We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hell of a diversity!”
Review of Sanya Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sanya Backpackers
Ranked #1 of 231 Speciality Lodging in Sanya
Fukang, China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hell of a diversity!”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Olive, my wife, and I were astonished by the amazing diversity of the residents of Sanya Backpackers. After 10 years of speaking toned-down English to my students, it was refreshing to let go and speak freely to fellow English speakers from Canada, US, Germany, Sweden, England, Australia, Newzealand and more.

As to the place and staff, well it is all true. The place is clean and spotless, and the staff friendly as next of kin. Great place for Honeymooners as us who cant afford a resort. LOL!!!

There are several, more isolated, beaches not more than half an hour by taxi...Chris, the owner, will tell you all about them.

We hope to go there again soon.

Room Tip: For couples or family, choose 201, 202, 203 are best for being far from kitchen smell and other nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    39
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
16
73
56
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2014

stayed here for 3 days and have a nice time. get to know lots of people . love the bar. rooms are clean and staff are friendly. love it! only 3-4 minutes walk to the beach. at night the beach is quiet and great place for drinking.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SARA_XWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zibo, China
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This is my third time staying at the "Backpacker's" and they will continue to get my business. Clean, safe, helpful, with a great location; you can't ask for more...(if you did, Chris, Linda, Ava and Leon would somehow get it done)! The best part about the "Backpacker's" is the people that they attract; wonderful conversations and hints from the staff as well as their guests. A truely international holiday.The Sanya "Backpacker's" is my "go to" for fun, excitement and relaxation. Blair from U.S./China.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poorboy_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I stayed in this hostel almost 3 weeks in January 2014 and was not disappointed at all. The whole building and all the rooms are clean and well-kept. The owners Chris and Linda, Ava and Leon are the nicest people, who would always listen and help you out. The Chunjie celebration 2014 was unforgettable, thank you a lot for everything. Next time i'm in Sanya, i will most definitely stay at Sanya Backpackers.

Ksenia from Belarus

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ksenia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guangyuan, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I had a great time at Sanya Backpackers' (January 2014). If I ever return to Hainan, I will definitely stay here. I enjoyed the atmosphere and the introductory surfing trip offered by the hostel. The location is convenient and the staff is extremely knowledgeable and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint George, Utah, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We spent a week at Sanya Backpackers and enjoyed each day. Chris and Ava were very helpful with all our questions about what to do, where to do it and what it should cost.
The whole facility is spotlessly clean and it attracted very interesting guests. The public areas were relaxing and we had many great conversations with fellow travelers.
The room (family room ensuite) was a good value.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenzhen, China
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed at Sanya backpackers for the second time and was very satisfied once again. Professional and nice staff, very clean, and great Christmas party! Good place to meet foreigners of all nationalities in Sanya as well. The Dadonghai location is also very strategic, two steps from the beach, and very close to the bar street. Thanks again! Xavier

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Xavier H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Baohong Hotel
#36 of 1,333 in Sanya
277 reviews
South China Hotel
#41 of 1,333 in Sanya
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hedong
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
#3 of 1,333 in Sanya
932 reviews
Hawaii Hotel
#53 of 1,333 in Sanya
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanya Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanya Backpackers

Property: Sanya Backpackers
Address: No.1 Type 1 Villa , Luming Community, Haihua Road, Dadonghai, Sanya 572021, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 231 Speciality Lodging in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sanya Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Singaporean operated hostel providing SAFE, CLEAN and COMFORTABLE accommodation for backpackers and travellers in Hainan, China. Located in Dadonghai, Sanya, we are just a very short walk(3 mins)to the beach. By day, where all the sea activities begin and by night all the party starts. Our goal is to provide you with a wonderful experience to bring back home.We also offer surfing lessons, PADI scuba diving courses and outdoor adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Sanya Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing