We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hostel in Sanya” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sanya Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sanya Backpackers
Ranked #1 of 223 Speciality Lodging in Sanya
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Best hostel in Sanya”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

very welcoming, friendly and helpful owner and staff. nice bar and restaurant, clean and comfortable room, fresh tower every day, very close to the beautiful beach. really feel at home. will definately recommend to my friends! Sanya Backpackers, i will come back soon!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lee767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    39
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
16
70
56
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hangzhou, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Firstly: the owners and other people were welcoming, friendly, and helpful, sparing this experience a 'poor' rating. My disappointments were as follows:

1) There was no toilet seat in our room. Instead of giving us another room, they said they would get someone to fix it. The person came when we were sleeping in the room, so it didn't get fixed.
2) The 'bar', (outside, not rooftop as lonely planet says btw), closed at 10pm, so its not really a bar in my books. In fairness, we were allowed to sit there and talk quietly/play games with a beer after it closed.
3) I have been in China for 15months and slept on some hard beds, but the bed here was the very hardest mattress I have ever slept on. My back was sore in the morning, and my girlfriend even had red, graze-like marks on the side of her knee which she attributed to sleeping on her side on the bed.
4) The water pressure and temperature in our bathroom constantly fluctuated up and down, and the bathroom was badly done, meaning that the floor stayed wet for many hours after the shower had been used.

Normally, these things wouldn't bother me too much (par for the course in China you might say), but I had high expectations of this place from what I had heard and read about it, so I was a bit disappointed.

Room Tip: We were in the new building, it seems to have been built in a rush and not finished to a good standa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry_R2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisChiang, Owner at Sanya Backpackers, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear guest, thank you for staying with us! we apologize to you if you feel no happy. But its so pity that you completely exaggerate the facts. therefore, we have to explain something here to make things clear:
1. you booked a 1.5m queen size bed double room, but we upgrade you to a 1.8m king size bed double room without any charge. the check-in time is 2pm but we let you check in before 11:30am because we want you have a good rest after a journey. when you mention about the toilet seat, we immediately go to buy a new toilet seat and want to fix it for you, but YOU TELL US that you want to sleep and don't need to fix it because you only stay one night. therefore, we fix it after you leave.
2. our bar normally is closed at 12 at night. but if all guests go outside or nobody consume in the bar we will close it a bit early. but guests are still allowed to sit in the bar area for fun.
3. we do have very soft mattress in main building. all the guests are satisfied with our beds. for the new building, we are going to add extra cotton quilt on mattress soon. we believe you will like it if you have a chance to stay with us in the future!
4. as you know, sanya just suffered a very strong typhoon which damage a lot of stuff. water supplier is also affected that's why you feel water pressure is not very good. but now everything back to normal. :)
5. regarding to the rooftop you mentioned, we did have rooftop before in the old building that's why you see it in lonely planet OLD VERSION. but now we build a more beautiful garden yard as bar and food lounge. guests like it even more. we are always ready to meet all your requirement upon your request. so please let us know if you have any requirement so that we can make you feel happy during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed at sanya backpackers for a week, chris and linda are very friendly and helpfully. Even had a good day of surf in off season due to the typhoon....Good breakfast and very clean rooms! Thnx chris, linda and staff

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sjors V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Chris and Linda, the hosts at Sanya Backpackers, could not be more friendly and helpful and made our trip to Sanya very memorable for all the right reasons, The location is great, the other guests were very friendly and the room was clean, spacious and quiet - perfect for a really relaxing stay. Restaurants and bars in the nearby area kept us entertained at night. Must be the best place to stay in Sanya for those not seeking a 5-star hideaway.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

I stayed at Sanya Backpackers for 3 nights and had a lovely stay. Everyone was friendly, accommodating and very helpful! You often forget you are staying in a hostel here! The rooms and the hostel for that matter are impecably clean and there was even a bar and restaurant at the hostel that caters to those seeking western or even Asian cuisine. The location was also great-only a 3 min walk to the beach! There was also access to the Internet. A very enjoyable stay overall!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmmkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

The owner, Chris, was a great guy and greeted us by name every time we arrived at the hostel. We got a lot of solid advice from him and he helped us plan our trip. There were a few other interesting people staying at the hostel and there was always something going on. Very clean room, great location by the beach, would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nizhny Novgorod, Russia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

I travelled together with 2 of my friends in September 2013. The hostel is in 5 minute walk from the beach and when you go there you pass a few really good smoothie/juice places, we loved them!

Other than that, EXCELLENT atmosphere!! GREAT hospitality!! SUPER CLEAN and NEAT rooms!! VERY NICE HOSTS! Every(!) member of the crew is always ready to help and give advice. Charlie (we love you so much!) told us what beach to go to, what places to visit, where to eat, etc. You can also ask for some surfing lessons or rent bikes. Where to ride the bikes? Charlie advised a small sailors' village and it was magical there!!

You're also more than welcome to use towels blow mattresses FOR FREE! What else...the food's also great there! The WiFi is pretty good! The room service is absolutely amazing!!

And all of that for a very decent price!! Great job Charlie and the crew for making SanyaBackpackers such a cozy place to stay!!!

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor right by the front desk and it was pretty convinient because even i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oksana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Baohong Hotel
#33 of 1,327 in Sanya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hedong
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
#2 of 1,327 in Sanya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
South China Hotel
#40 of 1,327 in Sanya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Hawaii Hotel
#50 of 1,327 in Sanya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanya Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanya Backpackers

Property: Sanya Backpackers
Address: No.1 Type 1 Villa , Luming Community, Haihua Road, Dadonghai, Sanya 572021, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 223 Speciality Lodging in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Singaporean operated hostel providing SAFE, CLEAN and COMFORTABLE accommodation for backpackers and travellers in Hainan, China. Located in Dadonghai, Sanya, we are just a very short walk(3 mins)to the beach. By day, where all the sea activities begin and by night all the party starts. Our goal is to provide you with a wonderful experience to bring back home.We also offer surfing lessons, PADI scuba diving courses and outdoor adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Ctrip TA so you can book your Sanya Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing