We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enough staffs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Resort Sanya Bay
Ranked #34 of 1,355 Hotels in Sanya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2013

They have enough staffs to handle all the problem & accident immediately!
e.g. they will close the door & sweep the floor immediately when it's rain (in the public area & corridor), & they will clear up the table as soon as possible when we are having breakfast, so that we may have enough spaces for the new round of food!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarsIvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (702)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 37 of 702 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

Have just spent 10 wonderful nights at this hotel, a beautiful location with everything you could want for a relaxing holiday. The staff were most welcoming and helpful although I only speak
English this did not present any problems. Various restaurants which served good food and reasonable hotel prices. The room was cleaned every day to a high standard. We were hit by the
typhoon which passed through he Philippines which unfortunately damaged some of the gardens
and deposited rubbish in the pools,however the staff very quickly cleared up everything very efficiently and all praise to them. Highly recommend this hotel, and for people from England and Europe just do not know what they are missing as this is five star and in a country where we are
welcomed and treated very well.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnUK272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

To my surprise, the Howard Johnson in Sanya,Hainan shouldn't be associated with any Howard Johnson in the US. The grounds and activities at this resort in the South China Sea, stands out among the top 5 resorts on The island of Hainan. There is a beach access and several restaurants
In this resort catering to Korean, International, Caribbean, and Western palates. The balmy weather is very close to the weather in Hawaii. In fact it is considered by many as the Hawaii of China. The service is pretty good depending on how crowded it is. The Caribbean restaurant (open air dining ) features a sea food buffet and a variety of other entrees, there is also a floor show that will keep you entertained. One flat price includes drinks as well. They cook to order steaks,fish, chicken. The Western restaurant as it is called is a little slower on service but there you really aren't in a hurry or shouldn't be. It is also known that each restaurant is a franchise within the hotel. Best to arrange breakfast (prepay) before you start your stay. We go there as a rule every year. Sometimes 2 times a year. Careful of the sun your on the Tropic of Cancer and you can get burnt if you don't protect yourself. Rooms were cleaned every day and the room service varies during the day. The pools are well maintained and there is also a natural thermal spring pool on the main floor.They also have two and 3 bedroom private duplexes on the grounds with full kitchen facilities.

Room Tip: If you want to cut down on expense there are many restaurants across the street from the hotel.ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dawei13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I don't think I have ever stayed in a filthier room before, despite extensive travel through Africa.

I hope not to have contracted an infection after reluctantly entering the shower cubicle.

Lunch in the western restaurant yielded a 60 minute wait for spaghetti with tomato sauce. Breakfast makes a distribution center for food aid look like a Michelin star affair.

Staff is indifferent at best, outright rude at worst.

Sanya is not the place for good service but even at these low standards Howard Johnson is bottom of the barrel.

Thankfully I was here on business and didn't have to spend time "enjoying" the other facilities.

Don't come here.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank travelerinshanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Stayed in HoJo Sanya for 6 days in May 2013 during Chinese Labor Day holiday. My pregnant wife and I took our 2-year old son with us with the hopes of a relaxing getaway from work at a warm location.

Pros:
1. The resort facilities were good. Design quite beautiful. Private section of Sanya Bay beach blocked just for HoJo guests. Photo opportunities here and there.
2. There's a huge, clean grass park area between the hotel's pool and the main road which our son loved to run on barefoot. Doesn't get a chance to do this safely in any other parts of China that we've been to.
3. Nice options for young kids. There are kiddie pools, very nice outdoor jungle gym with trampoline, indoor Childrens Club had balls, games, and puzzles, and you can buy plastic pails and shovels for cheap right on the beach (RMB15 for a set)
4. The hotel is big (as other reviewers already mentioned) so during crazy Chinese tourism season, this was a comfort because we still had space to stretch our arms and legs.

Cons:
1. The hotel is big so make sure you take everything you need for the day when you leave the hotel room. Its a good 20 minute stroll from hotel room to the beach.
2. Staff service. In 6 days I think we had one wait staff smile at us as we went from elevator to breakfast area. Everyone else seemed too stressed out.
3. No nearby bars or restaurants within walking distance. We found a mediocre Xinjiang place within 10 minutes walk but that was it really.
4. Hotel room service food was expensive and very bleh. Fish and Chips included TINY pieces of fish the size of a child's thumb. Spring Rolls could be swallowed whole, they were so small. Thank god for the Hainan Flat Noodle dish - one of the cheaper things on the menu at RMB 58+15%, good portion, and tasty. Had this 4 times on the trip.
5. Dinner buffet RMB 258+15% when we were there. I suppose this is to control the crowds.
6. Tons of mosquitos after 6pm. Bring insect repellant.
7. This is a con for Sanya in general - not just the hotel - every interesting landmark or tourist attraction had an entrance fee. Lowest was RMB 50 and most expensive was around RMB 180. Just something to be aware of that we didn't know about until we arrived.

Overall:
We are from Malaysia so we know nice beaches. We know good food (using our palates). And we know a good bargain. HoJo ranked below-average on all of these scales. How much you will enjoy it is relative. A person's first time to the seaside should have a blast here if they have the money to spend. A person who has been to other top-50 beaches worldwide... this will not be anything too special.

Its also worth noting that we couldn't relax during our first 3 days in Sanya / HoJo due to the May holiday, the place was jam-packed with Chinese tourists. Breakfast, lunch, and dinner were flooded with guests and we almost had to squeeze shoulder-to-shoulder to get the last pieces of bread and fruit. This is not a knock against the HoJo - in fact, I would applaud their service staff for replenishing things as quickly as they did. Its just the reality of tourism in China during the holidays. Once May 3 came around, it felt like half the hotel was empty - we could finally start to relax.

For us, we made some good memories with our young son who swam every single day for almost a week. But for next time, with how much we paid, we'd rather use that to visit a beach in South-East Asia, eat food closer to home, and receive a few more smiles.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank djraji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Paradise resort hotel, best i have ever stayed in, wonderful room,stunning grounds- pools, private beach, great food etc, total luxury. Only negatives was poor english by staff and price of drinks ridiculously high. Also, april was just too humid for me- sweat city in april, but the hotel cant be faulted for this, great spot to honeymoon, will be back if ever win the lotto!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

This huge hotel has attractive rooms, which are well laid out with good facilities. It's sheer size however means that simple things like getting items to eat at breakfast involve a long, long walk. The staff seemed dis-interested in the guests and were not really helpful.

Room Tip: You must book online not try and turn up and get a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thinbungee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Haitang Bay
Wanda Vista Resort Sanya
Wanda Vista Resort Sanya
#54 of 1,355 in Sanya
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wyndham Sanya Bay
#14 of 1,355 in Sanya
173 reviews
Sheraton Sanya Bay Resort
#27 of 1,355 in Sanya
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Resort Sanya Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Resort Sanya Bay

Address: No.188 Sanya Bay Road, Haipo Holiday Resort, Sanya 572000, China
Region: China > Hainan > Sanya > Sanya Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Sanya
#22 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
#32 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
#32 Spa Hotel in Sanya
Price Range: £58 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Howard Johnson Resort Sanya Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 1160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Howard Johnson Resort Sanya Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Resort Sanya Bay Hotel Sanya
Howard Johnson Sanya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing