We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEWARE-resort under CONSTRUCTION-not recommended for a family vacation with kids.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crown Spa Resort Hainan
Ranked #49 of 631 Hotels in Haikou
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“BEWARE-resort under CONSTRUCTION-not recommended for a family vacation with kids.”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I feel this is my obligation as a traveler to WARN other travelers. This resort is going thru a major construction and the grounds of the hotel as well as the rooms are just horrific. To my dismay, there is nowhere on the Crown Spa Resort’s website anything mentioned regarding the construction so please BEWARE before you spend a lot of $$$$ to fly across the World to this so called 5 star resort.
Unfortunately, I made the mistake of not reading other reviews on Trip Advisor this one time and exchanged my timeshare week for this resort. I could not be more surprised to see what I saw when I arrived. They advertise themselves as a 5 star resort and I would give it 1 star for the property and the condition that it is currently in and 3 stars for the staff that was very friendly and helpful. I know that there are some positive reviews which still shock me to this day, however if you are traveling across the World to a resort that is rated a 5 star and have beautiful pictures posted on their website you have set expectations. I have traveled all over the World and was never as disappointed as this time and I have seen it all from 1-5 star resorts. This resort I am sure was beautiful like on the pictures but 20 years ago however I am afraid that the management just forgot to update their website. They only have two buildings open, the main building where we stayed at and the Spa building. They have 3-4 derelict buildings which are next to the main building, fountains, pools with pipes/wires lying around. Nothing is fenced off (there was one fence half broken) and my kids easily walked up to the abandoned buildings which did not have any doors/windows and could have been hurt. The ONLY pool that was open was filthy. My 7 year old refused to get in it. There was MOLD everywhere in the pool; there was a pool bar which was not open and not cleaned in a very long time however the water was still flowing between the main pool and the pool bar. The rooms were appalling, the bathroom especially. We changed the rooms twice and both smelled awful. We had to keep the balcony door open all night due to the smell and my kids were bitten by mosquitoes so badly I had to give them Benadryl in the morning. If you look at the pictures that I posted you will see what I am talking about, mold, fungus and debris everywhere. I could continue for another page however if you look at the pictures you will not make the same mistake I did. We lasted there only 3 nights instead of 7 and we moved to a different resort on the other side of the town HNA Beach and Spa Resort which was truly a 5 star resort.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank traveler0909_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    83
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
9
10
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Haikou
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Stayed for two weeks during Chinese Spring Festival. I live in China so it was nice to have authentic western food. Pizza and mexican were great, pool was clean and right on the beach. The beach was private and clean, I visited a few other beaches in the area, pretty dirty, especially Holiday Beach. A little remote but the shuttle bus was convenient. It was a nice quiet stay, will book again if I come back to Haikou.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomhaikou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marbella
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

I booked our stay through our timeshare exchange company. I read reviews on trip advisor and became a bit nervous about what we would find. But a few of the reviews had been very positive so I kept an open mind. My husband and I are very seasoned travelers so we are pretty resilient. The staff of this hotel are very very kind. English through out Hainan Island is a rarity. The Spa was fabulous - we had the 2.5 hour couples treatment and loved every minute of their professional and dedicated approach. The resort is in the middle of nowhere with all neighboring projects unfinished. It gives you a very lonely feeling.The food was good but very limited selection, we were bored of it after 2 days. The rooms are small, no cupboard space so our suitcases were our cupboards and formed part of the decor of the room. We checked out 3 rooms before settling due to the hanging smell of humidity and cigarette smoke. This is not an ideal location for anyone who wants either luxury rest and relaxation nor someone who wants to be within walking distance of life!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BornfreeMarbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

interesting for students of decay and decline. More than 2/3 of this hotel is derelict, i.e. no windows, trees growing from roof. The other 1/3 is a smokers paradise. Good sauna-massage. Few of the advertised services are offered or working, most of the staff can't be arsenal to do anything. Finally the hotel is surrounded by a sea of speculative, also empty, construction. Life is too short for this kind of thing. The rooms were furnished around 1980 and are maintained in their original state.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mightymark9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

I returned to the Crown Spa Resort Hainan in June, 2011 for a two-week stay. This was my 4th. visit to this Resort, and it was everything I had hoped for it to be. I had a spacious room overlooking the pool and sea. The views from the room were outstanding.

I traveled here from the Seattle Area, and wanted to enjoy my time relaxing by the water, and enjoying good food. I was not disappointed ! This is an ideal place to unwind, rest and watch the clouds drift over the South China Sea. On most days I slept late, and enjoyed great food from one of the Resort's restaurants. By mid-afternoon I was out by the pool and seaside to swim, and enjoy the ocean views. Many evenings were spent at the Li Bai Bar listeing to the musicians sing, and play some memorable music.

I traveled to the city center of nearby Haikou twice during my stay. This city is quite urban, but is less hectic than Shenzhen or Hong Kong. The citizens here are more easy-going and laid back. Haikou has some wonderful sections to explore, and much development happening in its midst. I believe Hainan Island is like Florida was in the early 1950s - still mostly unspoiled and culturally intact. The Crown Spa Resort is just outside of the Haikou urban area on a beach on the South China Sea.

I do not speak Mandarin, so traveling independently in China does require planning, however my limitations never presented a problem at the Crown Spa Resort. Quite a number of staffmembers throughout the departments of the hotel speak English fluently. Most staff have sufficient English language skills to help you with typical needs. This has never been an issue for me, here.

During my visit the to the Resort I experienced Typhoon Haima. The center of this tropical typhoon made landfall about 100 miles north of the Resort on in the Chinese Mainland in Guangdong Province. Here at the Resort we had two days of heavy rain after some thunder and wind when the storm first came ashore. The staff were very informative with me, and I felt I was kept up-to-date on what was happening. The Resort buildings are all very large masonry structures, so I felt safe there. It was actually fun watching the storm come in on us!

I returned to Seattle via Shenzhen and Hong Kong. After returning home I was well-rested, and thankful I had the opportunity to enjoy such a beautiful resort once again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Endurant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allinge, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

My Family and i arrived at the hotel around 15.30, 21/12 - 2010 (Tuesday) and departed 28/12 - 2010. The hotel is in general god looking and is close to the beach.

BATHROOM PROBLEMS: One of the first things i remember is having some problems with the bathroom in my room. I called the reception for assistance, but because of the poor language skills of the staff my efforts was in vain. The first day of my vacation actually went by trying to get my bath room fixed.

LANGUAGE SKILLS: In general the staff at the hotel is not very good at English. After some days’ time it actually became kind of annoying. If you had any questions or just wanted to order some food in the restaurant, the person you asked just (nervously) laughed/smiled. Usually it resulted in nothing.

I got the feeling that this hotel don’t get that many western tourists. First of all because of the language skills, secondly the way the other people looked at you. You couldn’t go anywhere without people stopping and starring. This was especially annoying when you were sunbathing. The Chinese didn’t sunbath, but would still walk around the pool fully dressed.

SUNGLASSES STOLEN: On the 4th day i noticed that my 400 $ sunglasses was gone from my room. I didn’t really get mad, but at this point i was just tired. I went on this vacation to relax, but all i got was extra work. I chose not to report the theft simply because the reception probably wouldn’t understand me and i didn't want to waste any more time. After that episode all the stuff got locked in the suitcases when we left our rooms.

FEW ACTIVITIES: There where nothing to do nearby the hotel. You could however take a shuttle bus (30 min) to the nearby "big" city, where you were dropped off at a shopping mall. Apart from the Mall there wasn’t really anything else.
We went on a guided sightseeing tour the 3rd day, but like anything it was also in Chinese.

CHEATED FOR AN EXTRA 500 $: When we departed on 28/12 - 2010, early morning, we got the bill, which we had to sign. When later got home we discovered that the hotel staff had billed us for 3 nights extra, adding up to 500 $. We contacted them about this, but got no answer. We withheld the payment in the beginning but all we got out that where threats.

This vacation was anything but relaxing. Mainly because of all that extra work you had to do yourself and all the difficulties we encountered. On top of that, we had extra expenses that shouldn't even be there! That’s why i rate this hotel so low.

This hotel may be decent if you're able to speak Chinese, but if you’re a normal western tourist, i urge you to choose another hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Magnus_Madsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Some of the reviews for this hotal are a little unkind.
Its true the hotel is far out of town and there is little around, but taxis are extremely good and cheap.
The pool complex is great and very well kept, food is very good and teh rooms are of a good standard.

The spa itself is excellent and un believably cheap. The foot reflexology is great but hurts like hell!
If you want a reasonably priced hotel, this is a nice place to stay but be warned there is ittle around, however in 10 years time im surethey will be a huge amount more as hotels are going up alongside the beautiful beach as we speak.

ps: this is not a western run hotel, but the staff were very helpful and spoke some english

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drcarrie1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Haikou hotels
3.6 mi away
The Langham Haikou
The Langham Haikou
#9 of 631 in Haikou
27 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hilton Haikou Meilan
Hilton Haikou Meilan
#2 of 631 in Haikou
150 reviews
4.7 mi away
HUALUXE Haikou Seaview
HUALUXE Haikou Seaview
#7 of 631 in Haikou
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hilton Haikou
Hilton Haikou
#5 of 631 in Haikou
73 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Haikou
The Ritz-Carlton, Haikou
#1 of 631 in Haikou
60 reviews
11.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Haikou
Shangri-La Hotel Haikou
#4 of 631 in Haikou
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Spa Resort Hainan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Spa Resort Hainan

Property: Crown Spa Resort Hainan
Address: No.1 Qiongshan Avenue, East Riverside, Haikou 571100, China
Region: China > Hainan > Haikou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Haikou
#13 Spa Hotel in Haikou
#18 Luxury Hotel in Haikou
#18 Best Value Hotel in Haikou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Spa Resort Hainan 5*
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Crown Spa Resort Hainan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Spa Resort Hainan Hotel Haikou
Crown Hotel Haikou
Crown Hotel Hainan
Crown Spa Resort Hainan Haikou, China

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing