We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great balcony bathtub” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Sonic Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ocean Sonic Resort
Ranked #32 of 1,326 Hotels in Sanya
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great balcony bathtub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

I stayed here for a weekend in March 2013, I picked the hotel because of the location close to the airport (15mins by taxi). After some of the reviews I was pleasantly surprised, the hotel staff were super friendly even at 3am in the morning (flight was delayed) and the hotel driver was great (maybe a bit too chatty for 3am :-)). The hotel room was very spacious and clean (cleaning was done 2 a day). And I loved the balcony bathtub which had a great view at night! Both the pool and the private beach section were great (to reach the private beach there is an underpass). The breakfast was good, but quite busy, so it's better to get there early. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annemieke K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    187
    27
    4
    7
See reviews for
46
28
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
IPSWICH
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Absolutely amazing from check in to check out. All the staff were very courteous and helpful, they treat all guests like kings and queens. 3 fantastic restaurants, can be expensive but well worth it. The breakfast is out of this world with so many choices. Our apartment were huge, with 2 bedrooms, each with en-suite and flat screen tvs, as well as a large study, balcony with outdoor bathtub, sea view, large lounge with large TV and dining area, all with very good furnishing and decors. Large swimming pool area with water shoots and slides, large outdoor jacuzzi. Plenty of bar areas for you to lounge about, relaxing, piano bar also. The hotel can offer you a personal driver for the whole day for very little money. The beach is just across the road with bars and live bands every night, you can rent beech buggies, jet ski etc. This is by far the best hotel we have stayed, will recommend highly.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tak C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
146 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

The Ocean Sonic Resort was home for a week over Christmas 2012. We booked through Ctrip and arrived to a wonderful reception. The hotel lists itself as a 5 star, but I would consider it a 3-4 star by American standards. The rooms wer spacious and the balcony was gret to see the ocean, howevere we also overlooked the trash dumpsters across the street and employee quarters. The pool definately lived up to the pictures. Our children loved sliding on the water slides and playing in the pool. The beach is easy to access but you did have to walk across a very busy street. It was easy to access towels and relax on the beach! It was difficult to get a cab inthe evenings so you need to prepare and anticipate the needs. The included breakfast bufet is an andventure! Plan to get there early and lots of pushing and shoving! The food over all is good, but the number of people that are there to clean tables and serve is limited so not the cleanest area. We were told it would be difficult to get around speaking English only and it did pose a few issues. The room service only spoke chinese and we had to locate an english speaking person to get simple items. We would definatley stay here agiain but would ask for a different view! Mia Casa restaurant in town was great! Also dono tmiss the walking street.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizaAllee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

The hotel and service met our expectations. After having read the comments from other reviewers we knew about the limited language skills (other than Chinese and Russian), service skills, cleanliness etc. But we have to say that these things did not disturb us at all. The staff was friendly and always ready to help. If one person could not sort out, often a very simple, question, she/he asked help from a colleague. Most of the personnel was very young and not yet that experienced with "long nose" foreigners, but they had a good service attitude and tried their best. Our service experience in Sonic and also elsewhere in Sanya was good.

The hotel garden and premises were well cared. The pool was spacious and plenty of space around it (the locals did not spend time at the pool!). To access the beach you have to cross the busy road, but there were guards to guide you cross the road. We preferred the local beach to other Sanya, more touristic, beaches. The breakfast buffet was good with plenty of choice. Naturally it was a bit messy during the busiest time in the morning, but that how it often is in big tourist hotels...

I would say that the Ocean Sonic Resort is a 5 star hotel to local standards, but perhaps just 4+ stars to European standards. The hotel location is good - near the airport (costs 16 RMB by taxi) and also near downtown (costs just 20 RMB by taxi). In all, the hotel is a good value for money and can be recommended. A TIP: THE TAXIS AT THE AIRPORT ARE UNDER THE CONTROL OF THE LOCAL CRIMINALS. I RECOMMEND TO CALL THE HOTEL (THEY SPEAK ENGLISH) AND ASK THEM TO SEND A TAXI TO PICK YOU UP.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ava001_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

What to say about the Ocean sonic resort.
The resort by itself is huge but nice, well decorated, large swimming pool and direct access to a private beach which is not very large but with free laying chairs.
HOWEVER, it was more frequent to meet staff speaking Russian than English and our nightmare was going on and on each time we were trying to obtain a service from the hotel. Room service, 20 minutes call to make us understood (and still we didn't received all what we wanted) and the quality of the dish was very poor for the price (knowing that regular breakfast in buffet is included in the price, we could have gone to the buffet prepare by ourself a plate and enjoy it more...).
We wanted to rent a scooter to discover the city and the concierge (Ekaterina) was not knowing what can propose the hotel (didn't even know what was a segway even if it was a service proposed by the hotel, but the segways got lost between the flyer and the real world...). She wanted to get reed of us by sending us to the beach pavillon (sport pavillon) to ask for the scooter. After 2 hours of back and force beach/reception to understand that the beach staff was not speaking english and the concierge was not understanding that we wanted a "street" scooter and not a "sea" scooter, she was repeating us that scooter was too dangerous, too much waves... (even if sea scooters were running in the beach, but whatever) In an other occasion we would have laugh of it but we were already so over the top by the room service, and the 2 hours lost (out of 3 days stay) that we decided to check out and go to an other hotel: the Mandarin oriental which was obviously more expensive but soooo relaxing in comparison that we enjoy to splurge that money for a real international 5 stars hotel.
I would recommend this resort only to my worst enemy.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mathilde_camus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

The room was very clean, with a good sized bathroom. The bathroom was open to the rest of the room, but could be closed off with a curtain. The water pressure in our stand up shower was amazing, almost more than the drain could handel. The room for the toilet was a little small, and a little more see through than I felt confortable with. There were robes and slippers for your use in the closet. The bathtub was located out on the balcony, which was amazing and had a curtain to provide a little privacy. The beds were fluffy but also firm enough for a good nights rest. They had a ethernet cord in the room for laptops, but wireless was only available in the loby area. There was also CNN, HBO, ESPN, and Discovery Channel on TV (and a whole bunch of chinese news channels as well).
There are two swimming pools, one is the central swimming pool with double water slides proving to be fun for everyone. The central swimming pool is very shallow, and there is a pool bar there, but they don't have a bartender there all the time. Also there aren't enough lawn chairs for this large pool area. They is a bathroom behind the water slides for public use but the toilets there are squatters. There isn't a public rinse off area near the pool, one thing I desperately needed after swimming through a patch in the pool where someone had vomited. The other pool is called the rooftop pool, its a bit smaller but I felt it was more enjoyable as there weren't as many people there, and almost no children. There is a "fish kiss pool" there as well, where the little fish swim up to you and eat your dead skin off, there is a charge to use the fishy pool.
There is a private Ocean Sonic Beach front, where you can get served food right to your padded cabana. The beach is flagged off from all the ATV's and random fruit and peal vendors. There is also a buoyed off area for swimming, you need to stay in this swimming area otherwise the life guard will whistle at you. The beach was great, we spent most of our time here. They also have a fresh water rinse off area.
The overall grounds of Ocean Sonic are kept nicely. There was a large selection on the breakfast buffet, we opted mainly for the peal and eat shrimp. There were some western dishes as well. The bacon was a soft more like european bacon, eggs were good, you can ask them the way you want them cooked or they have ones already made. Theres a noodle bar, and a bunch of chinese congee's, and fruits.
When you check in, you must have a Credit Card, they will not take a Chinese bank card.

Room Tip: book in well in advance for a king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

As with other reviewers, I was worried that it wouldn't be great after all the not so great reviews. However once we got there at 3am in the morning (our flight was delayed 8 hours!) they were so accommodating and helped us organise a driver to pick us up. The room we stayed at was a two level suite facing the harbour (free upgrade from the website we booked from) and was such a welcome relief for us. The room was amazingly large - a lounge and bathroom downstairs and the bed and bath equally a large upstairs. It was really clean - with a slight bit of wear and tear on our walls but that wasn't a major. The resort facilities were amazing and really gave us a time to truly relax for our honeymoon. We tried the restaurant for breakfast and dinner - dinner really good food, breakfast was good - a few things could be improved on but was not disgusting as some would say. We also went to the Beach Bar a few times - nice live music, drinks and food - really made us feel like we were somewhere else - not China. We strolled down a bit to the seafood street and had some food there.

The Spa was really good too - changed my husband's mind about massages!!

Location wise - it is a bit far from the city area but if you are looking to relax, this is the place.

Languages - Chinese or Russian a must (and for travelling around Hainan in general). Luckily I had my husband who could speak Chinese (Mandarin) so it made things a lot easier. There is English all throughout the resort and the phone service staff can speak English too.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanya hotels
4.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Resort Sanya Bay
2.2 mi away
Grand Soluxe Hotel and Resort Sanya
6.7 mi away
Sanya Marriott Hotel Dadonghai Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Hainan
0.9 mi away
Wyndham Sanya Bay
Wyndham Sanya Bay
#19 of 1,326 in Sanya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Oceanview Sanya Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Sonic Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sonic Resort

Property: Ocean Sonic Resort
Address: No.168 Sanya Bay, Sanya 572000, China
Region: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Sanya
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
#30 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
#33 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Ocean Sonic Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 600
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Ocean Sonic Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sonic Hotel Sanya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing