We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome stay!”
Review of Sanya Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sanya Backpackers
Ranked #1 of 228 Speciality Lodging in Sanya
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome stay!”
Reviewed 12 June 2013 via mobile

Chris and his staff are so lovely, they made the stay in Sanya so enjoyable. Clean rooms, clean towels, air conditioning, good food. All the staff were really helpful and getting clean beach towels and beach mats every day was a lovely touch. I'd definitely recommend this place to anyone wanting a great value place to stay in Hainan. £30 for 3 nights! Awesome.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shoetown-blondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    39
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
16
73
56
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, Beijing, China
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2013

This is a wonderful hostel! The owner Chris is very willing to help guests navigate Sanya. He even led my friends and I to a restaurant and helped us order. Ask about anything that you want to do in Sanya and your questions will be answered. The hostel is extremely clean and the rooms and beds are swept and cleaned daily. Sanya Backpackers has a very warm and friendly atmosphere that will surely make you feel welcome ;D

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blissgreenapples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I really couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. Chris, Linda, and all the staff are incredibly friendly and genuinely want you to have the best time possible. Chris has a terrific knowledge of the area and was a fantastic resource, as well as a really cool guy to hang out with. Additionally, the environment was very social, which was perfect for my friend and I to meet a ton of other travelers. The facilities were cleaned everyday, and the five minute walk from one of the best beaches in Hainan was extremely convenient. The area was perfect for our stay, as well, and the hostel's location gives it a beach-housey feel. Even though you were a short walk from the main roads, Sanya Backpakers gave you a terrific sense of solitude.

Room Tip: I would ask Chris, he would probably direct you to the best place. All of them seemed great, but ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pasht0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tübingen, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2013

This is a fantastic place to relax- we stay in a lot of hotels in Europe, but Sanyabackpackers with its personal atmosphere really makes the difference.This was the best hostel during our six weeks trip through China.
- nice an clean rooms, done everyday
- everyday fresh towels, even beach towels for free
- close to the beach
- good aircondition, quiet
' computer-room and good wifi
-very sympathetic mascot
- but the best ia the staff: Chris creates an atmosphere, which is very delightful and nice. He, Linda and the staff take care of all your needs and are willing to help you with everything you could imagine. He organized for us a great snorkeling and kayaking tour, what was pure fun. Just a great place to stay!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai Region, China
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

There is very little I can say that has not already been said about Sanya Backpackers. This place is everything the other reviews have said and more. This place is really made by the people, Chris and Linda from the moment we arrived (very late) were the perfect hosts, always on hand with a smile and some advice, even offering a tasty free breakfast for the birthday girl on our day of departure. We have stayed in hotels and hostels all over China and South East Asia and this is by far and away the best. Most of the hotels in Sanya are more than twice the price and you will be paying for impersonal service and a corporate branding, why would you want to go and do something that dull... If you are going to Sanya, you will not be disappointed by staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

four of us ranging in ages from 54 - 28 stayed here for 5 nights. Rooms very clean & cosy, Chris & Linda (owners) extremely welcoming & helpful. We felt like family straight away. After a few weeks of travelling round China this was such a welcome break. The beach is amazing & its not packed at all - restaurants cheap with great food. Watch out for Chris's cocktail menu - experienced drinkers only for the Sanya BackPackers Special! Would so love to go back again one day. Thanks guys - we miss you! x

Room Tip: all the rooms are great so far as we could see - mine - on the ground floor did have some flats goin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justlovewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2013

From the beginning until the end of the trip the owners, Chris and Linda made us feel at home, always greetings us with a smile and on hand to answer any of our questions. Through the vibrant hostel bar, we were able to meet awesome tourists from all over the world. You won't regret choosing this hostel! :)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosaJung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Baohong Hotel
#38 of 1,327 in Sanya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South China Hotel
#37 of 1,327 in Sanya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Hawaii Hotel
#49 of 1,327 in Sanya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Hedong
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
#2 of 1,327 in Sanya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanya Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanya Backpackers

Property: Sanya Backpackers
Address: No.1 Type 1 Villa , Luming Community, Haihua Road, Dadonghai, Sanya 572021, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 228 Speciality Lodging in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Singaporean operated hostel providing SAFE, CLEAN and COMFORTABLE accommodation for backpackers and travellers in Hainan, China. Located in Dadonghai, Sanya, we are just a very short walk(3 mins)to the beach. By day, where all the sea activities begin and by night all the party starts. Our goal is to provide you with a wonderful experience to bring back home.We also offer surfing lessons, PADI scuba diving courses and outdoor adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Sanya Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing