We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pool week end”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Haikou Hotel
Ranked #9 of 640 Hotels in Haikou
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Week end trip with friends. Good check in experience, the staff was great, he greeted us by eye contact and smile from our entrance into the hotel, some distance from reception. Sea view Room was nice with a direct lift to Pool. Sea was very disappointing. Water smelly and a construction site was facing the beach... No chairs on the beach so we ended at the hot water pool which was nice and not busy as most local guests avoided the sun. One pool was clearly designed for families while ours was more for resting adults. Drinks were not cheap but service was good and pool clean. Dinner buffet was disappointing, noisy with plenty of kids and a cook arguing with the restaurant manager in front of guests... Anyway we ended all 3 sick for several days... Maybe it was the breakfast or the dinner but this was the only meals we had during the whole stay... Having a cab back to Airport (30mn - 120 CNY) was OK.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NICOLAS N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie Z, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Haikou Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you so much for your review and sharing your experience with us. We appreciate your valuable comments as your comments is the key to our continuous improvement. Thank you again for taking time to review us and we are certainly looking forward to welcoming you back to Sheraton Haikou Resort again for a renewal experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

37 - 43 of 488 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

OK, let's start by saying there are not any nice hotels in Downtown Haikou.

The most important thing you need to keep in mind if you are not driving yourself is that this Sheraton is VERY far away from probably everything in Haikou. It is 30 minutes away from the famous Qilou area. Getting a cab is a DISASTROUS experience that will ruin your day and unreasonably expensive considering Haikou is honestly not a super attractive city to visit. We even had a minor conflict with the concierge staff because of the poor traffic situation.

Other than that, the hotel itself is OK. It surely is not as nice as those resorts in Sanya, but it has its own beauty. There is a small beach area behind the resort where you can see the skyline of Haikou city afar. Rooms are actually pretty nice among Sheraton properties in China. Although there is a big garden outside your balcony, you do not have to worry about any bugs. It is clean and dry and cool inside. We did not have breakfast at the resort (not included in our rates, again causing trouble because of its horrible location) so no comments on that.

As a tourist, knowing for a fact that the Shangri-la is even farther away from the city, I probably will not visit Haikou again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exzx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

I along with my business friend stay in this hotel and found service is better then last year another point I asked for Wi Fi in the room initially they refused my request then I remind them that lobby manager promised to provide in the next visit, finally they provide after tough fighting
I fail to understand why they are doing like this from 4 star hotel? So be careful while booking the rooms

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Corporati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The service I received in this hotel is truly outstanding, from the front desk, room service to the bell man. The restaurants are a bit over priced, but the quality of food is quite good. The room is small, and the location is pretty far from the city. The beach is really not for swimming, but at least there are 4 hot tubs that you can soak in.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

My husband, my 2 kids and I went here for the october break. I booked very last minute as 3 days before we couldn't go on our original trip for personal reasons. And in that hurry as it is super expensive here in the October break I didn't realise that Haikou was not near Sanya (not smart, I know!) but I found this resort and was very happy afterwards. The hotel is just lovely. Beautiful surroundings, great swimming pool, also with a kids pool with play things in it. My kids loved it! There's a kids club but no ayi so you have to stay in the club while your kid is playing there. An ayi would be better but the club is nice. The food is expensive so if you are there with kids make sure you get the kids pass. With that pass your kids can eat and drink for free as long as you order something as well. That saves a to of money! We got an upgrade to a suite what was really good! There was not much to do but that was exactly what we wanted. Have a swim, eat good good food (the buffet restaurant is really good! The other ones we didn't even try) and read books. One small thing is that they don't have chairs at the beach so you can't lie on the beach. But we didn't ask so maybe they arrange something for you if you ask as the staff was super helpful! Definitely recommend while you are in Haikou and also as an alternative from Sanya because the flights to Haikou are much cheaper. At least from Shanghai, I don't know for other places.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Corina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

You can tell the hotel has aged. Great Restaurant, very very slow internet expensive for what you get. The free internet in the lobby was faster then the charge rate in the room. No WiFi in our room, only cable connection. Nice to be so far from the city. The beach was not so clean. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fred C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed 5 nights; food was excellent throughout the day in the main restaurant and the staff were very friendly and very humble and extremely helpful. At the back you have a few miles of beach where a stroll at sunset is idyllic. I would highly recommend the place for business or leisure.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank UKScientist12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Haikou hotels
13.0 mi away
Hilton Haikou Meilan
Hilton Haikou Meilan
#4 of 640 in Haikou
163 reviews
1.6 mi away
Haikou Marriott Hotel
Haikou Marriott Hotel
#2 of 640 in Haikou
158 reviews
1.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Haikou
Shangri-La Hotel Haikou
#3 of 640 in Haikou
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Hilton Haikou
Hilton Haikou
#5 of 640 in Haikou
78 reviews
12.0 mi away
Mission Hills Resort Haikou
12.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Haikou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Haikou Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Haikou Hotel

Address: No.136 Binhai Avenue, Xiuying District, Haikou 570311, China
Region: China > Hainan > Haikou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Haikou
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Haikou
#8 Spa Hotel in Haikou
#9 Best Value Hotel in Haikou
#9 Luxury Hotel in Haikou
Price Range: £75 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Haikou Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Haikou Hotel, a magnificent beachfront resort, just 10 minutes away from the heart of the city. 40 minutes drive to Meilan International Airport and 2 international golf courses within a few minutes' drive. Contemporarily designed with guest utmost comfort in mind, all 341 rooms including 36 suites are exceptionally well appointed with luxurious touches throughout. All rooms are exceptionally well appointed with luxurious touches throughout which feature a spacious work area, high speed internet access, generous sized bathtub and separate rain forest style overhead showers. Six Food & Beverage venues present an endless array of culinary choices, including 3 restaurants and 3 bars: Jade, Breeze, Fusion, Seaview Lounge, Pinot Noir Wine Lounge, Pool Bar and 24-hour room service. With over 1,300 square meters for meeting and celebrating, Sheraton Haikou Hotel can accommodate events and special occasions from 10 to 600 guests. Including 2 pillarless ballrooms, 5 function rooms and a VIP room offer the functionality of breakout rooms for larger events or can be utilized for more intimate gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sheraton Haikou Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Haikou Hotel Haikou
Haikou Sheraton
Sheraton Haikou Hotel Hainan, China

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing