We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent western food”

Sanya dolphin sports bar & grill
Ranked #1 of 384 Restaurants in Sanya
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International, Bar
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Decent western food”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Needed somewhere that did a decent western meal to give our stomachs a rest from chilli and garlic, came here for lunch, good burgers, don't think it's expensive compared with some other places we've eaten at, good service, tasty food. If we were staying in sanya for another day we'd come back here.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlexK19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    104
    18
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Worst place I've been to in Sanya”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Horrendous! Apart from bring vastly over priced, the staff isn't particularly helpful (to say the least) and the place is filled with seedy characters. If there's one place to stay clear of during your trip to Sanya, it's this one!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chessmover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
1 review
“Good Happy Hour !”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Visited the Dolphin Bar after finding on tripadvisor and wasn't disappointed, Lovely food and staff that speaks good english (quite unusual when in China).We had been looking for Western type food and saw they do special burger only 30rmb and tiger draft beer buy one get one free on Monday. Prices are standard for Western places so I'd recommend going for happy hour or on a Monday. Huge portions and good service !

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tommy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Sports Pub Giving Exactly That”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Had lunch here a couple of times and food is fine, drinks fine and service all fine.

If you want some Western Fayre in the midst of heavily Chinese cuisine/beverages, this fits the bill perfectly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AdrianShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Meh - Go elsewhere”
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

Our hotel recommended this and it wasn't great but not terrible. The atmosphere is more middling Midwest sports bar than tropical vacation bar/restaurant. Smokey even in the afternoon and dark inside. We felt like we were entering Mo's Bar from the Simpsons. Chicken strips had a weird artificial taste, poutine had black olives in it... Quesadilla was ok. Wait staff were terrible, problems ordering in Chinese even. We resorted to just pointing at the menu but the waitress was on the extreme slow and after she went away and we thought our orders were in, she sent another (friendlier) waitress to take our orders and finally it was settled. After that no service. We even had to get up to get our bill despite there being no one else there and many waitresses (dressed in their 'sexy' leiderhosen). We gave up on Sanya after this and didn't leave our resort the rest of the trip. Don't go to this resto unless you're craving bland western food.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank BlueLouLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Sanya dolphin sports bar & grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing