a pleasant experience when staying at our hotel. Looking forward to welcoming you back to the InterContinental Shenzhen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenzhen
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I have stayed at intercontinental shenzhen for many times,it is really a top 5 star hotel,big room with large balcony,many restaurants and good quality,front office staff is very helpful and always smile,manager jackie yuis very profeessional and always see my needs and provided personalized service,very efficient and detailed...will for sure come back for him,my favorite hotel in shenzhen.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, General Manager at InterContinental Shenzhen, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest H, thank you for sharing your comments. It is my great pleasure and honour that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments will be shared with our entire team, as reinforcement to continue their efforts and improve our service to make the InterContinental Shenzhen a leader in excellence. In the mean time, your commendation has been passed on to our associates, especially Mr. Jackie Yu. We look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Shenzhen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

IC Shenzhen is a great place for both business and pleasure trips.
Always very welcoming with just excellent, professional and warm service all around.
My club suite room was wonderful I, well equipped and very comfortable.
Special thanks to the club team, to Yvonne the club manager and to the hotel DM Tom Teng that always take great care about everything.
Thank you !!!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms closer to the alevator wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Guest H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, General Manager at InterContinental Shenzhen, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest H, thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with the InterContinental Shenzhen. It is my great pleasure and honour that you enjoyed staying with us. Your compliments regarding our InterContinental club service by our Club team, especially Ms. Yvonne Long has been passed on to our associates. We look forward to welcoming you back to the InterContinental Shenzhen in the not too distant future, where you may be assured of our best possible attention at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Civic Center
The Ritz-Carlton, Shenzhen
The Ritz-Carlton, Shenzhen
#2 of 2,786 in Shenzhen
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Four Seasons Hotel Shenzhen
#4 of 2,786 in Shenzhen
345 reviews
Luohu Port
Grand Hyatt Shenzhen
Grand Hyatt Shenzhen
#10 of 2,786 in Shenzhen
722 reviews
Zhuzilin
The Langham, Shenzhen
The Langham, Shenzhen
#11 of 2,786 in Shenzhen
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Shenzhen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Shenzhen

Property: InterContinental Shenzhen
Address: No.9009 Shennan Avenue, Nanshan District, Shenzhen 518053, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Shenzhen High-tec Industrial Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Shenzhen
#6 Spa Hotel in Shenzhen
#7 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
#50 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Shenzhen 5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When InterContinental Shenzhen opened on the Shenzhen Bay Hotel site, it not only preserved the legend s original façade, it honoured its innovative spirit by becoming China s first luxury hotel to adopt a mesmerizing Spanish theme. The Shennan Road address is minutes from Overseas Chinese Town, Meridian View Centre and the Futian business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Shenzhen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Shenzhen Hotel Shenzhen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing