We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, new, comfortable and value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson New Port Resort Haikou
Ranked #31 of 637 Hotels in Haikou
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Cozy, new, comfortable and value for money”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We booked a river view room and was upgraded to a suite because there were no room when we checked in. The suite has a balcony overseeing the river. Though it is out of the way, the friendly and helpful staff guided us to take bus no. 8 in front of the hotel to reach the Haikou city. It is a very good recommendation because the bus is clean and safe. The
bus fare is just RMB 1 dollar per person. It is quite a wait to get a taxi at
the hotel. We took the bus to Haikou Qilou Snack Street and we simply love this place since it has many local food. There are also many shopping places nearby.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YHW11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    7
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
7
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Currently, still staying with this Hotel. It's a bit far from the city area. Approx. 10minutes cab ride to downtown.

Great Ambience! The service staffs were very friendly and helpful despite doesn't speak
English that well. They told us the best place to visit and explain the facilities of the Hotel.

We were staying in deluxe river view. Comfortable soft bed and pillow and tastefully design bedroom. Definitely live up
To the price we paid for. Their staffs performance were better than Mangrove Tree Resort for sure.

There were 3 restaurants here including Ginza japanese and Chinese hainanese cuisine. Have quite good varieties. Easy to get taxi or the Concierge can help you to arrange Hotel car out for 25-40 CNY depending on the place you go and can charge to your room.

The fitness is located at 3 along with kids club and spa at level 2. This Hotel also offer 25% discount for all Hotel guests for Spa. Thumb up... Recommended new Hotel in Hai
Kou.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikeyflee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed in Mid May when weather is hot and humid yet there is basically no Air Conditioning at the Lobby and the corridor at the Club Floor we stay.
The Hotel is quite remote yet there is only one 10:30am shuttle to the city.
The staff are friendly and nice (probably the occupancy is low).
Unless the hotel improve the Air Conditioning and arrange more regular shuttle, we will not be there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexlee711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Changsha, China
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

As I said, the hotel is a little far from town. So it would be a little inconvenient to visit downtown. Anyway, they can help you to get a taxi and min. cost is about cny30. (by the way, from airport to the hotel, taxi fee is around CNY70-80.)
Well the room is spacious and beds are soft. You can have a villa or river or even sea view from your balcony which is not bad.
Apparently since they are newly opened, I assumed that they are lack of staff and some of staff needed to be trained as well. The staff of concierge and housekeeping department were very nice and helpful, however, the receptionest, were not so friendly. Whats's worse, it took them about 25 minutes to check us out and check some other people in. It seemed that everything was unorganised and nobody was helping. Many guests were complaining about it but no supervisor or manager was comforting.
About the breakfast, it tasted good with various choices. However, maybe it was because the cafeteria was on the first floor and close to its little garden, there were lots of mosquitos and flies which was very annoying. And the staff wouldn't collect your used bowls and plates in time.
If you are expecting a 5 star hotel like Sheraton, this hotel, definitely is not.

Room Tip: upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Agnes Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Officially opened on 1 Dec 2011
, this hotel is so new, none of the taxi drivers (we were in 3 cabs) knew where it was. It was a funny sight with our cabbies going around trying to find the hotel. We found it in the end though. It was tucked away on Xinbu Island, which we were told, is not very developed yet. We reckon that there would be grand plans for the place.

Anyway, the hotel was pretty empty when we got there. Lots of staff members were on duty. They were very friendly and eager. There were 8 of us in transit in Haikou for 1 night (in transit from Sanya to Haikou for our flight early the next morning.We booked 3 rooms, 1 twin and 2 triple. As the swimming pool was still under construction (not like it mattered because it was too cold to swim anyway!), the hotel was apolegetic and gave us 2 free breakfasts (for the triple rooms). 

The rooms were really great. Big beds, nice pillows, large lcd TV, beautiful bathroom. There's a large happy looking balcony too. Overlooking a potential river front in the future. It's still under construction! lol.There's free wifi or wired internet in room too.1 thing I realize about Hojo hotels (or perhaps hotels in China?), is that they like to have a blind with glass wall instead of a solid wall for the bathrooms. It's ok for couples I suppose but a little bit awkward if I were to share the room with a colleague. Although, at Hojo Newport, you can adjust the lighting for the bathroom so that view into the bathroom from outside is masked, so to have some privacy.But the switches are outside the bathroom. LOL. Just a little bit strange to me!

We had lunch at the hotel at Riveria restaurant, which was very nicely furnished. The whole place is just nice and new. 

The manager Ella was a super cute & enthusiastic. Such a friendly & helpful lady. So were the guys at the concierge. They offered lots of local information of the local areas downtown which we should check out during our very short stay and helped us booked our transport to the city centre.They also helped us arrange for transport from the hotel to the airport the next morning.

As the hotel is new, there were not many guests at the hotel yet. So for breakfast, there weren't any buffet breakfast but we ordered set breakfasts instead.There were choices of Chinese, American & Continental sets. 

This area in Haikou isn't exactly a tourist destination for me, but Hojo Newport gets my thumbs up for great rooms and great service! :)

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surelyeverything
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Haikou hotels
3.1 mi away
HUALUXE Haikou Seaview
HUALUXE Haikou Seaview
#7 of 637 in Haikou
97 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hilton Haikou Meilan
Hilton Haikou Meilan
#2 of 637 in Haikou
153 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hilton Haikou
Hilton Haikou
#5 of 637 in Haikou
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hainan Junhua Haiyi Hotel
Hainan Junhua Haiyi Hotel
#209 of 637 in Haikou
163 reviews
1.4 mi away
Golden Height Hotel
Golden Height Hotel
#50 of 637 in Haikou
4 reviews
10.9 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Haikou
Shangri-La Hotel Haikou
#3 of 637 in Haikou
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson New Port Resort Haikou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson New Port Resort Haikou

Property: Howard Johnson New Port Resort Haikou
Address: No.21 Xiyuan Road, Xinbu Island, Meilan District, Haikou 570209, China
Region: China > Hainan > Haikou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Haikou
#12 Best Value Hotel in Haikou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Howard Johnson New Port Resort Haikou 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson New Port Resort Haikou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson New Port Resort Haikou Hainan, China

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing