We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel”
Review of Star City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Star City Hotel
Ranked #16 of 549 Hotels in Zhuhai
Reviewed 26 June 2013

City Center - near to the office CBD JIDA location, close both border crossing to Macau and Ferry terminal to Hong Kong and Shenzhen. Buffet dinner at Panaroma offered ranges of fresh seafood and sashimi, was told it's the best buffet dinner in Zhuhai hotels. Free unlimited internet access provided and delighted that I can still can access to Facebook from the hotel room. Clean and quite room despite that stayed in the room facing the main road facing the new office tower opposite the hotel.

Room Tip: Despite that we had the room facing the main road, its still comfort and quite as the traffic is not...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michaelleebanann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
There are newer reviews for Star City Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 14 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2012

Near to the Jiuzhou wharf/port, it is conveniently located in Jida area. Public transportation is easily available because there is a bus stop just in front of the hotel.

Check-in was ok but could do with a little bit more efficiency and smile on the face. However, the bellboy/door boy was a class better. Room was standard as one would have expected from most business hotels, very decent enough for business and leisure traveler. Breakfast area is big and nice, the same can't be said about the variety and quality of the food. On my 3rd day, many would have gotten tired of the same food offered, buffet style though.

For the decent rate offered, it is nevertheless a good place to spend a couple of nights in Zhuhai.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simone_sg1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Hotel is clean but outdated
Staff not helpful (didn't even help in ordering pizza to the room)
Beds are rock hard
The price is low but there are better alternatives for not much more
(non smoking room had ash tray and matches!)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank y p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

The exterior and the "hardware" is decent but a little bit old. Nevertheless, it seems that the service level needs more attention:

1) I had an important task to do in the morning and therefore I switched on the "do not disturb" button and also placed such indication outside the door. To my surprise, the cleaning lady popped in and wanted to do the room service!! Are such indicators merely for visitors - not for hotel staff?

2) The breakfast is supposed to be served until 10:00am. When I arrived the breakfast hall at 9:00am, less than 30% of the food left and no refill was done afterwards. With such limited food supply, I finished at 9:15 am and I stayed there to use the wifi. My plate was not taken away until 10:00 am.

btw, I could easily overhear people's conversation in the corridor and have their doors slammed as the wall/door is too thin.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sum0104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

In all my travels across Asia, this is one hotel that does not disappoint. I recommend it highly.

The facility is a relatively new, 18-story structure in a commercial district of Zhuhai. It’s about 10 minutes from the ferry terminal and 10 minutes from the Gombei bus station, in fact, it’s just about ten minutes from everything except the airport, which is a 40-minute, 150-remembi taxi ride.

The staff if very friendly and while English is not their strongest language so far we’ve always been able to get the job done, which is more than you can say at other Chinese hotels. I would estimate 80% of the guests are Chinese, so Western visitors and our requirements are not unfamiliar.

While clean and modern, the hotel is not “over the top” – which I appreciate. The rooms are sufficient, with excellent plumbing, over-sized showers, spacious closets and a desk big enough to do the job. The internet is hard-wired, fast and reliable. The TV is low-def, but includes English-language offerings including movies, CNN and the BBC, which is such a relief after banal offerings at most other Chinese hotels. Two bottles of water are included and refreshed daily. The beds are large and comfortable, and room lighting can be controlled from bed-side switches. All in all, exactly what the weary road-warrior needs.

(Oddly, all the guest rooms have two uncomfortable sitting chairs; not sure why management felt compelled to offer two chairs in each room when neither can be tolerated by my spine for more than a few minutes. Oh, well.)

A small quantity of laundry is included in the daily room rate, and if you go over the daily limit the prices are very fair. I had a large batch of laundry cleaned on this most recent stay, and the total charge was only 127 remembi.

In terms of amenities, there is a small lobby bar that can serve beer and wine; anything more than that is pushing the envelope. A young lady plays the piano in the bar nightly; I’ve been coming to the Star City for two years and the same pianist has been there every night, every time I’ve been there.

There is a health club, but no swimming pool. There is a nicely appointed business center. There is a Japanese restaurant and a massage parlor, but I have patronized neither. To my mind, the best deal of the place is the 2nd floor restaurant. It serves a lovely and varied breakfast buffet from 7am to 10am, then switches to lunch and eventually to dinner. The staff is very cordial, the food is fine (certainly not the finest cuisine, but very respectable) and is a nice mix of western and Chinese cooking. The price is not included in the room rate, but it’s so cheap it’s not a factor.

All in all, if you have a need to visit seaside Zhuhai, I recommend the Star City highly. It’s a much better deal than the ocean-front resort hotels, it’s centrally located, and the staff does things right.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PilotMike2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Victor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 吉川一
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zhuhai hotels
Guotai Hotel
#10 of 549 in Zhuhai
121 reviews
Guang Dong Hotel Zhuhai
#15 of 549 in Zhuhai
191 reviews
Holiday Inn Zhuhai
#9 of 549 in Zhuhai
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gongbei business area
Zhuhai Bamboo Hotel
Zhuhai Bamboo Hotel
#12 of 549 in Zhuhai
102 reviews
Leisure Hotel
#14 of 549 in Zhuhai
48 reviews
Kingdo Hotel
#13 of 549 in Zhuhai
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star City Hotel

Address: 88 Jingshan Road, Xiangzhou District, Zhuhai 519015, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Zhuhai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 549 Hotels in Zhuhai
Price Range: £40 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Star City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Star City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing