We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mission Hills Resort Haikou

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mission Hills Resort Haikou
Ranked #5 of 617 Hotels in Haikou
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed in Mission Hills Haikou with my husband for 5 nights from May 16 to 21. We had an enjoyable experience here. Upon check-in, the front desk staff is nice and we felt warmly welcomed. We stayed in the premiere spa room which is spacious and clean. The view seen from the balcony is breathtaking and it is romantic for us to sit on the chair and enjoy the beautiful scenery together. The volcanic golf course is very special and the blackstone golf course we played is challenging but full of fun. Caddies are very helpful although they could not speak very good English. We tried the western restaurant and Japanese restaurant, whereas I like Japanese restaurant better because the food material is fresh and the taste is just like traditional Japanese food. My favorite is the hot spring and message which is an ease after the golf-playing. Overall, I spent a happy holiday in Mission Hills Haikou with my husband and we will definitely be back next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon Z, Guest Experience Manager at Mission Hills Resort Haikou, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Guests, Thanks for sharing your precious moments with us. We are so sorry for any inconvenience caused during your stay. We'll strengthen the English training of our staff, simultaneously also improve the facilities and service quality. Long for your coming back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    33
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
25
23
4
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Whitsunday Islands, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed for 11 nights from 21/4/2014 - 02/05/2014 and after having read a number of reviews which did not rate Mission Hills Haikou highly I was a little apprehensive about staying. How wrong can these reviews be. A golfers dream come true and even if you just want to relax the Spa is fantastic, pools etc terrific and enough activities to keep anyone very happy.

I honestly believe that for a golfer this is one of the great destinations in the world. Absolutely wonderful golf courses and the caddies are terrific. Although language may be an issue one must remember it is we who are in their country and with a little bit of patience I had no issues at all. In fact the people are very keen to assist in any way possible. And wow - the Spa. Oh what a feeling after the steam bath and massage. One tip don"t ask for a firm massage.

I cannot wait to return. Thank you to the Management and Staff at Mission Hills Haikou for making my stay absolutely fantastic.

Room Tip: You must play the Blackstone course and try the Spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon Z, Guest Experience Manager at Mission Hills Resort Haikou, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear guest, thanks so much for your positive comments about the Missionhills Haikou. Your comments are the best motivation for us to move on. We are so sorry for any inconvenience caused during your stay.English training will be give to the staff for improvement. We'll continuously provide the best service to you & your friends. All the best ~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

I stayed here for AGTC 2014 as part of a large group of your operators. Check in took 30 minutes - they could have streamlined this process a lot and there was no welcome drink. After being up all night we rested before a function in the evening but were woken up and one point by housekeeping who just stared at me when I answered the door and walked off after saying nothing.

The event went on and the rooms were great but there is no easy way off the property in the evening so you have to pay the massive prices for food and drink on site. There was also a gala dinner at the event and there were not enough chairs for everyone plus the food was awful, many went elsewhere after the event to go eat. At least they kept the booze flowing.

Pros
Room quality
Cleanliness
Couple of the golf courses are excellent
Breakfast is good

Cons
Normal taxis are banned from the site so you have to use their private service. Drivers ask for a different price than agreed beforehand and refuse to go anywhere at night.
Staff speak no English - even the concierge
Everything is very expensive but I guess it is a 5*, would be ok if it were possible to go anywhere else in the evening
Some of the courses are too expensive for what they are, best to get a golf package beforehand
Service is terrible unless a foreign worker is watching over the staff

Overall it was average and I am not actively selling mission hills because I just can't suggest it to my customers. Sanya is a better product.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon Z, Guest Experience Manager at Mission Hills Resort Haikou, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear Guest, thanks so much for your detailed comments to the Missionhills. We are so sorry for any inconvenience. Actually we did provide welcome drink, it's located beside the entrance of the lobby which held by a china tank. We'll strengthen the management and supervision of our staff of Hskp ,Front office, banqueting & F&B. hence, we'll conduct English Training to the staff as well. besides the resort's free shuttle bus, a public transportation shuttle bus line is also avaliable to use at 2 Yuan only (One way) to the downtown. comparing with other 5 star resorts in Haikou City, the price has been relatively lower. we'll work hard to fix those drawbaks according to your comments and suggestions. Some of the infrastructures and facilities are still under development and improvement, therefore, we may have some aspects need improving. sincerely appreciate for what you addressed. wish you all the best.~ still long for your coming back again to witness the changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
243 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

This is our second time after the first visit when it first opened a few years ago. They have kept the infrastructure well from the hotel lobby to the room and the restaurants. The lobby service was ok and the girl who did our check-in was confused as she was not sure if the room allocated to us was double or king bed. After 2 days the receptionist called at 10pm if we are checking out when we have 3 nights. The breakfast spread was good with an adequate mix of Chinese and Western selections. But you really need to get there early if it is a weekend as the crowd is horrenous and they run out food, long lines and there are not enough tables when l have to sit on the plant potters outside the dining area next to the guy taking his puff. Lots of tour packages. Did not try the spa because it is very expensive compared even to the big cities. The really plus points were - Chinese restaurant in the Clubhouse as the food was good and fast with very good service. Wifi is everywhere in the resort. Golf was good too for my husband. If it really want to be a premium golf resort, management really need to think about the clientile mix and the target audience to preserve the brand.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Meowmeow6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon Z, Guest Experience Manager at Mission Hills Resort Haikou, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear guest, thanks so much for your detailed comments to the Missionhills Haikou. We are so sorry for any inconvenience.We'll strengthen the training and management for the front desk staff. We'll figure out some efficient ways to create more space at breakfast time in case for higher guest flowerate. we are so pleased to know that you were fond of our Chinese restaurant.actually the price for the Spa products & treatments compares with which of other 5 stars hotels in HaiKou have been relatively lower. we'll definitely make some improvements according to your sincere comments and suggestions. All the best! long for your coming back again~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Whether you are a golf fanatic or want to take your team away for a Conference - this is the place. Staff are extremely helpful - if they do not speak English (after all it is China - do you speak Chinese ???) they will find someone who can..
Golf courses are sensational - 10 to choose from 3 near the hotel - 7 only 20 minutes away by shuttle that runs every 20 minutes
Food is top class - recommend the Teppanyaki in the Japanese restaurant.
Swimming Pool is stunning and the Spa with 168 pools (I think) is probably the largest in the world. Mission Hills Haikou is a special place that everyone should visit - at least once

Room Tip: Rooms above 3rd Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon Z, Guest Experience Manager at Mission Hills Resort Haikou, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Guests, Thank you for the comments on Mission Hills, we will conduct according English training to our staff. We appreciate for the compliments made to the Japanese restaurant as well. we sincerely believe your next visit will be more memorable. All the best ~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

This has to be one of the very best golf resorts in Asia for those crazy about the sport. Challenging courses and a fantastic facility made for a really great trop when I was here a while back.

Just make sure to tip the caddies ... they deserve it!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elliot B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

business function, 50+ people. Great hotel.

Was met at the airport, smooth transfer no hassles. Check in was a bit slow and a large deposit was taken on credit card I think 2x the total costs of rooms. Rooms were great, bathroom was something to write home about. A true 5 start room.

Going there in winter you don't get to use the outdoor pools as it was a bit cold but I would say in summer time it would be the perfect place to wait while others go play golf. The Hot spa's are something else, 50+ small pools from warm to boiling hot, towels there so you jsut need to change in your room and walk there in your robe and enjoy, open till 10:30pm so not to be missed.

with only two places to eat you can get tired of the menus very quickly, breakfast was a good spread no complaints there.

Staff need to brush up on English skills, nothing that Google translate on a smart phone can't fix also there was an native English speaker on hand at reception most of the time so that was ok.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt7722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon Z, Guest Experience Manager at Mission Hills Resort Haikou, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Guest, thanks so much for your detailed comments about the Missionhills Resort. We're sorry for any inconvenience caused during your stay. We'll be strengthening the management and training for the staff for quality & efficiency improvement. Actually the deposit did not only cover the room rate but also cover the miscellaneous consumption which may occur during your stay for convenience. We have 5 restaurants in total, which include bristro ( for breakfast serving & hainan local and authentic South-East cuisine provided), Ukiyo (Japanese restaurant), Silver Moon (Chinese Restaurant), magama cafe ( for serving china northern wheaten food), Lava Bar & Grill ( for serving Italian & French Cuisine). we are doing menus updating periodically. we're now giving the Englsih training to the staff, meanwhile, hiring some staff with fluency in Englsih as well. wish you all the best ~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Haikou hotels
12.0 mi away
Hilton Haikou Meilan
Hilton Haikou Meilan
#1 of 617 in Haikou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
12.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Haikou
Shangri-La Hotel Haikou
#3 of 617 in Haikou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
12.8 mi away
Haikou Marriott Hotel
Haikou Marriott Hotel
#2 of 617 in Haikou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Hilton Haikou
Hilton Haikou
#4 of 617 in Haikou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
9.6 mi away
HUALUXE Haikou Seaview
HUALUXE Haikou Seaview
#6 of 617 in Haikou
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Langham Haikou
The Langham Haikou
#9 of 617 in Haikou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Hills Resort Haikou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Hills Resort Haikou

Property: Mission Hills Resort Haikou
Address: No.1 Mission Hills Road, Longhua District, Haikou 571100, China
Region: China > Hainan > Haikou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Haikou
#5 Spa Hotel in Haikou
#5 Luxury Hotel in Haikou
#5 Best Value Hotel in Haikou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mission Hills Resort Haikou 4.5*
Number of rooms: 539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amid the grandeur of the island’s tropical volcanic landscape, Mission Hills Resort ▪ Haikou features an 18-storey luxurious hotel and annex with breathtaking panoramic golf course views. The complex also houses numerous world-class sports, leisure, entertainment and dining facilities, an executive lounge, and a panoramic gallery, establishing itself as one of the most sought-after leisure destinations in China. Free parking on site and free Wi-Fi in public areas and rooms are both provided.Conveniently located in Haikou city, the administrative and legislative hub of Hainan, Mission Hills Resort ▪ Haikou is just 15 minutes from the city center and from the Haikou Meilan International Airport.Positioned as one of the finest luxury hotels on Hainan Island, Mission Hills Resort ▪ Haikou comprises 539 spacious guest rooms and suites. All these tastefully appointed rooms and suites celebrate Hainan’s environment with unique designs and amenities to ensure guests enjoy the highest level of comfort. Each guest room or suite features a balcony with an unobstructed view of the panoramic golf course and the resort’s natural greenery. Interactive HD TV system with cable, pay-per-view programs, and minibar are provided for your entertainment. Special inter-connecting rooms are also available - ideal for families and friends alike.Guests have access to the recreation center and spa center for leisure and relaxation. Facilities include an indoor swimming pool, an outdoor swimming pool with fun-filled obstacle water park, a man-made beach, a gym, a foot reflexology center, a Kids’ Club, games rooms, and much more. In addition, Mission Hills Resort ▪ Haikou features 168 hot and cold mineral spring pools, making it the “World’s Largest Mineral Springs Resort” accredited by Guinness World Records. The grand ballroom at the resort caters up to 1,600 delegates. The 13 spacious functions rooms and media center feature floor-to-ceiling windows with breathtaking views, creating an exceptional backdrop for any event.Mission Hills Resort ▪ Haikou offers a wide selection of international cuisines in the most refined ambiance. Silver Moon Chinese Restaurant features Cantonese specialties and local dishes from Hainan while Ukiyo offers a variety of Japanese cuisine. Come and enjoy a divine and exquisite dining experience that will impress the most discerning taste buds. What's more, the hugely popular Mission Hills ▪ Huayi Brothers ▪ Feng Xiaogang Movie Town which features 1942 Republican China Street, Socialism Street, Nanyang Street, memorable Movie Set and Landscape Districts; the Mission Hills ▪ Lan Kwai Fong where the "World's No. 1 Golf Club" joins the globally-renowned entertainment brand to create "LKF Entertainment Zone", "Fashion Avenue", "China Grove", Village Lane" and "Quarry Lake"; and the Duty Free Center, a true shopping paradise with endless opportunities for retail therapy - are due to open throughout 2014 within Mission Hills ▪ Haikou, to offer each and everyone of us an array of international brands, gourmet cuisine, fine dining, entertainment, shopping, cinemas, cafes, music stores, wine cellars, souvenir shops and boutique hotels all in one location (due to open throughout 2014). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Mission Hills Resort Haikou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mission Hills Hotel Haikou
Mission Hills Resort Haikou Hainan, China

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing