We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value 4 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Wing On City Zhongshan Hotel
Ranked #5 of 372 Hotels in Zhongshan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Location is in southern part of Zhongshan city among some kind of industry estate but it is safe. Very limited retail and food places within the vicinity. It is about 20-30 minute car ride away from the city center. Taxi is not readily available but the service desk will help book taxi that can take 10-30 minutes to arrive. Overall the hotel is well maintained, functional and clean. Rooms are mid size, well equipment especially for business travelers and comfortable. Breakfast and service are passable. All in all is a very good value 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RennieCP, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Wing On City Zhongshan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for choosing Crowne Plaza Zhongshan Wing On City and share with us your great and detaild review.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again.

Marketing & Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

37 - 43 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Overall rating of this hotel is very good, but not up to the 5star standard, during breakfast hotel lobby completely occupied by restaurant, no seat or sofa available for guest who are waiting for check out or pick up service, lobby bar also not that impressive, however the biggest setback was for me location, I didn't like the location since it's not in a tourist place nor in a business center, however hotel tariff was great compare to other IHG properties in China or elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dewan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RennieCP, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Wing On City Zhongshan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for staying at Crowne Plaza Zhongshan Wing On City and write us your great review.

We sincerely apologise for the breakfast seating arrangement which made you not comfortable.

We promise you that we will pass your comments to food & beverage department for improvement.

Hope this experience will not deter you to visit us again in the near future. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again.

Marketing & Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

As a business traveller, I have stayed in many hotels in many places. This was my first visit to China, working in Zhongshan. I spend two weeks "living" in the Crowne Plaza Wing On City. This hotel was easily one of my favorite business hotels.

The hotel isn't exactly cheap, but you are getting what you pay for. The rooms are comfortable, as well as all of the facilities. The front desk staff speaks good English which made things a bit easier for myself. There are three restaurants and an executive lounge that are all quite good. The fitness center is good for a hotel, with two each of bikes, ellipticals and treadmills as well as some free weights and other weight machines. The equipment is newer and clean.

The one downside might be the lack of immediate surrounding things to do, however I didn't really get to explore much so I could be mistaken.

I would definitely recommend staying here if you are in Zhongshan for a long period of time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smuckuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RennieCP, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Wing On City Zhongshan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

First of all, we would like to thank you very much for choosing Crowne Plaza Zhongshan Wing On City as well as your recommendation! We are very pleased to hear that we had provided you with a memorable great stay experience. As a 5-Star Interntional brand hotel, we dedicate ourselves to achieve a true hospitality and excel in our service standards. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Zhongshan Wing On City in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Beautiful hotel in the heart of Zhongshan. The hotel was very modern with excellent staff. Our room was clean and more that what we were expecting considering what we paid $60 Cdn per night. I would definitely stay there again.
There were many local sites to see nearby. The main open market is a block away. There is an open market three days a week where you can barter for items to your hearts desire. Across the street is a great museum housing furniture and artwork. You can catch a bus or taxi out on the main road to Shiqui. Ask the taxi driver to take you to Bo Hang Guy. It is a shopping area with great stores and there is a newly opened mall at one end.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MFL1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RennieCP, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Wing On City Zhongshan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us and write us the review. We are very pleased to know you have had a pleasant stay in Zhongshan. There are still some other sights in Zhongshan except pedestrian street, such as Dr. Sun's Museum, Sun Wen Park etc. where you could visit next time. The Hotel also provide a free shuttle service from & to shopping center area. You could check with our concierge colleague for detailed schedule during your next stay. Looking forward for your next stay in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

it's real 5-star hotel.Inside hotel you feel yourself save.They can provide everything you need.The restaurant is also very good,delicious food. Far from city centre,very far away.But if i need to come back to Guangdong province i'm sure to come back here

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TulpanAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RennieCP, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Wing On City Zhongshan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you very much for choosing Crowne Plaza Zhongshan Wing On City as your recent stay place and taking your time to write us the review. We are very pleased to know that you had a great stay with us and like our food served at the restaurant. Regarding the location, we do have a free shuttle bus service from hotel to Zhongshan Ferry Port (around 30 minutes for one way by driving) and the Lihe shopping center and entertainment area (around 10 minutes for on way by driving). You could check the schedule with my concierge colleague for details and make the reservation for your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel lobby is very impressive - think clean lines, high ceiling with a DNA type light fixture & lots of marble.
The check in process is quick and efficient & we are in our room within minutes of our arrival. Staff are very helpful and accommodating & even though English varies from staff member to staff member they really to try to acclimate all requests.
We are booked into a junior suite- there is a lounge area , a spacious marble bathroom & well appointed bedroom. The suite is very clean- they really go get 10 out of 10 for cleanliness.
The hotel has free wifi so it's easy to stay connected.
The suite is technologically well appointed - 3 flat screen TV's, in room espresso machine, iPod Dock & hi fi system if you want to bring your own music.
The hotel in not centrally located- but it's a 15RMB cab fare to the biggest shopping centre.
We are at the hotel restaurants - we tried all 3 restaurants & 1 bar.
The breakfast buffet is good- huge selection on western & Chinese food & good standard of food.
The Japanese restaurant is very good in terms of quality of food and value.
The Chinese restaurant - is very disappointing it is difficult to choose dishes that appeal to western taste- essentially if you don't like offal it is difficult to eat here.
The Cafe while great for breakfast - was a huge disappointment for dinner- they were having an Italian month when we were there - the pizza was aweful & had been microwaved.
The lobby bar is also disappointing we ordered hot chocolate - which ended up being cold chocolate.
While the hotel is very good the biggest area of improvement needed is really the food- with the exception of the Japanese restaurant & breakfast - the rest was very disappointing & with not much around the hotel you need to venture out to find any decent food.
I did not mark the hotel down for the food- only because the hotel was very clean and well maintained & staff were very helpful.
I would stay here again- but would only eat at the Japanese restaurant.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank IAmAGlobalNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Went there for a short vacation last weekend and was impressed. I was being upgraded to Executive Floors and enjoyed a superb treat not just a private lounge but a dedicated ABF the other day at their 20/F Lounge. It was awesome as I could stay away from the huge crowd at their main cafe which locates at the G/F and enjoyed a tasty breakfast within a quiet, cozy environment. Need to highlight the property's extraordinary bedding facility, once you jump on the bed and you'll never want to leave even when you are well awake! It is a Green hotel, you'll find the management is well commited. However, you may find room a bit hot as they pre-set the room temperature at the level of 25 degrees at all time and you cannot manage to change it.

Room Tip: Take higher floors or Executive Floors where you can have a quieter sleeping quality and privileged...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lawrence0824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zhongshan hotels
14.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Zhongshan Xiaolan
2.5 mi away
Hilton Zhongshan Downtown
Hilton Zhongshan Downtown
#1 of 372 in Zhongshan
437 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Zhongshan Hotel
Sheraton Zhongshan Hotel
#2 of 372 in Zhongshan
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Hiyet Oriental Hotel
Hiyet Oriental Hotel
#8 of 372 in Zhongshan
68 reviews
2.5 mi away
King Century Hotel
King Century Hotel
#7 of 372 in Zhongshan
107 reviews
2.4 mi away
Zhongshan International Hotel
Zhongshan International Hotel
#19 of 372 in Zhongshan
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Wing On City Zhongshan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Wing On City Zhongshan Hotel

Address: No.8 Xing Nan Lu, Nan District, Zhongshan, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Guangdong > Zhongshan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 372 Hotels in Zhongshan
Price Range: £50 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Wing On City Zhongshan Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 381
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza Wing On City Zhongshan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing