We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Ming Palace Park”

The New Yuan Ming Palace
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“New Ming Palace Park”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Typical of Chinese parks but also has an attached water theme park. The main park is pleasant but is mostly lake so the only real choice you have is whether to clockwise or antclockwise. There's also a typical Temple just inside the gates.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank NomadicmanTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    75
    46
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A good place for snapping photos”
Reviewed 28 February 2013

I have been staying at my son's place on and off for visits in Zhuhai since 2006 and I find that
Zhuhai is a nice place with nice cooling weather as the weather is not so extreme during Spring, Autumn and Winter but for Summer it is a bit hotter with the weather reaching up to 35 to 38
degrees so during Summer I would go back to Malaysia to escape the heat.
This year, on the 5th day of Chinese New Year in Zhuhai, my son and daughter brought me
to visit New Yuanming Palace, which is based on the original New Yuanmingyuan Garden in
Beijing.For those who does not have the chance to visit Beijing they can have a feel of Beijing as they stepped into this garden and shutterbugs will have a whale of a time taking photos.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tan Guek Meng J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice to visit”
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Although this's a new park that duplicated from the original one in Beijing, it's still a nice place to visit. I enjoyed taking photos in this place.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Panorama Hotel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A plastic attraction.”
Reviewed 15 February 2013

It used to cost a good deal to visit but it was free in Nov. when we went. They are having trouble attracting visitors. Good for kids but just another copied example of a former real place complex in Beijing. There is so much else that is more interesting in Zhuhai don't waste your time.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Duyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Need A Guide”
Reviewed 9 January 2013

This is a replica of the Beijing's Yuan Ming Yuan, not exactly to scale (it's smaller of course) but good enough to know the history of the original historic place.

It's now free to get in. In order to get the most out of it, one should hire a local guide for 2 hours (80 yuan) to explain the features of the park. Trust me, you will learn a lot from the guide about China's history etc. Go there 2 hours before sunset so that you see both the day and night of the park.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wtay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The New Yuan Ming Palace also viewed

 

Been to The New Yuan Ming Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing