We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you could want in a Hostel, and More!”
Review of Sanya Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sanya Backpackers
Ranked #2 of 260 Speciality Lodging in Sanya
Reviewed 9 January 2011

The, amazing host "CHRIS", friendly staff "English Speaking", the CLEAN and SAFE environment, short walk to the beach, the roof top patio, wifi, internet, scuba, surfing! I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in Sanya!"

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annbourdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

225 - 231 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2011

Sanya Backpackers is definitely THE HOSTEL to stay in Sanya, China. The room is clean and the service staff is warm and friendly. They had made my vacation in Sanya, a memorable and stressless one.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCCHAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

It really was safe, clean, and comfortable. great service and hospitality, I am sure that you couldn't find a better hostel around, the price was reasonable, and you would be receiving so much more than what you pay! It will be my first choice if I am going to Sanya again!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swang07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

My wife and I took our 3 year old and 1 year old daughter to Sanya. We were met at the curb and helped with our bags by the owner Chris. The whole staff was prompt, clean and courteous. I wish we could have stayed longer than 5 days. We'll be back. Thanks Chris!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greenslider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2010

I've stayed in hostels all over the world and I can say this might be the best hostel of all. It's clean, safe, in a good location, has a friendly staff, and has an awesome owner. My room was cleaned and organized everyday. My shirts were even put on hangers by the staff. The hostel and the surrounding area is very safe. I didn't feel any trouble during my week there, even after eating BBQ on the street at 3 am. It is a 3 minute walk to the beach and there are many bars in the area with good music. The staff is always looking to help with your stay whether its recommendations on where to eat, what to see or even if you just want to chat. The owner is Chris. He's a Singaporean dive instructor who knows exactly how to make your trip to Sanya extraordinary. If you have time just sit down and have a beer with him. I guarantee it will be a good conversation.

If you're not looking for a 5 star resort, this is definitely the best place in Sanya.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fortheloveofalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

A very basic, but very clean hostel in a good location. Best thing about this place? Yup - Chris! As everybody else has said, the guy is a star - takes you on trips, hangs out with you, gives advice on everything the island has to offer.....all in a totally non pushy way. The rest of the staff are wonderful too. He's built a great reputation for this hostel and it's fully deserved.

Downsides? Not a quiet location - avoid this area if you want to get away from it all. Also avoid if you just want to stay in the room all day - it's a basic hostel and the comfort levels rate accordingly.

We really enjoyed our time in Sanya - thanks Chris!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Estrata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2010

My 4 friends and I are studying in China and decided to take a vacation to Sanya for the weekend. We tried another hostel and hotel in Sanya until we came across this paradise! This Hostel is in the middle of everything, beaches, shopping, clubs & bars, resturants! The staff was so welcoming, especially to 4 college students who where looking for a good time in the city. The owner helped us with anything we needed. The rooms where great and the beds where very comfortable. The Hostel is very clean and even has fast internet! If you are going to stay in Sanya and looking for the perfect budgeted place this is definetly the only way to go. We will definelty be back at this hostel next time we are in Sanya. Oh and the roof top area is awesome!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anders I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Captain's House
#1 of 617 in Sanya
86 reviews
Palmena Apartment
#117 of 1,356 in Sanya
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hedong
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
Haitang Bay
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Sanya Haitang Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanya Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanya Backpackers

Address: No.1 Type 1 Villa , Luming Community, Haihua Road, Dadonghai, Sanya 572021, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 260 Speciality Lodging in Sanya
Price Range: £10 - £28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sanya Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Singaporean operated hostel providing SAFE, CLEAN and COMFORTABLE accommodation for backpackers and travellers in Hainan, China. Located in Dadonghai, Sanya, we are just a very short walk(3 mins)to the beach. By day, where all the sea activities begin and by night all the party starts. Our goal is to provide you with a wonderful experience to bring back home.We also offer surfing lessons, PADI scuba diving courses and outdoor adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Ctrip TA so you can book your Sanya Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing