We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice but bad breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ocean Sonic Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ocean Sonic Resort
Ranked #35 of 1,329 Hotels in Sanya
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice but bad breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

We arrived without a booking and were told cheapest room available was 1800RMB. Instead we used the lobby's free wifi to book a deluxe ocean view room online for 1100RMB, and were actually upgraded free to a superior ocean view suite on the 9th floor.
Room was fantastic: very clean, very comfotable bed, good ahower, great balcony bathtub easily big enough for two, fast internet etc.
Beach bar is nice setting but very over priced: we paid 26RMB for 6 pieces of calimari and 38RMB for bottle of local beer. Much better to take a walk along the beach and stop at one of the local fish sellers who will grill you fresh fish on the beach: 8-30RMB/fish and 8RMB for the same beer that was 38RMB at the hotel! The many fruit sellers working the beach are another great option as they have lots of fresh, exotic fruit very cheap!
Breakfast at the hotel is way below what you would expect from a hotel of this level, we were really disappointed.
City is about 20-30min taxi ride away.
Overall nice hotel with great rooms and beach but lousy breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglishGent23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    188
    28
    5
    8
See reviews for
49
29
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

Hotel looked nice at first. Second look showed that after one year usage bathrooms had mold. There wasn't enough towels or bathrobes in the room for all of us, a thing you would expect in a 5 star hotel.

English service was poor. Dining hall was terrible, lot of noise and cigarett smoking chinese. It was difficult to get there with a baby trolley. Hotel dinner buffet was ok but pricey. Beach was near, just across the street. Pool area was nice but hot tub was a little bit too hot.

There is nothing near this hotel. We had terrible weather during our visit and taxis overcharged us outrageously. I wouldn't go there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katar11na
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

When we arrived at this hotel. the amenities a bit Balinese style at hotel Lobby with gamelan balinese song. The hotel divided by 2 towers, with large swimming pool in the middle between two towers. The room numbering a bit confusing, which is 5 number with first is the tower number, second and third number is floor number and fourth and fifth number is the room number. Since our room is 10619, we go to 10th floor and get nothing. Soon we reliazed that we've been in wrong floor.

Room is fair, not so big, with no wall between room and bathroom. Bathroom a bit smelly, but if you stand near the bathroom. There is a very small kitchen, but no kitchen set. The internet is free, but using a cable. There is balcony with lazy chair. Some room there is jacuzzi at the balcony, too bad our room has none. The bathroom is devide into shower and toilet, and the toilet is dry, which is toilet a bit smelly.

The breakfast is awesome, lots of choices, fruit is awesome and lots of choices. Beach is across the street, too bad it's feel far away from hotel though is accross the street. Beach is fun, can swim in. Too bad, weather in Sanya is very hot, make us want to stay in our airconditioned room

Will be back for holiday with family.

Room Tip: Ask room which have a jacuzzi at the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RolandL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castiglioncello, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

We booked a deluxe ocean view suite with operative kitchen just to cook for our 9 months baby, we realized that the kitchen didnt work , the electricity was cut off and it was greasy and dirty.
We went down to the fusion restaurant to eat and while we were waiting for our meal we saw more than ten mice running from outside to the front kitchen and towards the kitchen ...the mice felt very confident,scared at all as if it was their home!! we were scared ,!!we called the waiter and he told us that he already knew but he didn't know what to say, we went to the front desk and we ask for the manager, we had instead the assistant manager that at the news to have many mice living quitely in the hotel kitchen he didn;t undetrstand why we were so concerned.
the morning after we discovered that the "mice restaurant "was the breakfast location!!
We ask for the f b and the poor guy was sorry ,telling us that they were improving .... but..
The restaurant in the morning was an ashame !!! shells , prowns' skin ,rubbish on the floor .,the tables dirty and the rubbish contents open with the trush pouring outside!!
we checked out with some difficulties because they wanted us to pay for more thann one night .
I wander do they know how dangerous is having mice in a kitchen??? do they know what LEPTOSPIROSIS is??? and the GENERAL MANAGER???does he exist???

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sinestesia4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
118 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

Sanya is a typical Chinese family vacation destination.

Sanya bay is convenient and close to airport. Taxi ride from airport is about 10 minutes costs 2-3 euro. The long stretch of beaches is not so beautiful as Yalong bay, but in the high season it is less crowdy.

Room rate is reasonable priced with western standard. Online booking via travel agency is cheaper than booking directly with the hotel.

Room is decent in size. On website it states 40 or 50 sq meter, but it's much small.
Facilities and rooms are not very clean.
2 swimming pools. 1 big + 1 small. The smaller one is hiding inside a restaurant.
Service is poor.

Breakfast buffet has high quantity and low quality.
Staff cannot speak English.
Overall is a ok and comfortable hotel.

We were there for business so it doesn't matter much. The atmosphere in Sanya is not relaxing. There're a lot of new building developments. No old towns, streets, nor history.

If you don't speak some Chinese you'll have a hard time going around Sanya!!!

Room Tip: High floor with ocean view. You've to pay more for it. Their ocean view is only partial view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chufa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2011

The resort hotel overall is excellent. Big swimming pool that young and old will surely enjoy. Rooms are nice. One thing that ocean sonic resort sanya should improve asap is the quality of their food during breakfast. Very poor food quality although they have many food choices. Staff in the resto that serves buffet breakfast are friendly but should add more staff especially when the resto is full packed in the morning. The Chinese restaurant of the hotel have good food!!! When we were having our swim in the pool on April 18 at 3am. Surprisingly the snack bar beside the pool does not have cook. So none of us was able to order snacks. We were informed the cook is absent.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Untouchableuno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2011

We traveled on China Southern Air out of the beautiful Guangzhou Airport. We handed the Sanya airport taxi driver the hotel address that was printed in Chinese. On arrival the concierge spoke English and assisted with our check-in. Over the 12 days, we stayed in the delux ocean view room on the 10th floor and the delux garden view room on the 3rd floor. Both rooms were very clean and nice. We found the hotel grounds and the beach front to be the prettiest and the best maintained on the coast. The resort food was not up to our standards and was over priced, but we quickly located a waterfront restaurant two blocks to the west that was excellent, yet still expensive and another excellent restaurant two blocks west and two blocks south with bargin prices and excellent food (both a safe walk away). For meals in the hotel the best value was room service. We liked the hotels central location and the staffs assistance guiding us to the wonderful sights. The hotel helped in arranging a taxi driver for the day who would drive us to the attraction and then wait all day and return us to the hotel. By USA standards the fee was very reasonable and by Sanya standards the driver received approximately 2 days income. Our favorite attractions were the Yanuoda Tropical Rainforest Tourist Area (40 kilometers away), The End of the Earth Park (11 kilometers away), Wuzhizhou Island (38 kilometers away) , Yalong Bay (32 kilometers away), Luhuitou Park (15 kilometers away) and of course relaxing under the beautiful palms on the hotel's manicured beach and lounging around the hotel pool. You can catch bus 8 right in front of the hotel and ride downtown to the main shopping district for groceries and any needed supplies however; locating bus 8 for the return trip was difficult because it makes a large loop around the central business area before returning to the beach front highway. In Sanya beware of pick-pockets, they are very good and were able to reach in and out of my pocket on two occassions. The lesson learned was to keep the cell phone, passport, camera and money in the wifes purse zipped up tight and locked down. If you enjoyed your stay in Sanya I would also suggest visiting the Island of Gulangyu located in the harbor of the city Xiamen and booking a few nights at the Gallery Inn and also the small resort town of Yangshuo at the termination of the Li River cruise from Guilin to Yangshuo. Good Luck and my your travels be safe and rewarding.

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ebl_us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanya hotels
4.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Resort Sanya Bay
2.2 mi away
Grand Soluxe Hotel and Resort Sanya
3.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Hainan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Wyndham Sanya Bay
Wyndham Sanya Bay
#12 of 1,329 in Sanya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sheraton Sanya Bay Resort
Sheraton Sanya Bay Resort
#57 of 1,329 in Sanya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
6.7 mi away
Sanya Marriott Hotel Dadonghai Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Sonic Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sonic Resort

Property: Ocean Sonic Resort
Address: No.168 Sanya Bay, Sanya 572000, China
Region: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Sanya
#23 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
#33 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Ocean Sonic Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 600
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ocean Sonic Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sonic Hotel Sanya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing