We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience x2”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Haikou Banana Hostel
Haikou
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good experience x2”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

I stayed in Banana hostel twice. The first time was in 2011 the second this year (2013)


Pros

The rooms are clean, cheap and basic.
The staff were friendly (although sometimes had difficulty understanding me)
The (foreign) owner knows a lot about Hainan and gave me a lot of tips on the best places to cycle.
The pizza is mouthwateringly delicious.
Laid-back vibes- both times met some cool people there

Cons

Hard to find
The have cats and dogs (i didn't mind this but my friend doesn't like cats)
The first time it was nosiy from construction second time was better.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Danny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    18
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
1
12
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

staff helped us exchange money at the local bank because we ran out of CNY. They also had a free map of Haikou on the front desk. Our room was clean enough and had ensuite shower. Hostel was down small road behind a big restaurant. There was a dcs lounge and outdoor terrace.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phillabbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012 via mobile

Stayed there for 4 nights after we got bored of sanya. It is locatd in a quiet alley a little off the main street and is thus very quiet. The room we stayed in (double, top floor) was very big, clean and had AC with good wifi signal. The only thing was the mattrace. It was very hard. If you come there, maybe check it first, and if it is too hard for you, ask if you can get another room. The staff are very friendly and speak basic english, so they will probably help you with that. The boss Peter is also a very nice (british) guy.

Their cute cat just had babies, so a lot of kittie-fun around.

The livingroom-like common area is really good to meet different people, it has a stereo in one room, tv and dvd in the other, though the remotes were nowhere to be found. It still worked. Occasionally, some local western people hang out here to just chat, play risk and eat the pizza. We havent tried it, but it smelled awesome. A bit pricy because the chef actually imports the incredients (no chinese plastic cheese. REAL Mozzarella). Didnt try the breakfast.

If you want cheap good food, go to the night market at the university gate 5 mins away. There u get great kebab (5¥), fried rice or noodles (6¥), grilled stuff (3-10¥), and of course the chao bing sorbet (6¥). Also, cheap fruits at the stands. Fore exMple, peeled pineapple ready to eat for 2¥. If you get bored by it, just go the the "cheap muslim noodle" guys in the same area. You will get very good food for max 12¥.

So overrall, very good hostel. We highly recommend it.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sascha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Trip Advisor Review of Haikou Hostel

As always, satisfaction is based in expectations. Banana hostel meets or exceeds all expectations at its price.

Really good value at 80RMB/night for a single with air-con and hot water. Everything is very clean. The singles without a/c are the same price as those with a fan, so there is an incentive to reserve in advance.

Helpful staff at the desk. Toilets are not western (squat toilets). Bikes available and in very good shape. Food not so good, but there is plentiful and cheap street vendors and they've got good maps on the bulletin board. Great atmosphere among guests and plenty of space and games (pool, ping pong) in the common area.

I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

In January, we went there for dinner because were told the food was good. My wife tripped on their stair abd was injured. They refused responsibility, and we had to go to court (in CHINA). Their main claim why they were not responsible for her expenses was that they lost their license in 2006, and are operating illegally, so, we are not protected by consumer protection laws which only protect you against legitimate merchants, which they aren't!!!! I have NEVER heard that as a defense. The judgement won't come down for a few weeks, but, remember, they lost their license, and are OPERATING ILLEAGLLY, so they maintain that makes them immune from any claims

Room Tip: go elsewhere - run away
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tedrosenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Haikou hotels

beijing
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We had a great time here, mainly due to renting bikes for the day and the traditional Italian style pizza and pasta! We would come back from biking tired, and enjoy some drinks and pizza while watching movies. It was fun. There is a lot of info at the Banana Hostel and on their web site about Hainan, I wish I had came here frist to help plan my other Hainan trips. We especally enjoyed the old down town area in the day and doing some partying at the local clubs at night.
The rooms were fine with AC and wifi. The Banana is a little hard to find so check their web site for directions. I also loved their book exchange.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

There aren't many options of youth hostels in Haikou therefore we took Banana. It's fine for one or two nights sleeping but not more.

The staff there is nice. Especially a tall guy - I didn't get his name. He helped us alot with information from how to get around the city to what trains to take and where from.
They have quite good info about places to have breakfast, to enjoy a tea or to go to the beach.
Also if you plan to do a bike trip within Hainan, then they can give you lots of info. They also rent bikes for guests.

The rooms are big and basic. The AC in the rooms does it's job quite fine. The toilet is just like the the rest of the room - basic but clean. The towels & bed sheets are clean altough you can see different stains and/or holes (small ones) on them. The windows are not really inviting you to admire the view. Actually there's not much to see around so you miss nothing. Wifi is available in the rooms altough on the 3rd floor the wifi was very weak.

The common area is big and offers quite alot of alternatives to spend your time: pool, tv, cards, chess, reading books and so on.

I liked the stay there but it had nothing special.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raluca_abuletz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Haikou hotels
9.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Haikou
Shangri-La Hotel Haikou
#4 of 631 in Haikou
121 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hilton Haikou Meilan
Hilton Haikou Meilan
#2 of 631 in Haikou
151 reviews
9.6 mi away
Haikou Marriott Hotel
Haikou Marriott Hotel
#3 of 631 in Haikou
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hainan Prima Resort
Hainan Prima Resort
#75 of 631 in Haikou
13 reviews
1.5 mi away
Jinjiang Inn Haikou Dongfengqiao
4.4 mi away
0898 Express Hotel Haikou Jinding
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haikou Banana Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haikou Banana Hostel

Property: Haikou Banana Hostel
Address: Building 3-4, No.6 Liyuan Villas, No.21 Renmin Avenue, Haikou 570208, China
Region: China > Hainan > Haikou
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Haikou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Haikou Banana Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Hostel located in the capital city of the tropical island of Hainan, South China. Our facilities include a small restaurant, bar, TV lounge, internet and garden area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Haikou Banana Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haikou Banana Hostel Hainan, China

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing