We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The service is getting better and better......” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Zhongshan Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Zhongshan Downtown
Ranked #1 of 346 Hotels in Zhongshan
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The service is getting better and better......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Reserved a room for one night stay online. Received a pre-arrival email from Becky from Guest Relations and she shared the information about the weather forecast and so on.

Arrived at the hotel at 1730hrs and i was escorted up the Executive Floor for check in. My room got upgraded to a nice Executive Room for being a gold hhonors member. Yoyo, the Executive floor manager welcomed me and did the registration. Had a small chat with her during my cocktail hours and Becky from Guest Relations came to the lounge to say hello. A nice gesture to make the customer feel welcomed.

Stay was fantastic and all the staffs were polite and friendly. For sure I am going back again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChanZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonZS, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Zhongshan Downtown, responded to this review, 29 December 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay in Zhongshan and we appreciate that you have taken the time to share with us your comments.

We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay here and we appreciate that you have raised lots of valuble feedbacks and comments. Please rest assured that we will continue to improve our services to exceed your expectations during future stays.

It is our great pleasure to have you as our guest and I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back next time you visit Zhongshan.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    112
    21
    8
    5
See reviews for
41
33
10
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zhongshan, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Had to have my company contact hotel to get complimentary internet service, otherwise cost was rather high for that service. Restaurants very nice. 58th floor restaurant very relaxing and good Italian food.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Charles F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonZS, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Zhongshan Downtown, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay in Zhongshan and we appreciate that you have taken the time to share with us your comments.

We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay and have good impressions on our location and facilities. Please rest assured that we will continue to improve our services to exceed your expectations during future stays.

It was our great pleasure to have you as our guest and I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back next time you visit Zhongshan.


Best Regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland OR, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Great hotel and excellent value. Be sure to check out the gym and pool they both are top notch. I had a full 25 meter pool all to myself at 6:00 every morning. They also allow access to the gym 24 hours so those of us suffering jet lag had something else to do besides email. The breakfast buffet had everything you could imagine.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonZS, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Zhongshan Downtown, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review.
We are so glad to know you have had a great experience here. And your sharing with details on our Health Club and Breakfast Buffet are quite helpful.

We sincerely invite you to stay with us on your next trip to Zhongshan.

Best Regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

I have been a regular guest of this hotel, usually every month i come to Zhongshan and i have seen this hotel go from a great one slowly down hill. When it opened it was great, the staff were great, the language barrier didn't exist as all the staff were very fluent in english, but slowly as a result of the management of the hotel, most of the good people have left, leaving a mix mash of poor people that really don't know what they are doing, the service level is to the point that its quite pathetic, you can't get any room service unless you are prepared to wait over an hour and even then you have to call, scream and shout to get it. The worst of the place is seriously the level of english by the staff that work here now, i get it I'm in a foreign country but you do expect 5 star hotels of Hilton standard to have a reasonable grasp of english.

Next time when i come to Zhongshan i will be trying the Sheraton, if anyone has anything to offer on the Sheraton, please let me know.

Very sad indeed.

Room Tip: corner rooms are larger and offer greater space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelbradBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonZS, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Zhongshan Downtown, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay in Zhongshan and we appreciate that you have taken the time to share with us your comments.

We appreciate that you have raised lots of valuble feedbacks and comments. Regarding to the Wifi issue, we have shared with our operation team for retification. We are so sorry for all the inconvenience that caused to you. Please rest assured that we will continue to improve our services to exceed your expectations during future stays.

It is our great pleasure to have you as our guest and I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back next time you visit Zhongshan.


Best Regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Every amenity you could need, and perfect for business travel.i have stayed here twice and each time was a good experience.
Room service is excellent, the beds are super comfortable and it has 2 Starbucks within walking distance. The hotel is attached to a high end mall which has a great Italian restaurant, not to mention the Japanese restaurant on the top floor of the hotel . Would recommend this hotel

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Carole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonZS, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Zhongshan Downtown, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review.
We are so glad to know you have had a great experience here. It is our pleasure to see guests check out with a big smile on face.

We sincerely invite you to stay with us on your next trip to Zhongshan and explore more of us.

Best Regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Overall my stay at Hilton downtown has been a quite OK. I had spent a few days in Zhongshan for Chinese New Year with family. The only problem that occured for me was when I checked-out of the room, the staff had confirmed that the 3000RMB deposit I had placed for the room will be cancelled. Only a few a days later have I realised that an amount of around $860AUD= 4800RMB had been charged to my credit card unknowingly from the day I checked-out .

I called Hilton and after they've reviewed the charge, it turned out to be an error the staff made. They are getting the charge reversed, however it's already been 2 weeks and it has not cleared. I've chased them up and was told that the process may take up to 30 working days. Only a brief apology was given.
I hadn't expect this from a 5 star chain. The management team should really review the capabilities of the staff at handling these transactions. I just don't understand how a mistake like this can be made.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonZS, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Zhongshan Downtown, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review.
We feel sorry for your experience on the transaction process. Certainly you deserve a more efficient service and a sincere apology from us.

Thanks for letting us know on this matter. It is highly valued and we will facilitate a training session on this process to avoid same cases in the future.

We sincerely invite you to stay with us on your next trip to Zhongshan and experience on our improvements.


Best Regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shanghai, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Hotel location is quite good, the surrounding environment is also good, eat in the surrounding shopping is very convenient. The hotel's environment and service also is pretty good. Breakfast is buffet, also more abundant. Room is very neat and clean, but the pillow is too high, personally, I prefer thin pillow. Hotel location is quite good, the surrounding environment is also good, eat in the surrounding shopping is very convenient. The hotel's environment and service also is pretty good. Breakfast is buffet, also more abundant. Room is very neat and clean, but the pillow is too high, personally, I prefer thin pillow.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Lei L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonZS, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Zhongshan Downtown, responded to this review, 29 December 2014
Google Translation
尊敬的顾客:

感谢您选择下榻中山利和希尔顿酒店!

我们了解到您对此次整体入住比较满意,为此我们深表荣幸。我们会去和我们的员工分享您的回馈,客人对服务的满意也是对我们工作最大的动力。

我们真诚欢迎您在不久将来的再次下榻!

酒店管理层
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zhongshan hotels
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Zhongshan Hotel
Sheraton Zhongshan Hotel
#2 of 346 in Zhongshan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.2 mi away
King Century Hotel
King Century Hotel
#5 of 346 in Zhongshan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
2.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Wing On City Zhongshan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hiyet Oriental Hotel
Hiyet Oriental Hotel
#7 of 346 in Zhongshan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
13.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Zhongshan Xiaolan
1.4 mi away
Zhongshan International Hotel
Zhongshan International Hotel
#18 of 346 in Zhongshan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Zhongshan Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Zhongshan Downtown

Property: Hilton Zhongshan Downtown
Address: No.16 Zhongshan Third Road, East District, Zhongshan 528400, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Guangdong > Zhongshan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 346 Hotels in Zhongshan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Zhongshan Downtown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 459
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Hilton Zhongshan Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing