We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ocean Get Away”
Review of Ocean Sonic Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ocean Sonic Resort
Ranked #34 of 1,327 Hotels in Sanya
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Ocean Get Away”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

The room was very clean, with a good sized bathroom. The bathroom was open to the rest of the room, but could be closed off with a curtain. The water pressure in our stand up shower was amazing, almost more than the drain could handel. The room for the toilet was a little small, and a little more see through than I felt confortable with. There were robes and slippers for your use in the closet. The bathtub was located out on the balcony, which was amazing and had a curtain to provide a little privacy. The beds were fluffy but also firm enough for a good nights rest. They had a ethernet cord in the room for laptops, but wireless was only available in the loby area. There was also CNN, HBO, ESPN, and Discovery Channel on TV (and a whole bunch of chinese news channels as well).
There are two swimming pools, one is the central swimming pool with double water slides proving to be fun for everyone. The central swimming pool is very shallow, and there is a pool bar there, but they don't have a bartender there all the time. Also there aren't enough lawn chairs for this large pool area. They is a bathroom behind the water slides for public use but the toilets there are squatters. There isn't a public rinse off area near the pool, one thing I desperately needed after swimming through a patch in the pool where someone had vomited. The other pool is called the rooftop pool, its a bit smaller but I felt it was more enjoyable as there weren't as many people there, and almost no children. There is a "fish kiss pool" there as well, where the little fish swim up to you and eat your dead skin off, there is a charge to use the fishy pool.
There is a private Ocean Sonic Beach front, where you can get served food right to your padded cabana. The beach is flagged off from all the ATV's and random fruit and peal vendors. There is also a buoyed off area for swimming, you need to stay in this swimming area otherwise the life guard will whistle at you. The beach was great, we spent most of our time here. They also have a fresh water rinse off area.
The overall grounds of Ocean Sonic are kept nicely. There was a large selection on the breakfast buffet, we opted mainly for the peal and eat shrimp. There were some western dishes as well. The bacon was a soft more like european bacon, eggs were good, you can ask them the way you want them cooked or they have ones already made. Theres a noodle bar, and a bunch of chinese congee's, and fruits.
When you check in, you must have a Credit Card, they will not take a Chinese bank card.

Room Tip: book in well in advance for a king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    188
    29
    5
    8
See reviews for
50
29
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

As with other reviewers, I was worried that it wouldn't be great after all the not so great reviews. However once we got there at 3am in the morning (our flight was delayed 8 hours!) they were so accommodating and helped us organise a driver to pick us up. The room we stayed at was a two level suite facing the harbour (free upgrade from the website we booked from) and was such a welcome relief for us. The room was amazingly large - a lounge and bathroom downstairs and the bed and bath equally a large upstairs. It was really clean - with a slight bit of wear and tear on our walls but that wasn't a major. The resort facilities were amazing and really gave us a time to truly relax for our honeymoon. We tried the restaurant for breakfast and dinner - dinner really good food, breakfast was good - a few things could be improved on but was not disgusting as some would say. We also went to the Beach Bar a few times - nice live music, drinks and food - really made us feel like we were somewhere else - not China. We strolled down a bit to the seafood street and had some food there.

The Spa was really good too - changed my husband's mind about massages!!

Location wise - it is a bit far from the city area but if you are looking to relax, this is the place.

Languages - Chinese or Russian a must (and for travelling around Hainan in general). Luckily I had my husband who could speak Chinese (Mandarin) so it made things a lot easier. There is English all throughout the resort and the phone service staff can speak English too.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I wasnt expecting too much after looking on some of the reviews but I was pleasantly surprised. I somehow managed to get a two level suite at a cheaper rate than the normal rooms online and it was huge, clean and tastefully decorated. The beach facilities were great, we had excellent weather and the staff were very nice. Breakfast could have been better - I dont know why they cant have fresh orange/mango juice when they are on an island but otherwise it was good. It helped that I can speak some Chinese.

Room Tip: Go for the double level suite if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DanielNN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wixom, Michigan
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Big, modern rooms, very clean, comfortable bed. I enjoyed my stay here very much in late February 2012. I believe the hotel was sold out, but it did not feel that way, except during breakfast. Breakfast food was good with a large selection. Beach area was very nice with plenty of shaded seating complimentary to hotel guests. Hotel pool is large with beautiful pool deck and flora. Two big hot tubs with hot & warm temps. The hotel is close to the airport, but air traffic was not really noticeable. It is also close to restaurants along Sanya Bay road. I recommend renting a car and driver for about 450RMB per day to do daily sight seeing. All in all an excellent three-day stay considering we were in China.

Room Tip: higher floors in building two will be a little quieter in the mornings
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

This place is probably a bargain compared to other international resorts in Sanya given the facilities it offers.
Rooms are spacious, clean, very good linen, and the overall deco shows the ambition of creating a high-end resort. And it is close, if it wasn't for a service that is genuine but provided by under-qualified staff.
Room-service food is poor and needs improvement.
The colonial-themed is very relaxing and the grounds are well looked

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristopheBacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We arrived without a booking and were told cheapest room available was 1800RMB. Instead we used the lobby's free wifi to book a deluxe ocean view room online for 1100RMB, and were actually upgraded free to a superior ocean view suite on the 9th floor.
Room was fantastic: very clean, very comfotable bed, good ahower, great balcony bathtub easily big enough for two, fast internet etc.
Beach bar is nice setting but very over priced: we paid 26RMB for 6 pieces of calimari and 38RMB for bottle of local beer. Much better to take a walk along the beach and stop at one of the local fish sellers who will grill you fresh fish on the beach: 8-30RMB/fish and 8RMB for the same beer that was 38RMB at the hotel! The many fruit sellers working the beach are another great option as they have lots of fresh, exotic fruit very cheap!
Breakfast at the hotel is way below what you would expect from a hotel of this level, we were really disappointed.
City is about 20-30min taxi ride away.
Overall nice hotel with great rooms and beach but lousy breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglishGent23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Hotel looked nice at first. Second look showed that after one year usage bathrooms had mold. There wasn't enough towels or bathrobes in the room for all of us, a thing you would expect in a 5 star hotel.

English service was poor. Dining hall was terrible, lot of noise and cigarett smoking chinese. It was difficult to get there with a baby trolley. Hotel dinner buffet was ok but pricey. Beach was near, just across the street. Pool area was nice but hot tub was a little bit too hot.

There is nothing near this hotel. We had terrible weather during our visit and taxis overcharged us outrageously. I wouldn't go there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katar11na
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanya hotels
4.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Resort Sanya Bay
2.2 mi away
Grand Soluxe Hotel and Resort Sanya
3.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Hainan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Wyndham Sanya Bay
Wyndham Sanya Bay
#15 of 1,327 in Sanya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sheraton Sanya Bay Resort
Sheraton Sanya Bay Resort
#52 of 1,327 in Sanya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
6.7 mi away
Sanya Marriott Hotel Dadonghai Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Sonic Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sonic Resort

Property: Ocean Sonic Resort
Address: No.168 Sanya Bay, Sanya 572000, China
Region: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Sanya
#26 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
#32 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Ocean Sonic Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 600
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Ocean Sonic Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sonic Hotel Sanya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing