We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, food a problem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Metropark Resort Hotel
Ranked #43 of 1,330 Hotels in Sanya
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, food a problem”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

My wife and 3-year old stayed here for four nights. Whether or not you'll be happy here really depends on what you are looking for:

The hotel is really beautiful. The facilities and grounds are well-maintained. The pool is excellents. It has beautiful architecture, great gardens and places inside and outside for kids. The staff is impeccable, they are polite, friendly and effective (not always easy to find those three together), and will bend over backwards to please guests. On all these points the hotel deserves high marks.

The food situation was a huge issue for us. It's designed to corral you into the all-you-can-eat buffet every night. In principle, buffets are never good anywhere, and they typically are ways to make you think you're getting so much value, when actually everything is cheap and sits out for several hours. I don't see how anyone can consider the buffet here good, whether you are Chinese or Westerner. A lot of greasy meat and fish, cold shell fish, few vegetables and fruit. And the price: 250 CNY per person, that is over $40 USD a head. Ridiculous. We ate it once, I would have been sick if I'd had to eat it every night. You have the choice to order à la carte, it's still not cheap, the choice is limited to some strange meat dishes, everything tastes the same, and there's almost no staff to take care of you because they are all focused on the buffet clientele. We waited 30 to 60 minutes when we ordered. We were once told it's because room service orders take precedence over ours. But even ordering a bottled beer you wait 15 minutes for it to come because they are not geared for à la carte ordering.

Your other options are to go to Baihuagu 白花谷, a food court about 1km away. Here you get all the main suspect Chinese food chains that you normally avoid in Shanghai, only the prices are double what you pay in Shanghai (no exaggeration at all). You can also go to the other resorts nearby, and judging from the reviews here, not much better prices or quality. Or, you get a taxi (50 CNY, 30 minutes each way) to Dadonghai where you can get whatever you want for a reasonable price. We gorged on great Russian food there made by a Russian granny back in the kitchen, for 150 CNY per person with cocktails.

What's clear is that in Yalong Bay they do not allow any quality food options at reasonable prices anywhere. I'm sure it's not coincidence, you will not find under $30 USD per person for lunch or dinner anywhere around Yalong Bay. And don't expect big portions, memorable food or fast service (unless you don't mind getting up and getting it yourself despite the price).

This hotel offers a regular shuttle to the beach. We never waited and found it very convenient. The beach is beautiful, but you get a cordioned off zone about 50m wide and 30m deep with lifeguards that blow their whistles any time you go into waist-deep water. Don't think about venturing into other hotels' beach zones, we got chased away by the Pullman staff.

If you are looking for sports and outdoor stuff, don't be fooled by what the tourist literature says about Yalong Bay. It's designed for tourists to get a 10 minute thrill (on a banana boat, for example) with photographic proof to show off to their office mates back in Beijing. We tried scuba diving (at the Aegean Conifer Resort) and wind surfing (at the Ritz Carlton), but in both cases got broken equipment (and this is the "elite" beach). I cancelled my dive after finding serious faults with all the equipment offered, including a non-functioning regulator that they were actually trying to pawn off on me. The Ritz Carlton first offered my wife wind surf equipment with a broken sail, followed by one with a broken mast that hurt her foot. I noticed motorboats, jet skis and "banana boats" zig zag in and out of zones where divers are down. Serious divers, hikers, cyclists, windsurfers or surfers will not have many choices, if any, in Yalong Bay. Definitely go somewhere else.

And certainly don't come to Yalong Bay for the nightlife. They have "bars" around pools and on the beach, these are staffed by bored teenage-looking guys from northern provinces. These are for show mostly, no one is there and they chase you away by 9 or 10 pm.

Chinese love Sanya because it's the only government designated "beach resort" they have. If it's the only beach you've ever been to, and the only one in your country, then of course you'd think it's wonderful. They can go there visa free and use Chinese currency. Chinese will tell you it's the Honolulu of China, but most of those who rave about Sanya have never been to Honolulu let alone the beaches of SE Asia. Sanya is beautiful and the beach is nice, but doesn't hold a candle to other beaches in the region.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Tedwado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    85
    16
    5
    0
See reviews for
15
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zhengzhou
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I was apprehensive about going to Hainan after my wife suggested it, and Sanya in particular, because I figured it would be another cheesy and overly commercialized destination. After eight years of living in China, I've become accustomed to such thoughts. Sanya, Hainan and Metropark especially BLEW ME AWAY. I have to say, after visiting more than three dozen cities and countless provinces in China, this is by far the finest vacation/holiday I've ever been on. The beaches are clean, the accommodations are spectacular and the dining is delicious. On the latter, the food is SUPER expensive in the resort and there is nothing around to provide relief to that fact, but I am willing to overlook that because a trip to one of Sanya's supermarkets for beer, water, snacks and other necessities is just 55 yuan each way. STOCK UP BEFORE you reach the hotel and you WILL NOT REGRET staying at the Metropark!!! My family and I stayed in the villas and they were unlike anything I could have dreamed were available in China or anywhere for that matter. The service is top quality, the staff is incredibly friendly and the entire resort is like living in the Garden of Eden. Final note: I live in China and grow VERY tired of all the city noise, filth and pollution EVERY DAY and in your face. After a week of staying in the villa, I didn't want to go back. I will return!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Recently stayed at Grand Metropark Resort Hotel Sanya for 2 days.
We had booked a mountain view room for the price of 900 cny. The room was nice, big, clean with all the facilities working properly. The bathroom was huge, with shower and a very nice bath tube.
The breakfast was chinese and western, too, so you won't starve and the selection of food was pretty good: croissants, jam, butter, waffles, ham, milk, fresh juice (all the juices were fresh) the only thing missing in my opinion was the cheese.
The swimming pool is great, during the evening the water is warm and it is just perfect for a swim, really nice.
In my opinion the beach is not that far away, they take you with a shuttle to the beach for free (a golf car) it is aprox a 5 mins ride. They have their private beach, also a nice area, clean enough and they give you even toys for the kids.
The only thing missing there is the food, they have a sort of beach restaurant, but they don't have almost anything you request for. Finally I managed to order something but the food was horrible, I mean horrible and the portion ridiculous small and of course, very, very expensive. So better do what the chinese are doing, bring some chips and biscuits to the beach so you won't starve, if you want to stay longer.
Another thing, the restaurants in the hotel, western or chinese between 2 pm and 6 pm are closed. So we first went around 4 pm and the only restaurant opened was the Noodles Restaurant. As I am not a big fan of the noodles soup I was not to excited, but the food was ok, we had ordered a spicy beef noodles soup and a chinese pie. The chinese pie was very, very small and pretty expensive. Anyway all the restaurant on Ya Long Bay area are expensive, so nothing new.
The employees are nice and there is always someone on the Reception Desk speaking decent English, so no problem with that.
All in all, we had a nice stay and will be back for sure!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ramona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hangzhou
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This is a solid 4 star hotel hotel. Facilities are new, rooms are great. Location is average it is a long way from the beach but they have shuttle bus to take you there every 15 mins. They have their own private beach area which is good means not too busy, however the idiot lifegaurds on one of the days keep telling me to get out of the water as it was too dangerous due to the big waves, when my grandma could have swam in it. If you can swim at a basic level it was crazy to suggest it was unsafe, i guess they think all laowai can't swim like a lot of Chinese.

Breakfast is ok, not great more Chinese style than western, but enough choice that you won't go hungry. Service generally was reasonable, some staff could speak good enough English.

I booked this paid about 800 rmb per night, the 5 star hotels like marriot were around 1400-1500 for the same time, so for the price it was up to expectations, if you want that little bit extra real 5 star treatment with beach views go to one of the others.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aussieinhangzhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

stayed with friends for 2nights at the hotel at the valentine villa which we all found both the garden and room design offered you a very luxury home feel. the villa is expansive and you would find the bed room and living room are connected by a narrow and short corridor which is pretty ok as then both rooms can have easy access to the pool. and there is even a small jacuzzi but big enough for two to use at the same time next to the pool. since the resort is very big and amost like a tropical garden and i guess it takes you 15min on foot from the farther end of villa back to the reception area. so you can ask for a golf cart to pick you up which is free and wouldnt take you much time to wait. as for the breakfast then dont expect much which is just so and so but the view outside the restaurant is far more gorgeous. the food at the hotel is pricy and so we went out to the first market at town to enjoy seafood by taxi ( which took you around 30 min and 50cyn per trip). you bought the seafood yourself and then took them to a restaurant nearby for cooking for a fee depending on how many dishes and what to cook. a very interesting experience.
anyway, it is a resort good for one coming for a relaxation and peace of mind. but for those who come for the beach, better bear in mind that is quite far from the resort but a golf cart is always ready to send the guests to the seciton so called exclusively owned by it.. purely free.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simplygood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty W, Manager at Grand Metropark Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Dear guest ,Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with C-trip readers. Indeed, our private pool villas are very popular amongst with loves. We are happy to learn that your stay was an enjoyable one and the little one had a great time. Looking forward to welcome you and the little one on your next trip to Hainan Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanya hotels
MGM Grand Sanya
#11 of 1,330 in Sanya
438 reviews
Yalong Bay
Hilton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yalong Bay
The Ritz-Carlton Sanya, Yalong Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Metropark Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Metropark Resort Hotel

Property: Grand Metropark Resort Hotel
Address: Yalong Bay National Resort District Sanya, Sanya 572000, China
Region: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Sanya
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
#37 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
#41 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Metropark Resort Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to Yalong Bay International PGA Golf Course and offering beautiful scenery, Grand Metropark Resort Sanya is spread out over 100,000 square meters and surrounded by gloriously manicured gardens. The typically Southeast Asian styled gardens perfectly combine natural scenery with spectacular architecture. The international golf-view resort has 108 villas and 110 rooms equipped with 5-star class modern facilities, providing the epitome of comfort and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Metropark Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Metropark Hotel Sanya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing