We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent staff but.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hainan Junhua Haiyi Hotel
Ranked #234 of 618 Hotels in Haikou
Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent staff but.....”
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Its a good hotel considering the money that you pay. Room is clean but small. Not sure if its the same room you get when you make the booking. Air-con is too cold. I adjusted it to 30 degrees and still found it cold. May be the adjustments don't work.
As stated elsewhere, its not very close to the airport... takes almost 40 mins drive from hotel to the airport, so plan ahead. Was baffled to see one lane to the lobby area was blocked by private cars. NO SECURITY... they should not allow such things because the other lane was blocked by a coach. We had to push our luggage from the road.
The concierge staff were excellent with good command over English and smile. LOVED THEM.
Have just two feedbacks to provide. Its the time they change all the towels. Requested for additional two towels and to my surprise 3/4 towels in the room were torn in the corners. Floor-mat in the bath also in same condition. Secondly, the hotel needs to add some life to the lobby area. appears very dull esp during festive time. Add in some live music and some fun stuffs.
Overall good value for money.

Room Tip: Its a good value for money and choose this hotel for its EVER SMILING and HELPFUL STAFF esp at the C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shekhar_Sean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carrielee l, Manager at Hainan Junhua Haiyi Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2012
Thank you for your kind feedback. We’ll keep improving both hardware and software of the hotel. And thanks for loving our concierge staff. We are always delighted to be at your service. Sincerely we wish you a Merry Christmas & Happy New Year and we look forward to welcoming you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    105
    25
    3
    0
See reviews for
7
Couples
0
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Inverness Scotland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Since last visit a year ago, and not reviewed then, Wifi had been added, and works well considering its China, changes in the kitchen are also well noted, service in the hotel as usual is smile and resolve.. attitude..... Though in China, here English is improving, rendering the stay of non Chinese speakers like myself just that bit more easier. Rooms are clean and housekeeping is up to scratch. Price quality ratio well balanced. Management are visible, and do make sure all is ticking right. Total satisfaction.
no smoking in the hotel is thankfully enforced...

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gemsintheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carrielee l, Manager at Hainan Junhua Haiyi Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Thank you for your kind review and appreciation.
We will continue to deliver service from the heart and make sure you feel
Asian grace, warm and care every time you meet, dine or stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

This is the 2nd time I have stayed in this hotel and feel it has sadly gone downhill, since my previous visit last July 2011.
The checkin was very quick and efficient, with a Bellboy to take my luggage up to my room, but on entering the room, the smell that greeted me was horrendous, there was a wet yellowish stain on the carpet in front of the bathroom door, and there was a wet brown stain around the bathroom door. It took staff and a visit back to reception 2hrs later before I got my room changed.

There is a musty tired smell about all floors and rooms, not the nice fresh smells that abounded on my previous visit.

The service was very good and helpful, but one night in the restaurant I had to wait 45minutes for my bill.

The hotel has tremendous potential, but a few little things let it down in a big way.

I felt the level of English speaking staff had dropped since my previous visit, and that the English was only that required for the specific duties of each person. I needed to find an IT Superstore, but could not get any member of staff able to help me, but a local taxi driver who seemed to speak even less English was very helpful.

As a Singapore Airlines Gold Card holder I was expecting many benefits, but was told that my level of accommodation was not what was required, I am sure a Meritus Gold Card holder would not be denied the benefits of Gold Cards would not be recognised when travelling Economy with Singapore Airlines.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carrielee l, Manager at Hainan Junhua Haiyi Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Thank you for staying with us at Meritus Mandarin Haikou. Your valuable comments are much appreciated.
To improve staff language skill, we have scheduled English training starting from 15 Oct.
We look forward to welcoming you back again 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
60 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

I read a lot of the past reviews - and whilst i dont think the hotel is 5 star... its a good basic property. Rooms are tidy and comfortable, and i found the service to be very friendly and helpful.
English is an issue in the hotel - but then again, this is China, so its at the level i suspected. Hainan touts itself as a "holiday/tourist" island, but it caters 99% for local Chinese.. its still in its infancy for attracting foreign tourists. Haikou is more the business capital.

So would i stay at this hotel again - yeah i guess i would... I have no real complaints, and i got a great deal. Its a decent 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussieguy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace T, General Manager at Hainan Junhua Haiyi Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Thank you very much for your review and your appreciation on hotel guest room and staff service. We will continue to deliver our Asian grace, warm and care to every guest. At the same time, we are also organizing service English training for front line staff and management team to make every endeavor to improve our English level.
Hope you can come to Haikou soon and stay with us. I am sure we will deliver better service to you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Decoration in the room is so simple and old,
Air-con just cold but can not adjust to colder,
Breakfast variety is very simple,
Most of waiters can not speak/understand English.
Stream room and Sauna and shower room are not that clean

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Achikiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace T, General Manager at Hainan Junhua Haiyi Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Mr. Achiki,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Meritus Mandarin Haikou during your recent visit to Hainan and thank you very much for your constructive comments.

Each one of them has been conveyed to related department head to further improve our service quality. Our hotel is under renovation soon to upgrade our hardware. Housekeeping will focus more on the cleaning of public area and everywhere inside hotel. Meanwhile, we are also organizing the English training courses to staff for improving their oral English. We are sure that we would deliver a real Five Star service to you next time when you come by your valuable comments and our constant endeavor which embody our signature Asian grace, warmth & care.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Meritus Mandarin Haikou in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Meritus Mandarin Haikou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monza
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Good hotel rooms are large, big bed, and clean. Internet is only available wired, no WIFI in the rooms. WIFI is anyway present in the lobby and ground floor restaurant. I had dinner one night there and it was buffet style, I found it rather expensive considering being in China. Staff was nice.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

The staff are all friendly here, and the rooms are comfortable and clean without being anything outstanding. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are quite and I slept well.

The buffet breakfast is very expensive for China (147rmb), but they have a big range of food, both Chinese and western. I didn't try the dinner buffet, but I did have an ice cream which was also very expensive.

The hotel is not really close to anything of interest but there are a few retsaurants within walking distance. The gym is spacious and well equipped and the indoor pool is a bonus for the winter time. All the staff are friendly and quite a few speak English.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hkboy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Haikou hotels
1.3 mi away
Baohua Harbour View Hotel
Baohua Harbour View Hotel
#29 of 618 in Haikou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
7.5 mi away
Haikou Marriott Hotel
Haikou Marriott Hotel
#4 of 618 in Haikou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Haikou
Hilton Haikou
#5 of 618 in Haikou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Longquan Hotel(Datong Road)
Longquan Hotel(Datong Road)
#162 of 618 in Haikou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hainan Airlines Mingguang Hotel
7.8 mi away
Mission Hills Resort Haikou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hainan Junhua Haiyi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hainan Junhua Haiyi Hotel

Property: Hainan Junhua Haiyi Hotel
Address: No.18 Wenhua Road, Haikou 570125, China (Formerly Meritus Mandarin Haikou)
Region: China > Hainan > Haikou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Haikou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hainan Junhua Haiyi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hainan Junhua Haiyi Hotel is the first International 5-star luxury business hotel in haikou, ideally located in the most exclusive residential area yet within the new financial capital hub of the Special Economic Zone, Hainan Junhua Haiyi Hotel is 26km/35min by car to Meilan International Airport with its close proximity to the railway station, harbor, beautiful beaches and attractions. With 270 guestrooms and suites in a modern contemporary design, first class equipment including broadband internet access and free WIFI, in-room electronic safe, together with our impeccable service with a warm smile, all that you would expect to ensure an enjoyable stay has been meticulously designed. Hainan Junhua Haiyi Hotel is definitely the first choice hotel for business and leisure travelers. Guests from the Junhua Club Floors are offered personalized check-in & check-out service, laundry, round the clock business center. It is an executive lounge for complimentary breakfast, evening cocktail, afternoon tea, meeting room, equipped with a computer room. Hainan Junhua Haiyi Hotel has 3 Specialty Restaurants. The Zen Lounge is a perfect place for business meetings and an ideal venue for afternoon tea and evening cocktails. The Panorama Cafe provides guests with an array international selection of favourite breakfast and dinner which near 1st floor outside swimming pool. You can partake a wide array of Dim Sum and sip traditional Chinese tea in Tang Palace Chinese Restaurant. Boast the most extensive convention facilities and the largest pillarless grand ballroom in Haikou. Whether it is for 50 or 500 persons for a lavish gala dinner or conference, the 7.5m high ballroom can be partitioned into 3 smaller sections. 4 separate meeting rooms are ideal venues for small to medium-sized group (10 to 20 persons) meetings, private parties, press interviews and receptions. The luxury multi-function hall is served with karaoke, entertainment,chess playing and tea on the 3rd Level. It is the excellent choices for Birthday and Family Party, or Crazy Festival Celebration. Renew and recharge yourself at Wellness Place with our state-of- the-art fitness and cardio-vascular equipment. Overlooking two outdoor tennis courts, the Club includes an indoor heated pool, sauna and steam rooms, a Jacuzzi and yoga room. And for sun bathing a half-Olympic size outdoor pool set amidst lush gardens and gazebos awaits you on the ground floor. Hainan Junhua Haiyi Hotel is established in 1997 and offers all walks of life and holiday guests, serving with unparalleled accommodation and elegant and superior food & beverage, it always with excellent quality of service level in leading position. It was awarded "The Most Popular Business Hotel in China" in 2009, "China's Top 10 City Business Hotels" in 2010, "Most Popular Business Hotel of China" in 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hainan Junhua Haiyi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meritus Mandarin Haikou Hotel Haikou
Mandarin Haikou
Haikou Mandarin
Hainan Junhua Haiyi Hotel Haikou, China

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing