We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banyan Tree Sanya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Banyan Tree Sanya
Ranked #14 of 1,326 Hotels in Sanya
Certificate of Excellence
Riyadh
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Banyan Tree Sanya,
As soon as we drove into The Banyan Tree Resort, I knew we were in a little piece of paradise. We were promptly greeted by the staff who took our luggage and escorted us to the reception area.
We were greeted with cold towels and cold water.
Check in was fast and the receptionist Murry, she explained in detail our full accommodation bill. Murry was also helped us located various shops in Sanya.
We were taken to our one bedroom villa with private pool via a golf cart. Upon entering it was fabulous. Right then and there you just instantly relax.
The villa was hot at the time even though the a/c was on.
We went to have lunch at Ming Yue restaurant. I ordered the Yummy Burger; and it was the biggest burger I had ever seen or attempted to eat. However, there are limited choices for the western menu even though they mentioned that they had an Italian chef.
We went back to our villa and it was still hot. The controls of the a/c were in Mandarin so we didn’t know how to operate it. We called reception and they promptly sent an engineer to adjust it. He was so helpful even though he didn’t speak English he translated what was written on the control panel through his mobile. Ten minutes later the villa was still hot. So we decide to go for a massage for an hour leaving the villa to cool down.
When we came back it was still hot. We went to reception and Rocky (chief concierge) told us to give him half an hour to check the a/c and promised us that if it is still hot, he will change our villa.
We went in the meantime to a local supermarket to buy snacks. The Banyan Tree provide private cars with a fee of 20 to the destination and 20 coming back.
When we came back Rocky asked us to check the villa and sent with us a bellboy named Colin. We had thought it was all in our heads and that we weren’t able to tolerate the weather, however the bellboy came in and confirmed our complaint saying that one of the vents wasn’t working.
Rocky apologized profusely and upgraded us with the deluxe villa plus living room free of charge just to compensate for our inconvenience.
Our new villa had a functioning a/c to the extent we got cold during the night. It had a bigger swimming pool with a Jacuzzi. It also had a separate living room with a flat screen TV with a handful of English speaking channels like HBO, Cinemax, Bloomberg, CNBC, Discovery Channel, BBC World and Star Movies.
From 6 to 7 pm there is happy hour at the beach bar. They would serve complimentary refreshments and snacks. The masseuses from the spa would also come and give complimentary five minute neck and back massages while watching the sun set. The grounds of the resort were beautiful. The beach however was nothing to excited about , but it is clean.
I would advise bringing movies, magazines, books and such prior to staying here.
The Wi-Fi is very slow and when I asked they told me that was the way it is in China.
The pool with the villa was great and refreshing in this heat and humidity. However at night when sitting on the pool lights only 2 out of six lights were working.
With turndown service there is a plate of sweets plus a little present on the bed. The bathroom is huge with two wash basins, a toilet , a shower and an outside bathtub.
They provide toiletries such as nail files, hair brush, loofa, toothbrush, tooth paste, mouthwash, cotton , q-tips, razor, cotton, shower cap and small thread and needle kit ( all replaced when used).
Every staff member we pass always greeted us with a smile and a hello and are ever so friendly.
The breakfast buffet was good but the same every day. It is mostly a Chinese breakfast. Some choices in all honesty I would have for lunch.
It was the week of my anniversary and birthday. They made a heart shape out of rose petals on the bed with a cake and a bottle of champagne
For my birthday the sent a cake with two candles.
Our stay was very relaxing. However keep in mind the Banyan Tree is expensive.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hadeel-AM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitty C, Manager at Banyan Tree Sanya, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear guest:
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with Tripadvisor readers. In Banyan Tree Sanya, we strive to make each guest feel well cared for and appreciated. Our aim is to create an experience tailor made to each guest’s likings. I am glad to know that at this occasion you had a relaxing vacation with us. Your comments will be shared with the rest of our team for their motivation. We are looking forward to welcome you back to Sunny Sanya.
Gerry Lin
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    73
    26
    12
    3
See reviews for
56
79
9
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scherpenheuvel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Excellent villa-hotel, great place with very friendly personnel,good kitchen,
great location, and very efficiently ran hotel, highly recommended and 100% ok versus Western standards ,good airport pick up






Room Tip: Ask for villa with complete privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitty C, Manager at Banyan Tree Sanya, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear guest:
Thank you for choosing to stay with Banyan Tree Sanya located at the serene Luhuitou Bay, an oasis of tranquility, only minutes away from the most vibrant beaches and attractions of Sanya. I’m delighted to learn that you had a great vacation with us. Thank you for recommending our resort to Trip Advisor readers. It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcome you back to Banyan Tree Sanya.
Gerry Lin
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We decided to go to Hong Kong , and since it was our anniversary we thought it was better to go to somewhere quite and romantic first ... and the Banyan Tree Hotel was exactly that ...
Sanya is 1:30 hours from Hong Kong .

Once you reach the airport , you take a taxi from there to the hotel (appx 35 min) and cost 80 RMB
P.S beware the taxi driver will try to overcharge.

When we arrived at the hotel they offered free upgrade to deluxe villa { which is very spacious with a considerably big pool }
they decorated the bed with roses that says "happy anniversary" .
and every night they would put small gifts at the bedside {their moto: its the little things that make the difference }
everyday at 6-7 pm , free snacks and drinks and free message near the beach so you can enjoy the sunset
choosing the Banyan Tree was one of the reasons for enjoying Sanya

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norah902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitty C, Public Relations Manager at Banyan Tree Sanya, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear guest:
Thank you for choosing to stay with Banyan Tree Sanya. I am very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and thanks again for sharing your experience and feedback with Tripadvisor readers.
Gerry Lin
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

This is the first time that we visited Sanya. We had a lovely time at the resort. We arranged a ride to pick us up from the airport to the resort. The check in was quite smooth as well. The room was very clear although we have some issues with small creatures such as gecko crawling in our closet on the first day. It is super nice to have an individual pool that you could get accessed to at anytime (although we didn't spend much of our time in the pool at night.) We didn't have any expectations with the beach because we knew it's nothing comparing to Maldives or the Bahamas. It was a quiet private beach and we enjoyed having a nice sunbathing when noone was around. I took off one point because of the lack of food varieties. Our package didn't come with breakfast so we ordered breakfast dine-in. The choices were limited. There were only two restaurants in the entire resort. But if you're not aiming for the food, this is an excellent and quiet resort!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitty C, Manager at Banyan Tree Sanya, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear guest:
Thank you for choosing to stay with Banyan Tree Sanya, I’m delighted to learn that you had a lovely time with us and have enjoyed our private pool. With only 49 private pool villas sculpted in our tropical garden nested by our private beach, we are able to provide our guests with utmost privacy and a personalized service. Please be rested assured that we are trying our best to avoid the geckos to all rooms in villas; We are appreciate the comment you have for F&B offerings, and it has been noticed to our culinary team, we are sure that you will find the improvement on your next visit. And the meantime, if you are carving for some dishes which are not on our menu, please let do feel free to ask our Chefs. They will be delight to offer your needs. Thank you again for sharing your experience with Tripadvisor readers. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again.
Gerry Lin
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

An absolutely beautiful bungalow with private pool and nice garden within a amazing resort. Staff is friendly and well trained. Awesome breakfast with freshly squeezed juices homemade yoghurt and a huge variety of good food makes this place to on of the best hotels I could find on Hainan. The only thing I missed during my stay was an up to date sound system which I could have connected my tablet or phone to. But despite of that absolutely recommendable this place.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebi2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitty C, Manager at Banyan Tree Sanya, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with Banyan Tree during your recent visit to Sanya and for sharing your appreciation with us. We are delighted to learn that you had an excellent stay with us. Your comments on the service provided by our staff are most gratifying and will be shared with the whole team. Thank you for recommending our resort to Trip Advisor readers. It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcome you back to Banyan Tree Sanya.
Gerry Lin
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We celebrated our wedding anniversary there, and the resort surprised us with a bottle of Champagne and a flower setting in the room! The room was fantastic, we stayed at a deluxe pool villa, it turns out it's a good pick because it has a living room and heated jacuzzi pool beside the main pool. It also has easy access to the beach. The atmosphere of the resort is super natural and green, tropical plants everywhere and we even heard bullfrogs croaking all the time. The spa of Banyan tree is its specialty, no need to worry about the consistency, I had two treatments with different masseuses, and their skills were equally great!
The cons of the resorts are the poor-quality breakfast and the lack of dining selection. I didn't expect too much from the breakfast anyway, because it's China, usually the breakfast buffet quality is poor, even at luxury brand hotels in big cities like Shanghai or Beijing. So what can I really ask for in Sanya? The Banyan tree only has two restaurants, Thai and Chinese. Forget about the Thai restaurant, just go with the Chinese place. We were told the chef is from northeastern China, his noodle dishes are exceptional and the local Hainan dishes are great as well. Definitely eat there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yaachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitty C, Manager at Banyan Tree Sanya, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear guest:
Happy Wedding Anniversary again! We are happy to know that you enjoyed the surprise we offered for you and liked our award-wining Spa. And also we are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us, indeed, our resort is settled in 13 hectares tropical garden with over 200 kinds of different plants. Thank you for your compliment on our noodle dishes, regarding to the breakfast experience and dining options, our chefs can customize dishes for you if you are craving for something that is not on the menu, please let your waiter or the chef know and we will be pleased to assist you with your request on your next visit. Rest assured, your comments and suggestions will be shared with our culinary team for their improvement. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Banyan Tree Sanya.
Warmest regards,
Gerry Lin
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

when we were travelling through the Sanya city to the hotel - it was a bit of a horror show for us as the road was dirty and smelly thoughout the city. However when we got to the hotel, it was a completely different experience. We were welcomed with cold tea and towel at check-in - the staff even offered to take a photo for us! Since it's our first time to any Banyan Tree resorts, they offered a free upgrade to deluxe pool villa for us! We were then taken to our villa by a buggy.

The room was luxurious and well-decorated - we especially liked outdoor bathtub where you can stargaze. The outdoor Jacuzzi was heated so you could always jump into it regardless of weather. It was a bit of a shame the weather was a bit too cold for swimming when we visited, but it was nice to have a pool nonetheless.

They prepared different fruits everyday and "surprise" snacks/desserts at night - and a toy in the last day of our visit!

The resort area was well maintained. The beach bar is a must-go for sunset - they offered free drinks and snacks every evening. The food at the Chinese and Thai restaurants was also nice and reasonably priced. I would also recommend trying the in-villa barbeque for the experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roncr7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitty C, Manager at Banyan Tree Sanya, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear guest:
Thanks you for choosing to stay with Banyan Tree Sanya, we are happy to hear that you had a great vacation with us. Indeed, with only 49 villas sculpted in 13 hectare tropical garden, especially with over 200 well skilled staff, we are able to provide each guest an unique personalized service and create an unforgettable experience for them. Also we are glad that you enjoyed our “sundown ritual” which we host every evening at pool bar where we can enjoy the most exquisite sunsets. Thank you again for recommending our food & beverage to Tripadvior readers. We constantly strive to improve our services and products to live up to the confidence you have given us. Looking forward to welcoming you back again.
Warmest regards,
Gerry Lin
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Hedong
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
#2 of 1,326 in Sanya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Yalong Bay
The Ritz-Carlton Sanya, Yalong Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Haitang Bay
Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay
Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay
#25 of 1,326 in Sanya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Sanya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Sanya

Property: Banyan Tree Sanya
Address: No.6 Luling Road, Luhuitou Bay, Sanya 572000, China
Region: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sanya
#9 Family Hotel in Sanya
#13 Spa Hotel in Sanya
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
#54 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Sanya 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusive Banyan Tree Sanya, the first all pool villa resort in China, located at the serene Luhuitou Bay, on the southern coast of Sanya, Hainan Island. With 49 all pool villas set amidst a sculpted tropical lagoon on an expansive 20-hectare estate, the resort is designed as an oceanfront hideaway. It features a contemporary blend of oriental touches and lush tropical design. The resort comes with the awards-winning Banyan Tree Spa and Banyan Tree first hydrothermal complex in Asia. There are signature dining outlets, in-villa dining service and destination dining experience. All the facilities and atmosphere make it a total romantic getaway for wedding and honeymoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Banyan Tree Sanya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Sanya Hotel Sanya
Banyan Tree Hotel Sanya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing