We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hostel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sanya Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sanya Backpackers
Ranked #1 of 223 Speciality Lodging in Sanya
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

Chris, Linda and Mimi were excellent hosts. The beach is walking distance and so is Times Square Bar Street and The Dolphin Bar. Rooms were always cleaned and Chris provides you with Rental Bikes and rafts for the beach. They have cool little bar to prepare at.

Room Tip: Spring for the private, value is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrZzooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    39
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
16
70
56
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

The team is very nice, we felt like home. They give great tip and take care of us. The food is very good, and the mojito amazing! ;)
The room is very clean, but I wish we had a real blanket instead of a kind of towel to sleep.

I will definitely recommand this hostel to friends, it was a very good place to go on vacation!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marionleszouz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Chris, Linda and Mimi really made us feel like we were 'part of the family' personally addressing us in the morning and evening, genuinely interested in our experiences during the day. They also had great tips on where to go to eat and where to get the cheapest Baijo (Chinese liquor that will leave you blind). Rooms were cleaned everyday with new towels etc. Overall a very relaxing weekend to recharge our batteries before heading back to Hong Kong.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

very welcoming, friendly and helpful owner and staff. nice bar and restaurant, clean and comfortable room, fresh tower every day, very close to the beautiful beach. really feel at home. will definately recommend to my friends! Sanya Backpackers, i will come back soon!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lee767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hangzhou, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Firstly: the owners and other people were welcoming, friendly, and helpful, sparing this experience a 'poor' rating. My disappointments were as follows:

1) There was no toilet seat in our room. Instead of giving us another room, they said they would get someone to fix it. The person came when we were sleeping in the room, so it didn't get fixed.
2) The 'bar', (outside, not rooftop as lonely planet says btw), closed at 10pm, so its not really a bar in my books. In fairness, we were allowed to sit there and talk quietly/play games with a beer after it closed.
3) I have been in China for 15months and slept on some hard beds, but the bed here was the very hardest mattress I have ever slept on. My back was sore in the morning, and my girlfriend even had red, graze-like marks on the side of her knee which she attributed to sleeping on her side on the bed.
4) The water pressure and temperature in our bathroom constantly fluctuated up and down, and the bathroom was badly done, meaning that the floor stayed wet for many hours after the shower had been used.

Normally, these things wouldn't bother me too much (par for the course in China you might say), but I had high expectations of this place from what I had heard and read about it, so I was a bit disappointed.

Room Tip: We were in the new building, it seems to have been built in a rush and not finished to a good standa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry_R2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisChiang, Owner at Sanya Backpackers, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear guest, thank you for staying with us! we apologize to you if you feel no happy. But its so pity that you completely exaggerate the facts. therefore, we have to explain something here to make things clear:
1. you booked a 1.5m queen size bed double room, but we upgrade you to a 1.8m king size bed double room without any charge. the check-in time is 2pm but we let you check in before 11:30am because we want you have a good rest after a journey. when you mention about the toilet seat, we immediately go to buy a new toilet seat and want to fix it for you, but YOU TELL US that you want to sleep and don't need to fix it because you only stay one night. therefore, we fix it after you leave.
2. our bar normally is closed at 12 at night. but if all guests go outside or nobody consume in the bar we will close it a bit early. but guests are still allowed to sit in the bar area for fun.
3. we do have very soft mattress in main building. all the guests are satisfied with our beds. for the new building, we are going to add extra cotton quilt on mattress soon. we believe you will like it if you have a chance to stay with us in the future!
4. as you know, sanya just suffered a very strong typhoon which damage a lot of stuff. water supplier is also affected that's why you feel water pressure is not very good. but now everything back to normal. :)
5. regarding to the rooftop you mentioned, we did have rooftop before in the old building that's why you see it in lonely planet OLD VERSION. but now we build a more beautiful garden yard as bar and food lounge. guests like it even more. we are always ready to meet all your requirement upon your request. so please let us know if you have any requirement so that we can make you feel happy during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed at sanya backpackers for a week, chris and linda are very friendly and helpfully. Even had a good day of surf in off season due to the typhoon....Good breakfast and very clean rooms! Thnx chris, linda and staff

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sjors V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Chris and Linda, the hosts at Sanya Backpackers, could not be more friendly and helpful and made our trip to Sanya very memorable for all the right reasons, The location is great, the other guests were very friendly and the room was clean, spacious and quiet - perfect for a really relaxing stay. Restaurants and bars in the nearby area kept us entertained at night. Must be the best place to stay in Sanya for those not seeking a 5-star hideaway.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Baohong Hotel
#33 of 1,326 in Sanya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hedong
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
#2 of 1,326 in Sanya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
South China Hotel
#41 of 1,326 in Sanya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Hawaii Hotel
#52 of 1,326 in Sanya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanya Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanya Backpackers

Property: Sanya Backpackers
Address: No.1 Type 1 Villa , Luming Community, Haihua Road, Dadonghai, Sanya 572021, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 223 Speciality Lodging in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Singaporean operated hostel providing SAFE, CLEAN and COMFORTABLE accommodation for backpackers and travellers in Hainan, China. Located in Dadonghai, Sanya, we are just a very short walk(3 mins)to the beach. By day, where all the sea activities begin and by night all the party starts. Our goal is to provide you with a wonderful experience to bring back home.We also offer surfing lessons, PADI scuba diving courses and outdoor adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Sanya Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing