We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Museum of fine quality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hainan Museum

Hainan Museum
Ranked #7 of 99 things to do in Haikou
Attraction details
Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Museum of fine quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

Modern, beautiful architecture, impressive building. Displays wonderfully creative and informative. i especially liked the history of the village life on Hainan.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ananda100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    13
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tangerang, Indonesia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Free Entrance!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

It displays the history of Hainan Island, from culture, architecture and art.
Entrance Fee is Free
No English tour available.
It's remarkable architecture.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Riou108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haikou
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Wowie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

The descriptions of pieces in the permanent exhibitions are minimalist but the docents are well educated. You will need to either speak Chinese or bring a translator.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank brucianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
118 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Return from the end of earth”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

One main attraction of Hainan Island to me is the Beach, be it at Boao Town Bay, Yalong Bay or East China East Bay. When we were there, the weather was hot and the beach was full of people. We could imagine what cooler weather would bring. But the beach was clean and sand, white and fine. It would be wonderful if we could laze around and catch the sea breeze while taking a coconut drink which is plentiful here.

Another is the big Guanyin complex in the vicinity of Tian Ya. The towering statue of Guanyin stands majestically just off the sea in this complex. But the complex is so huge that we could not see it until we reach nearer the entrance and it was a wonderful sight to behold.

We went to as near as possible to pay our respects to Guanyin. The guide there gave us pointers on how to pay our respects. We were to walk round the feet of Guanyin and at his feet, we were supposed to touch one and bow, clasping our hands. We did that and felt a sense of calmness and gratitude that life has been good to us!

On the way out, the entrance to the complex seems far away. No worries. There is the environmentally friendly tram which takes you right to the entrance, pass the prayer junction before we entered the statue area.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Edyharto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Architecture and a Most Informative Museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

This is a museum dedicated to the history,culture and people of Hainan Province. It is within the city of Haikou, and easy to to find. From the city center it is a short taxi ride and also on a bus route. The museum is located near the river across the street from the complex of Provincial Government buildings.

The museum appears to have been built in the last decade as everything is new. The museum building is a large modern architectural masterpiece. The building has three distinct wings surrounding a very large, covered open space. The front side of this space is open to the elements.

The exhibits within include dioramas depicting village life of the earliest civilizations making Hainan Province home. The quality of the presentations is excellent. The museum is divided into galleries with each gallery focused on a specific subject. Examples include textiles; ceramics; historical eras; and ethnic groups, as examples.

I cannot overstate the beauty of the architecture of this museum. It has aspects to it which remind me of the Grammage Auditorium of Frank Lloyd Wright located in Tempe, Arizona, USA. In the interior at the roof level there is a wonderful ceiling made with much exposed wood. It is perfect as a design element, juxtaposed against the many large verticle columns, and other rising elements of the building.

Running throughout the museum is a bright red carpet. Initially this bright carpet was distracting. However, this carpet pulls everything together and is very beautiful being so unique for such a large public space.

Many individuals visit Hainan Province for its beaches, and tropical climate. A visit to this museum is wonderful way to enjoy your visit to Haikou.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Endurant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hainan Museum also viewed

 

Been to Hainan Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing