We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Hard to find fault."”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay
Ranked #27 of 1,356 Hotels in Sanya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We recently enjoyed what can only be described as the most perfect beach holiday during our 10 night stay here in July 2014. From the minute we arrived until our departure we can honestly say we were treated like royalty. I can understand other reviewers concerns regarding a lack of English speaking staff but this was not our experience - the majority of staff we encountered had good English, much better than my Cantonese I must say! The hotel, and I must particularly mention front office manager Patricia, went that extra mile when we sought their advice for interesting places to visit locally, even permitting their driver to stay with us during a tour of Sanya to ensure our enjoyment. We dined in all the on site restaurants and particularly enjoyed Teatra and Senses but we also enjoyed authentic cuisine in La Chine. House keeping was flawless in or King Ocean Villa with the small touches of complimentary mini bar and pastries at turn down were nice. Afternoon tea and evening cocktails in the Vue lounge with a South China Sea sunset rounded off our days. All in all we have no hesitation in recommending the Conrad Sanya for a relaxing beach resort after the hustle and bustle of Hong Kong.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank stuart m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markus K, General Manager at Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Mr. Stuart –

It was truly a pleasure to have met you and your wife during your recent stay and to have hosted you for your 10-nights.

Your honest feedback given throughout your stay and your feedback now is highly appreciated. Please be assured that we will recognize all team members that you and your wife have mentioned to us throughout your stay!

Looking forward to meeting you again in the near future and hopefully you will be able to play a full round of golf instead of just 9 holes!

Sincerest Regards,

Markus Kosch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed here for about three nights. I must admit that Conrad Sanya is one of the most beautiful hotel I have stayed in, although the service is not that good. Upon arrival, we were directed into a very large room where people check-in, i was really impressed! The chairs, the walls, the details, everything is just so classy! But your staff terribly needs a lot of improvement, especially in being hospitable to foreigners and in speaking english, we had a hard time communicating to the check-in clerk because of the language barrier. After checking-in, we rode the buggy and went into our room and I was impressed again! But the air conditioning system in our room is broken so we have to call the maintenance to fix it, which took an hour to arrive. The service is slow , more staff is needed to attend to every guest's needs. After fixing, we went out to eat at your Chinese resto (its really good by the way, especially the dumplings ) for about an hour or two, when we got back to our room, it is still hot! We decided to go to the lobby to report about that and we were gladly upgraded to the villa by one of your managers! Honestly, i prefer your TWIN DELUXE PLUNGE POOL ROOM than the KING OCEAN VIEW POOL VILLA because the villa is kinda crowded, but its still good! Your rooms also need a lot of maintenance, especially the lights outside, some of them are not working, and it gets really dark at night, this is maybe because the hotel rooms are pretty much exposed to the weather outside, but i dont think that is a problem for a 5 star hotel like Conrad Sanya right? Honestly, i would still prefer to stay in Conrad Hong Kong not because of the location but because of the service, Conrad Sanya really needs a lot of improvement with its service. Hope to see some improvements when i get back in a year or whenever!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank itsaWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markus K, General Manager at Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience on your recent stay with us. We are sorry to learn the disappointing experience you encountered in our resort.

Meanwhile, we highly appreciate your comments as it is only through feedback like this that we are able to continually monitor and improve both our products and quality of services. We’ve conducted a thorough investigation on system updating and necessary trainings to ensure this case won’t happen again in the future.

Our team is committed to your complete satisfaction and empowered to deliver high standard service of Conrad.

We sincerely hope that on your next visit you’ll feel the true luxury of being yourself.

Best regards,

Markus Kosch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I stayed at the Conrad in Sanya bay for 3 nights in May this year with my partner and sister. We had a fantastic time. The hotel and full complex is beautiful. The rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean. The staff are extremely polite, professional and attentive especially the concierge, Seven and waitress from Breakfast, Christine.

On the first night we had a leak in our bathroom and were moved rooms and upgraded the next day for our inconvenience. There was some miscommunication that lead to a delay in us being moved to our new room - this prompted us to speak directly to Marcus, the hotel's General Manager. He was extremely professional and offered us another upgrade to a 2 bed villa to ensure the issue was resolved to our satisfaction. It totally was. The 2 bedroom Villa was stunning. All the staff went above an beyond to make our stay a memorable one.

We had breakfast every morning which was delicious, there was a wide selection of both western and Chinese cuisine. We ate dinner one night in the Hilton next door (double tree), the food was amazing. The only small gripe was the cost of food and alcohol in the hotel was totally overpriced.

Overall we had an amazing stay and we would go back in a heart beat.

Thank you to all the staff for making our stay wonderful!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaraH87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markus K, General Manager at Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Kara,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience on your recent stay with us.

It is was a pleasure meeting you in the resort.

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay so much, this is what motivates us all at Conrad to excel.

I will share your kind words with my team to encourage them to continuously provide high level Hilton service.

Looking forward in welcoming you back in the near future!

Best regards,

Markus Kosch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The initial impression was that the hotel is very majestic. The WOW feeling was later destroyed by the substandard service provided. Quite a few things had happened over my 3D2N stay and was quite sure that I would not be staying here again. However, Front Office Manager, Patricia, had done quite a lot to improve my stay - thank you Patricia. You've really made the difference!

The hotel has a very nice pool with great views. There is the option of visiting Doubletree's pools and restaurants as well, but we preferred Conrad's own pool as we like the quietness and the view of the sea. Be prepared to bring your own cocktails if you are a cocktail lover because there are not much cocktail selection and is very blend.

Maintenance and cleanliness needs to be improved also. The floors of the rooms were a bit sandy, spoilt hair dryer, some planks were protruding which were dangerous for children and one of the swimming tiles at the pool came out (ouch!)

Service wise, needs to be more prompt and active. I had occasions where they asked me to bring the cocktail myself, follow up with my orders etc. But of course there are nice service personnel like Delina who is very patient and always smiley. On one morning, I made a special in-room dining request for dumplings and they gave me for free. Kudos!

Overall, still worth to visit. Would be excellent with more service improvement!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weeee29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markus K, General Manager at Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to share your experiences regarding your stay with us.

We are sorry for the inconvenience that you encountered in our resort. Your valuable feedbacks will certainly assist us in improving on the areas that you felt there is a space to grow.

Our team is committed to your complete satisfaction and empowered to deliver the service that make guests feel “luxury of being yourself”. We sincerely hope that on your next visit we will deliver our promised service. Thank you for sharing your good comments about Patricia.

Thank you again and look forward to welcoming you again to our resort in the near future!

Best regards,

Markus Kosch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Just got back from a fantastic weekend at Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay. Superb service,excellent attention to details ,great atmosphere… we had a sea view villa . The pool was great, the room was perfect, modern and classic. Thanks so much for the stuff of Mediterranea Restaurant that we had such a romantic dinner…and the beaches,the sea,the smells,the color…all of these are reasons to come back again soon.

Room Tip: Come to Conrad Haitang Bay, don't forgot come to Mediterranea Restaurant..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GGAndrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markus K, General Manager at Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Andrea,

Thank you very much for taking time to share your experiences on your recent stay with us.

It is was a pleasure meeting you and your husband in the resort.

We highly appreciate your nice comments on our hotel facilities. The restaurant you mentioned is Senses which offers delicate Mediterranean cuisine. We offer 4 types of Paellas, for which the restaurant is also famous.

Thank you again for your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back on your wedding celebration early next year.

Best regards

Markus Kosch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The Conrad Haitang Bay is located about 30-40 minute away from the airport. As soon as you come close to the hotel you can see the area being much newer than some other parts of the island with only resorts nearby. This could be good and bad as there are any other local shops or restaurants other than the ones offered in the hotel.

Friends were quite friendly and check in was very smooth. We booked ourselves into a room with a plunge pool on the ground floor of one of the villas. The room was very spacious and clean. The bed looks out into the small outdoor terrace and the plunge pool. A little bit disappointed at the plunge pool I would say as the front was totally covered by plants and trees and offered no views towards the ocean. If these were planted thinking about privacy then I have to say this was not given enough thoughts as the side of the terrace gives unobstructed views to the plunge pool in the villa next door and guests from the first floor also have unobstructed view of the plunge pool from their balcony.

The TV was also situated in a way where if you start watching it from the bed one of the bed posts would be in the way. The best view of the TV would be from the day bed which most likely could only fit one person comfortably. Bathroom amenities were great and very spacious.

I didn't get to try all of the restaurants as I only stayed for two nights. I had a late lunch at the restaurant where they normally serve breakfast and the food was fine. I also had a dinner at the restaurant near the pool just underneath the huge fountain with the Chinese horoscopes. The food there was quite a bit better and there were more choices of Western menu. If you don't mind walking you could go walk over to the Hilton hotel next door which would be about a 10 minute walk through the beach and the gardens connecting the hotels. There are a few more restaurants there which are slightly better priced.

The resort area is actually quite large and while possible on foot it might be better to ask the staff to take you around on the buggy first. Our villa was situated near the spa and the fitness centre so was a bit further from the beach and nearer to the reception area. As you walk down from the reception area down towards the beach you notice that there are quite a few fountains and gardens right in the middle of the resort leading down to the pool. Once you get to the pool, which is disappointingly, is the only pool in the resort you get a panoramic view of the ocean and also the private beach. The pool was not huge but actually quite comfortable and chill on a sunny afternoon.

If I were to come back here again I would have probably booked myself into a pool villa just for extra privacy. I was actually offered for an upgrade at a discounted price during check in but I decided it was not necessary, which I later regretted. I didn't get to use much of the plunge pool due to this and as I was walking towards the beach numerous times noticed that the pool villas were not only much bigger but seem to have extra privacy as you own the whole villa to yourself.

Also it really depends what the purpose of your stay at Sanya is. Haitang Bay is a much quieter area and offers much more resort facilities and no local attractions you can go in nearby areas. We went for seafood in a local market which was quite cheap and good quality food but the taxi ride was about 30-40 minutes with minimal traffic. But for a quiet getaway, I think the Conrad would definitely be a decent choice if you pick the right villa during your stay.

Room Tip: Try to pick a villa closer to the beach and pool as the ones near the reception area are quite far a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edmund H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markus K, General Manager at Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for staying and sharing your experience with us!

I am delightful to know that you were satisfied with your stay. We aim to deliver Conrad service of highest quality and make guests feel “the luxury of being yourself”.

The restaurant mentioned underneath the Chinese Zodiac is called Senses which offers delicate Mediterranean cuisine. We offer 4 types of Paellas, which are the best selling dishes.

Our Villas offer more privacy and a larger pool and sun deck, all good value for money. We look forward for your next visit and maybe you can try one of our Villas.

Looking forward for your next visit and to welcoming you back!

Best regards,

Markus Kosch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

I'm HHonnors Diamond. This property has great installations, great pool villa. Service is naive and amateur, with a few staff exceptions. We got insects in juices and food in 2 occasions: when ordering room service and going to Pacific Restaurant. Problem is that you need to "follow up" on everything you want right, which is not supposed to be needed in a 5 star hotel. By the way, one star should be removed, 4 stars would be the right rating.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Matteucci-Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markus K, General Manager at Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Mr. & Mrs. Matteucci,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience regarding your recent stay with us. We are sorry to learn the disappointing experience that you encountered in at our F&B outlets. Please know that we have rectified this and can ensure this will not be a repeatable situation. We hope you will accept our sincerest apologies for all the inconveniences that this has caused during your stay.

Moreover, we highly appreciate your comments as it is only through feedback like this that we are able to continually monitor and improve both our products and quality of services. Thank you for being a loyal HHonors Diamond Member and we truly hope you will be able to return to us so that we can deliver our promised service.

Thank you again for your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again in our stunning beachfront resort!

Best regards,

Markus Kosch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Hedong
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
Banyan Tree Sanya
#9 of 1,356 in Sanya
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yalong Bay
Hilton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort & Spa
Yalong Bay
The Ritz-Carlton Sanya, Yalong Bay
Haitang Bay
Wanda Vista Resort Sanya
Wanda Vista Resort Sanya
#53 of 1,356 in Sanya
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay

Address: North Haitang Road, Haitang Bay Resort, Sanya 572000, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hainan > Sanya > Haitang Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sanya
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sanya
#25 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
#26 Spa Hotel in Sanya
#55 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
Price Range: £185 - £445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinguished by its contemporary architecture styled on the French Riviera, Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay features 92 luxurious villas and rooms overlooking the blue ocean, set in a secluded haven, surrounded by tropical gardens. Upon check-in guests are ensured of an unforgettable arrival experience with unbeatable tropical views. Our friendly Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay Team provides each guest with dedicated professional and personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay Hotel Sanya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing