We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Having the Chance to visit Sanya? -Choose definitively this place to stay”
Review of Sanya Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sanya Backpackers
Ranked #1 of 228 Speciality Lodging in Sanya
Shanghai, China
1 review
“Having the Chance to visit Sanya? -Choose definitively this place to stay”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Me and my friends had a great time at SanyaBackpackers. The Hostel is located 5min from the Beach and you have the opportunity to rent a surfboard. You get clean rooms and they were cleaned every day, also gratis fresh bath and beach towels. We enjoyed the very welcoming and friendly Atmosphere with the Staff and relaxed in the evenings having a CubaLibre at the Hostelbar with other foreign people. Having the Chance to visit Sanya again, I choose definitively this Place to stay!- Greets Daniel”

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    39
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
16
73
56
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Absolutely great place, only a 3 minutes walk from Dadonghai beach and close to public transport.
When we arrived at Sanya backpackers we were directly welcomed with open arms by Chris and Linda, who made our stay absolutely unforgettable. The whole hostel atmosphere makes you feel like you found a new family for the time of the stay. NIce terrace at the entrance of the hostel and a great bar to meet new people in the evenings. Also there are lots of nice beach bars at Dadonghai and a absolutely amazing restaurant "Dolphin Bar" just down the road!
A must stay at in China! :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danni2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I was pleasantly surprised with my stay at Sanya Backpackers. My friends and I stayed in a private room for 3 with a private bathroom. The rooms were cleaned every day, we were provided with fresh bath towels every day as well as beach towels. The food and drinks were good and cheap, the staff was extremely friendly, location was great - plenty of restaurants in the area and just a two minute walk from the beach. I would definitely recommend this place for anyone looking for a cheap, clean, comfortable hostel. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nkhd15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I can surely recommend sanya backpackers. its an excellent place to stay. very helpful staff and welcoming. i felt safe and welcomed.keep training ppl to take off their shoes inside;)...good luck with your future! thanks again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lara w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenyang, China
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2014

owner and staff very very friendly and with great knowledge of everything you might ask. Rooms wonderful clean. We had a room for 2 with our own bathroom. Small but everything there you need. Also the place outside the hostel is everytime clean and good smelling. Quiet place for sleeping end even only a few minutes to the beach. They speak very good english and chinese and help when ever it is needed. Also Chris is very sociable and introduced us to all the other guests. It was a grest time and a real pleasure to be there.
Thank you Chris, Linda, Ava and Mimi
Marion and Johannes

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chongqing, China
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Fun, friendly, and extremely accommodating staff. The cleanest hostel I've ever stayed in!!
I would say it seems to be the best place to stay in Sanya if you want to meet like-minded travellers!
Cheers guys....

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fukang, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Olive, my wife, and I were astonished by the amazing diversity of the residents of Sanya Backpackers. After 10 years of speaking toned-down English to my students, it was refreshing to let go and speak freely to fellow English speakers from Canada, US, Germany, Sweden, England, Australia, Newzealand and more.

As to the place and staff, well it is all true. The place is clean and spotless, and the staff friendly as next of kin. Great place for Honeymooners as us who cant afford a resort. LOL!!!

There are several, more isolated, beaches not more than half an hour by taxi...Chris, the owner, will tell you all about them.

We hope to go there again soon.

Room Tip: For couples or family, choose 201, 202, 203 are best for being far from kitchen smell and other nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Baohong Hotel
#37 of 1,327 in Sanya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South China Hotel
#38 of 1,327 in Sanya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Hawaii Hotel
#50 of 1,327 in Sanya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Hedong
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
#2 of 1,327 in Sanya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanya Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanya Backpackers

Property: Sanya Backpackers
Address: No.1 Type 1 Villa , Luming Community, Haihua Road, Dadonghai, Sanya 572021, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 228 Speciality Lodging in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Singaporean operated hostel providing SAFE, CLEAN and COMFORTABLE accommodation for backpackers and travellers in Hainan, China. Located in Dadonghai, Sanya, we are just a very short walk(3 mins)to the beach. By day, where all the sea activities begin and by night all the party starts. Our goal is to provide you with a wonderful experience to bring back home.We also offer surfing lessons, PADI scuba diving courses and outdoor adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Ctrip TA so you can book your Sanya Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing