We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“budget place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
City Inn ShenzhenHappy Valley
Ranked #663 of 2,755 Hotels in Shenzhen
Noida, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“budget place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

It was ok place to sleep and live but if you are looking for international breakfast then dont go there. its good for local people but foreigners may face issue as language and food is local.

One major advantage is location, this place is like heart of city so that is a good positive point.

Room Tip: doenst matter, take any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DKSingh52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    111
    18
    6
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
2
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

We chose the City Inn Happy Valley because it was located near some of the tourist attractions we wanted to visit and because it was highly rated on the internet. Overall it was pretty good, but I don't know why it was rated so good online. The staff was pretty dull and lifeless. The refrigerator was broken and when we asked to replace or fix it, nothing was done. The shower leaked all over the bathroom floor. The room was pretty small and cramped (but clean) and the bed was super hard. There were plenty of good things though: internet was hard-wired and fast, Chinese breakfast was included, and it was actually decent, even though I would have preferred a western breakfast. The location was excellent. The whole area was so pleasant to walk around and explore. Window of the World was 5 minutes away and Splendid China was about a 20 minute walk. In between the hotel and Splendid China was a Wal-Mart that had excellent soups and dumplings for one of the best lunches I had on my whole trip! For the price and area, I'd probably stay at the City Inn Happy Valley again, but I still think this place is overrated.

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the Happy Valley Amusement Park side if you sleep late or nap during th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edmontonspy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hangzhou, China
Level Contributor
214 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

I had to find a place to stay over rather fast. It was pure coincidence that I ended up in this place. I stayed here one night only. Here my pros and cons for City Inn (Happey Valley).

The pros
- Ok location in Overseas Chinese Town
- Right next to metro station
- They have restaurants and supermarkets close by (5-10 minutes walk)
- Hotel is right next to amusement park, assuming this is of interest
- Room is big enough
- Toilet is ok
- Cost is around 300 renminbi per night and does include breakfast = cheap

The cons
- Check-in was bit of messy
- Their English skills are rather limited
- My bed was super hard even in Chinese standards
- Hotel elevator had some issues
- Overall City Inn did look bit tired
- Poor isolation, traffic did disturb me during the night

This hotel would be good choice for somebody trying to get a cheap room. It is way below the standards typical western business traveler in general would require. I did spot some young westerners, and I think for them this is rather ok choice.

I did have my dinner in UBC coffee, cost around 35 renminbi. Coffee there would cost you more than that. Decent and simple food.

Room Tip: Roadside rooms can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abramis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

the hotel was the best i've stayed throughout my trip . the rooms are clean , nice , and comfy . the location is also very strategic as the amusement park and the mtr is all within walking distance. i really enjoyed my stay there. will surely recommend to anyone finding a place near the happy valley amusement park , windows of the world , or chinese cultural village

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L0uisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonora, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2007

This is a little hotel just next to the Happy Valley amusement park in Shenzhen and walking distance to the subway. The hotel is very clean and prices are VERY low by US standards.

The room that I stayed in was quite small, but comprable to European hotels. The bed was a bit hard (as are most beds in China). But overall the room was very clean. The bathroom was again small, but clean. The air conditioner worked great which was important in the August heat!

The hotel staff was very helpfull. Most spoke English or were willing to try to understand my akward Mandarin. They helped me book a flight to Beijing and were always there to help find a taxi.

The downside to my stay there was that my room overlooked the Happy Valley amusment park. That made it loud if the windows were open and it was an akward view where people could look into the room if the curtains were open.

Overall it is a great value and right next to the amusement park.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank LexaPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Longgang District
Vienna Hotel Shenzhen Shuanglong Subway Station
Vienna Hotel Shenzhen Shuanglong...
#1,018 of 2,755 in Shenzhen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Overseas Chinese Town
Hong Bo Hotel
Hong Bo Hotel
#662 of 2,755 in Shenzhen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Overseas Chinese Town
Yafeng Hotel (Huaqiao City)
Yafeng Hotel (Huaqiao City)
#916 of 2,755 in Shenzhen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Overseas Chinese Town
Ruichi Hotel
Ruichi Hotel
#704 of 2,755 in Shenzhen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Overseas Chinese Town
Lijing Commercial Hotel
Lijing Commercial Hotel
#1,089 of 2,755 in Shenzhen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Overseas Chinese Town
Novotel Shenzhen Bauhinia
Novotel Shenzhen Bauhinia
#160 of 2,755 in Shenzhen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Inn ShenzhenHappy Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Inn ShenzhenHappy Valley

Property: City Inn ShenzhenHappy Valley
Address: West Road, Du Juan Moutain, Overseas Chinese Town, Nanshan District, Shenzhen 518053, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Overseas Chinese Town
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #663 of 2,755 Hotels in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — City Inn ShenzhenHappy Valley 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your City Inn ShenzhenHappy Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Inn (Happy Valley) Shenzhen Hotel Shenzhen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing