We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas in sunny Sanya”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Resort Sanya Bay
Ranked #33 of 1,347 Hotels in Sanya
Certificate of Excellence
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 13 January 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (702)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Resort Sanya Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

61 - 67 of 702 reviews

An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 12 January 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 7 January 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 December 2009

Our trip was six nights. We stayed first at a resort in Dadonghai for three nights before moving to Howard Johnson.

Howard Johnson is a great resort with loads of amenities. Spa rooms are nice. Fish spa is a must try at CNY 30 for half an hour. Hotspring whirlpool also a must try. The heated indoor pool is very good except some may feel the water is too hot at 37c.

Private tunnel direct to public beach so no need to cross street. Beach sand quality not as good as Dadonghai Bay but here there are motor tricycles that can take you along the beach area. Jetski is a must try as it is quite affordable here is Sanya at CNY 180 for 10 minutes ride. We booked with our online travel agent which also included a free Jetski and 45 minutes spa

Breakfast restaurant is too crowded and food is average quality. It is better to take room service than having breakfast in the restaurant unless your package includes breakfast.

Location is not central so need to take 15 CNY taxi to restaurants which are about 7 km away from hotel but still worth the ride as food are much cheaper and at good restaurants.

Free shuttle to/free airport which is about 15 minutes away. There is free shuttle to downtown but there is nothing to see anyway in downtown.

Overall excellent experience at Howard Johnson Sanya.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2009

We really enjoyed our time at the Howard Johnson Resort. It was nice, clean and had some great views. However, we did have to make a few complaints during our stay and we're not sure they were taken very seriously. We made 2 complaints about the same elevator (in the East Wing by the Hot Spring Pool) because it suddenly stopped and shook at the 9th floor on two separate occasions on our way up to our room on the 12th floor. The second time it happened, the elevator went to the 9th floor then descended to the 5th...we didn't even get to the 12th floor! They told us an engineer would look at it but we're not sure if that happened...scary! So, we avoided that elevator. The breakfast buffet in the mornings was great as were most of our experiences eating at the resort, however, we did have a few negative incidents including being served ROTTEN parmesan cheese which was compensated by serving another paste which was very undercooked and not very tasty...chunks of butter were found all through the carbonara sauce. A second incident at the same restaurant (The Four Seasons Cafe) was having a beef tenderloin ordered medium come out too overcooked - beyond well done! It took an hour for this to be served to begin with and it wasn't that busy - the restaurant cannot cope with too many tables to stay clear if it's busy! The steak was reserved medium but then we were overcharged and it took the staff over 30 minutes to figure out how to fix this problem and the manager was no where to be seen. We also tried the Sunset Caribbean BBQ one night when they had the a la carte menu but were disappointed with the wait time to get some of our food - over an hour and it wasn't very busy - we're convinced they served our food to another table because they were complaining of their bill being too expensive...even though they did eat the food!
All in all though it was still a good experience. The beach could be more relaxing if there weren't women selling pearls or fruit approaching you every 5 minutes but you just have to give a stern "No!" Do not ask how much or touch the pearls IF you want them to JUST GO AWAY!
One huge plus is that the beds are SUPER comfortable! We had some super sleeps and it was hard to leave knowing we'd be coming back to a hard Chinese style bed! :)

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 16 November 2009

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 29 September 2009

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanya hotels
4.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Resort Sanya Bay
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Sanya Bay
Wyndham Sanya Bay
#13 of 1,347 in Sanya
159 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Soluxe Hotel and Resort Sanya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Huayu Resort and Spa Yalong Bay Sanya
6.9 mi away
Sanya Marriott Hotel Dadonghai Bay
3.6 mi away
Sheraton Sanya Bay Resort
Sheraton Sanya Bay Resort
#26 of 1,347 in Sanya
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Resort Sanya Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Resort Sanya Bay

Address: No.188 Sanya Bay Road, Haipo Holiday Resort, Sanya 572000, China
Region: China > Hainan > Sanya > Sanya Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Sanya
#23 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
#31 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
#31 Spa Hotel in Sanya
Price Range: £54 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Howard Johnson Resort Sanya Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 1160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Resort Sanya Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Resort Sanya Bay Hotel Sanya
Howard Johnson Sanya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing