We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place, worth going”
Review of Sanya Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sanya Backpackers
Ranked #2 of 260 Speciality Lodging in Sanya
Reviewed 20 February 2014

stayed here for 3 days and have a nice time. get to know lots of people . love the bar. rooms are clean and staff are friendly. love it! only 3-4 minutes walk to the beach. at night the beach is quiet and great place for drinking.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SARA_XWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

51 - 57 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

This is my third time staying at the "Backpacker's" and they will continue to get my business. Clean, safe, helpful, with a great location; you can't ask for more...(if you did, Chris, Linda, Ava and Leon would somehow get it done)! The best part about the "Backpacker's" is the people that they attract; wonderful conversations and hints from the staff as well as their guests. A truely international holiday.The Sanya "Backpacker's" is my "go to" for fun, excitement and relaxation. Blair from U.S./China.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poorboy_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I stayed in this hostel almost 3 weeks in January 2014 and was not disappointed at all. The whole building and all the rooms are clean and well-kept. The owners Chris and Linda, Ava and Leon are the nicest people, who would always listen and help you out. The Chunjie celebration 2014 was unforgettable, thank you a lot for everything. Next time i'm in Sanya, i will most definitely stay at Sanya Backpackers.

Ksenia from Belarus

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ksenia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I had a great time at Sanya Backpackers' (January 2014). If I ever return to Hainan, I will definitely stay here. I enjoyed the atmosphere and the introductory surfing trip offered by the hostel. The location is convenient and the staff is extremely knowledgeable and friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We spent a week at Sanya Backpackers and enjoyed each day. Chris and Ava were very helpful with all our questions about what to do, where to do it and what it should cost.
The whole facility is spotlessly clean and it attracted very interesting guests. The public areas were relaxing and we had many great conversations with fellow travelers.
The room (family room ensuite) was a good value.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed at Sanya backpackers for the second time and was very satisfied once again. Professional and nice staff, very clean, and great Christmas party! Good place to meet foreigners of all nationalities in Sanya as well. The Dadonghai location is also very strategic, two steps from the beach, and very close to the bar street. Thanks again! Xavier

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
Thank Xavier H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed there for about 4 days and chris, linda (the owners of the hostel) and mimi the dog treated us so well! we felt like we are a part of a big familiy! the room were also nice and clean! the duvet covers and towels were changed every day! the offerd breakfast and snacks were also delicous and cheap too!

must stay as backpacker in sanya!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Captain's House
#1 of 618 in Sanya
86 reviews
Palmena Apartment
#134 of 1,365 in Sanya
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Haitang Bay
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Sanya Haitang Bay
Hedong
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
MGM Grand Sanya
#15 of 1,365 in Sanya
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanya Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanya Backpackers

Address: No.1 Type 1 Villa , Luming Community, Haihua Road, Dadonghai, Sanya 572021, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 260 Speciality Lodging in Sanya
Price Range: £9 - £28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sanya Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Singaporean operated hostel providing SAFE, CLEAN and COMFORTABLE accommodation for backpackers and travellers in Hainan, China. Located in Dadonghai, Sanya, we are just a very short walk(3 mins)to the beach. By day, where all the sea activities begin and by night all the party starts. Our goal is to provide you with a wonderful experience to bring back home.We also offer surfing lessons, PADI scuba diving courses and outdoor adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Sanya Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing