We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than my expectation”
Review of Yong Tong Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Zhuhai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yong Tong Hotel
Ranked #72 of 536 Hotels in Zhuhai
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Better than my expectation”
Reviewed 9 September 2010

I was expecting a avg room/ hotel but to my surprise this hotel, the rooms, location, service is very good. I would say value for $$. Very near to GongBei underground mall.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MiffyOng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    22
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
5
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2010

We booked two suites at RMB 368 which were rather large and comfortable. Each suite comes with two adjoining rooms with hot/cold water dispensers and can sleep 4 persons. There is only one suite on each level. Unfortunately, one of the suites was over-whelming with cigarette smoke which we rejected. Apparently, they do not differentiate between the smoking and non-smoking rooms so you can only depend on to lady luck to get a non-smoking occupant the previous day.
Since they do not have any other suites left, we viewed other rooms. Unfortunately, the bigger rooms all stunk of cigarette smoke and was totally unsuitable for occupancy. We had to settle for a double bedroom in the end so it was a bit of a squeeze.
The hotel counter staff could only speak Mandarin and seemed irritated that we were bothered with the cigarette-smoke filled rooms. They were not exactly accommodating but acceded to our request to view other available rooms.
One night when we were walking back to our rooms, we saw a family who opened their hotel room wide-open to smoke. The no- regulation of smoking in the hotel really puts me off but I am not sure if this is condoned in other hotels in China too. It really makes me wondered about their fire safety since anyone can smoke in the hotel.
The good location ( within walking distance to LianHua street and Gongbei underground mall, a bus depot next door) and the reasonable price probably made up for the polluted rooms. I read reviews like problems with the noise and smog from the bus depot but as we stayed on the 9th storey, we didn't experience any.
Some patience and insistence may be needed to seek a fresher room from the hotel staff if travelling with very young children and the elderly.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaceling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2010

I have stayed in this hotel twice. Very good location, clean, value for money. We booked the room by phone call to get a better room. I chose the biggest room at RMB268 which is only about RMB30 more than a standard double room. I was told every floor has only one such room and I estimate it is at least 1.5x bigger. The hotel is located just opposite the Gongbei underground mall. Besides the hotel has many shops.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennyhhw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2010

We were in Zhuhai in Feb, during the Chinese New Year period.

Yong Tong hotel is just a few minutes' walk from the Gongbei Immigration. Very convenient as it is also near the Gongbei Port Plaza (which, as you might have read elsewhere, is the huge underground shopping mall). There is also a bus depot next to the hotel - I suppose you can buy long distance bus tickets to other districts from there.

Above the hotel is a KFC fast food joint. As you come out of the hotel entrance and turn right, there is a very very long lane at which you can get hair cuts/wash, food, shoes, electronic goods (fake?). There's even a 24hr Mcdonalds along the way (good for late night suppers). You can also access the market from this lane.

The hotel rooms are small, but generally enough space to maneuver around. Our room was very clean and well maintained. Toilet was also clean and nicely done up. From our room window, we could see the fireworks display at the beach. Windows were a little grimy though. The rooms come with water dispensers, which dispenses both hot and cold water. Closets were also clean and spacious. There is free internet usage for every room. However, you must connect the internet cable to your computer for use. No Wireless internet. There is a business centre at the lobby. I didn't go in, hence, cannot comment on that.

The service is excellent. Very fast and efficient - the staff use walkie talkies to communicate with each other (i think). They were very polite and warm, very patient as well. However, I do not think they speak English. That would be quite a hassle. Other than that minor problem, the hotel staff's service is top notch for a small hotel.

Since we visited during the Chinese New Year period, the room rates were higher. We paid about 1400 Yuan (or RMB) for about 4 days and 3 nights. Normally, the rooms will only be about 200 plus Yuan.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joshualdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2009

We stayed one night at Yong Tong Hotel during our visit to Zhuhai recently which is across from the underground mall. The hotel main lobby is small and not grand but we are definitely very satisfied with the triple beds suite room which costs RMB328/nite. The suite comes with 2 adjoining rooms. Rooms are clean. One room with 2 twin beds, a sofa, TV, fridge, dressing table, water dispenser, bathroom and another room is with a double bed and wardrobe. It is walking distance to shopping area and food and olso is easy to take taxi nearby the hotel too.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kca23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2009

I took a free complimentary GongBei bus shuttle from the JiuZhou ferry terminal to the bus terminal at Gong Bei, and the hotel is just located a min walk from it.

At JiuZhou ferry terminal, once you exit out from custom, walk towards the entrance of the aircon podium where KFC is, the free bus shuttle counter is just across.

The hotel is just opp the Underground GongBei Shopping paradise and the heck point to Macau.

I paid 240 CNY that comes with a large comfortable double bed room and free internet and free drinks.

Without internet, they charged 200CNY.

The staff are helpful too. Most only speak mandarin though.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zhuhai hotels
0.0 mi away
Golden Fortune Hotel Zhuhai
Golden Fortune Hotel Zhuhai
#173 of 536 in Zhuhai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Similan Hotel Zhuhai
Similan Hotel Zhuhai
#20 of 536 in Zhuhai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lifeng Hotel Zhuhai Gongbei Kou'an Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Zhuhai Charming Holiday Hotel
0.2 mi away
L Hotel
L Hotel
#65 of 536 in Zhuhai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.3 mi away
L Hotels (Zhuhai Lianhua)
L Hotels (Zhuhai Lianhua)
#18 of 536 in Zhuhai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yong Tong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yong Tong Hotel

Property: Yong Tong Hotel
Address: No.20 Youyi Road, Xiangzhou District, Zhuhai 519020, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Zhuhai
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 536 Hotels in Zhuhai
Number of rooms: 136

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing