We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury villa in the Hawaii of the East”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay
Ranked #26 of 1,329 Hotels in Sanya
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Luxury villa in the Hawaii of the East”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

A lot of thought went into choosing our final destination as we wanted a resort that offered all of the summer pre-requisites like pools, beach access and lots of places to relax but wasn’t overly large and crowded. We had to head out to Haitang Bay (which is by no means downtown Sanya City) but boy did this property deliver.

We arrived late in the evening into Sanya Airport and the hubby decided that a little luxury was in order so he arranged for one of the hotel’s Bentley cars to collect us from the airport and whisk us to the hotel’s reception. Upon our arrival we were immediately greeted with Hawaiian Lays and shuttled to our villa where the check in processes was finalised and we were showed around the features of the room. My immediate impressions (despite it being very dark outside at this time) were WOW. The four posted bed, lush marble bathroom huge with gold fittings and tropical garden aspect and huge living space all screamed French classics despite our mainland China location.

The ensuing days went pretty much to schedule; wake up to the drawn curtains letting in the warming sun and allowing me to look out upon our private courtyard and swimming pool, hop directly to what is (without any hesitation) the best breakfast buffet of any hotel I have ever been to (think all of the usual offerings you would find at a buffet then add daily western and Chinese specials cooked to order as well as the freshest juices and tropical fruits and even a whole coconut), hop to the main pool by the beach and lounge around in the sun (we preferred this pool over the hotel’s other main pool which was more covered less conformable), head up to the main reception area for afternoon tea (complimentary for villa staying guests) and enjoy the hotels stunning view of Haitang Bay, back to the pool, back to the main reception area for evening drinks and canapés (complimentary for villa staying guests), then head out for dinner. In between, we managed to laze around our private pool and utilize our free mini-bar on the villa patio, use the hotel's complimentary shuttle to head into Sanya City, grab lunch/dinner and desserts at the hotel’s (and the adjoining sister property – the Hilton) numerous food and beverage outlets and generally RELAX!

In the end it was the small details that won me over (the various comfortable seating options around the hotels pool, the friendly service we received all of the food and beverage outlets, the inflatable pool toys that came with our villa and the over-the-top amount of sandstone that is used through the resorts grounds) that lead me to the conclusion that this was the best resort we stayed out anywhere in our trip in China (and one of the best we have stayed at anywhere in the world).

For photos of the hotel, please visit my travel blog:
http://dolcebunnie.blogspot.com.au/2014/08/conrad-sanya-sanya-china.html

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DolceBunnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    37
    17
    3
    8
See reviews for
69
62
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

start my trip with my family around May, we are pleased to stay Conrad HOTEL,becasue her professional hotel guest service to guests, and have enough entainment facilities at hotel ,sush as outdoor swimming pool, kids falcilities, special restaurant, and beutiful view looking at sea beach at guestroom. and we will continue our next trip at Conrad and will recommond my friends to enjoy unforgettable nights at hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacky g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markus K, General Manager at Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Jacky,

Thank you for taking time sharing your experiences on your recent stay with us.

I am so delightful to read that you like our facilities and restaurants. Your feedback is highly appreciated which I will definitely share with the team!

Looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Sincerest Regards,

Markus Kosch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Gorgeous property, beach is super. Food was okay pastry and croissants it was clear they had a European chef. Rooms are stunning and monstrous. Senior staff are well experienced and dedicated. The rest of the staff are friendly but like china they still need a bit of work, but nothing major.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pahiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markus K, General Manager at Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Pahiki,

It was a pleasure meeting you while staying in our hotel. Thank you very much for taking time to share your experiences on your stay with us. It is always pleasing to hear when guests in general enjoy a relaxing stay with us.

Thank you for your nice comments. Your positive comments will certainly motivate the entire team in our aim to strive for excellence and also, your suggestions will be taken and we will improve accordingly

I look forward in meeting you again on your next visit!

Best regards,

Markus Kosch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Currently staying here on our last day, we felt compelled to write our first Tripadvisor review ever. Being rather spoiled travelers with an average of 90 nights a year in luxury hotels, we thought we had experienced it all.

We couldn't have been more wrong. From the moment of our hotel car airport pickup, with cold towels, a choice of in car music and chilled water, until the breakfast we are having right now, we fell from one amazement into another. The arrival in the beautiful open air lobby, the resort built out of exquisite Australian sandstone, private check-in at the villa with it's private garden, pool, sun loungers, and cabana with dining room table. It has just been perfect!

The well appointed villa interior itself looks stunning. The famous high-end Conrad bedding drifts you away into dreamland before you can blink an eye. The large bathroom has crystal chandeliers, a huge bath tub and gold-plated taps, a large rain shower, and two wash basins with big mirrors. To ensure spa like experiences, the range of amenities is extensive with the option of choosing from three different luxury brands of bathing products. The walk-in closet features the smartest room safe we have ever seen. It's a box with a lid that opens at the top. No more bending or stretching to look into safe that is pitch dark inside, making finding your things a challenge. At night time the villa's garden and pool change into a fairy tale scenery with designated soft lighting.

We didn't get out of the resort, except for a cycling trip. The place is just too beautiful and relaxing. It is located in the newly developed Haitang Bay Area, which means that kilometers of unspoiled beaches await you there. The beach side pool is enormous with many single & double sun beds. Most of the guest are from China and during the warm summer days they often prefer to stay in their accommodations, leaving most of the entire resort to only a few guests.

Swimming in the giant beach pool with just a few is quite an experience. The same goes for the resort's spotlessly clean private beach area. The facilities offer everything you can expect from a Conrad Resort, including beautiful landscaping with palm trees, frangipani trees, many different flowers, fountains and secluded areas equipped with double sun beds. Just peace and quit with the occasional humming of golf carts driving around the resort transporting guests around the grounds. Golf cart service is available with the touch of a designated button on the in room phone. Nature lovers will enjoy the resort since many species of birds and butterflies are year round guests.

Conrad guests are also entitled to use all facilities from the Doubletree by Hilton next door. If you travel with kids, using their facilities can be an option, since their pools have water slides and an on ground kids club.

We are loyal guests to the Hilton Group and Diamond members of their HHonors Loyalty Program. Therefore we prefer to use hotels within their portfolio. Again this resort sets new standards in the recognition of HHonors guests. Wine & tropical fruits on arrival, with the fruits replenished every other day. A daily surprise HHonors dish at breakfast, which we have never ever experienced at any other Hilton property in the world.

Villa guests are offered free use of the mini bar with soft drinks, juices, beers, cookies and crisps. Furthermore two pieces of free laundry per person per day. A free afternoon high tea tea and free evening cocktails with canapés are served at the stylish Vue Lounge, overlooking the grounds and the South China Sea.

The resort also has a spa that my wife used. Being a bit a a spa expert, she concluded that the services offers were excellent and the facility spotless and well appointed. A small gym with basic facilities is also available. The spa sometimes offers special discounts for a two hour package.

Sorry to rave on, but also the housekeeping department deserves to be mentioned. Full and extensive room cleaning in the morning, all to the highest possible international standards. A daily pool & garden cleaning service, a full turndown service, with another lovely daily surprise, such as cookies, pastries or nuts. Bottled water is supplied in more than sufficient quantities.

The other thing that makes this resort so unique is the staff. Friendly, accommodating, pro-active and enthusiastic. Complaints about the level of English, as written in other reviews, is something we have not encountered. Visiting China sometimes means that one has to slow down a little bit in tempo of speech. The staff tries so incredibly hard to assist in every way and their English is still many times better then our Mandarin or Cantonese.

We have used all restaurants and had lovely diners of very high quality, all with excellent staff. The Conrad offers the following restaurants: Teatro (Asian & International), Senses (Spanish & Mediterranean), Le Chine (excellent Chinese cuisine), Pacifica (anything from land or sea that can be grilled). Often prices of wines can be quite steep in China, but this resort has a wide selection of very good wines for reasonable prices (starting at 150RMB per bottle + 15% service charge).

The Doubletree by Hilton has a buffet restaurant with an big collection of hot & cold Western and Asian options and small lunch and late afternoon restaurant named Noodle Box, with a full range of noodle soups and a small Chinese salad bar. For in between snacks, the Splash pool bar offers sandwiches, snacks and fresh juices and smoothies.

The management team of the resort goes to every possible length to assist. We had a small issue with the electricity in our villa, which resulted in a complete team of engineers showing up within 10 minutes to solve the problem. The Front Office Manager, Patricia Chu, together with General Manager Markus Kosch are constantly checking up on their guests to make sure that all is perfect. These managers and all their team members embody the true meaning of the word "hospitality", it has been a privilege being their guests!

The only complaint we could possible think of, is that we have to leave tomorrow, but that is entirely our own fault!

Room Tip: The resort offers standard hotel rooms, rooms with a private plunge pool, garden view pool villa'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HJRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markus K, General Manager at Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Conrad focuses on being at the forefront of providing the best service possible. We do this by creating an atmosphere that will allow our guests the luxury of being themselves and it seems that after your weeklong stay with us we have succeeded in establishing just that! Rest assured that the team members that you have mentioned here as well as in person will be recognized accordingly.

It was a pleasure to have met you both during your stay with us and I am so very happy to hear that you both were able to enjoy every aspect of our property. We are definitely looking forward to having you experience our hospitality on your next visit!

Sincerest Regards,

Markus Kosch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Just stayed at the Conrad, Staff friendly and helpful. Had a great room and what I saw of the resort (working most of the time) was very good. in good condition and gardens excellent. a little dark going back to the room at night. Food was good especially when you consider that 90%+ on are non western guests. I would love to come back and have a chance to relax.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ikjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markus K, General Manager at Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest ,

Thank you so very much for your feedback. Although we are considered a resort and most of our guests are here on vacation, we will never forget our guests on business as well! I am so very happy to hear that you were still able to enjoy your stay with us with your busy schedule and I hope in the near future you will have an opportunity to enjoy the luxury of being yourself.

Looking forward to your return!

Sincerest Regards,

Markus Kosch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

I have been travelling the world on business for 35 years now and believe that this hotel is the best in terms of accommodation and service that I have come across.

The hotel was designed and built to be a Waldorf Astoria which gives you some idea of the luxury of the accommodation. It is branded as a Conrad (don’t get it confused with the DoubleTrees next door). Markus, the General Manager (an 18 year veteran of Hilton in China) and Patricia, Front Office Manager with her background in Waldorf Astoria ensures that the service is consistently impeccably good.

I spent 10 nights in the hotel with three others in July 2014 which allowed me to observe the quality of the service and staff over an extended period, most other guests seemed to spend 2 or 3 nights in the hotel. On an annual basis, some 80% of guests are from Mainland China and during peak period of Oct to Feb, almost all the other guests are Russian (there seemed to be more signs in Russian than English in Sanya town). European guests tend to visit this hotel as part of a tour of China; we were unique in that we had travelled specifically to the hotel.

Accommodation – luxurious, immaculately clean, excellent state of repair. Our villa was so clean it would put some hospital operating theatres to shame. It was consistently cleaned to this very high standard. I particularly liked the channels on the in-house television system which turned the large LCD television into a picture frame displaying high definition ‘images’ of beach, cityscapes, sports etc. Each day the villa, pool and grounds were checked to ensure that the work had been done to the correct standard; the management of this hotel don’t take chances, they check and check again to ensure that things are being done correctly.

Food – our group of 4 each have very different food preferences and tastes but no matter which of the hotels restaurants we dined in, we each left the table completely and utterly delighted with what we had eaten and the way it had been presented. Elain does an excellent job of working with the chefs to ensure that each and every meal (remember we could observe this over a 10 night period) is a delight.

Language – we are all English speakers and had zero problems with language. From the senior management down to front line supervisors, they all have excellent English. On one occasion (during a 10 night stay) a junior server couldn’t understand what we were asking for, seconds later an English speaking supervisor was at our side offering assistance.

Service – we hired a vehicle and driver from the hotel on three occasions, excellent value for money but it was the extra touches that delighted me eg we were given the business cards of two excellent English speaking staff in case we wanted to know anything while out with the driver; wifi was installed in the vehicle in case we wanted to use the internet while outside the hotel; the driver stayed with us and ensured that we enjoyed our trips. Another example of the attention to detail is that one of our group took a mini banana from the room to put on their cereal (the breakfast buffet had large bananas); and yes the next morning and for the rest of our stay there were mini bananas in the breakfast buffet.

The staff are constantly seeking to ensure that each guest have a magnificent stay and it is this attention to detail that makes this hotel and it’s service so good.

Conclusion – I have stayed in luxury hotels in many parts of the world but the ‘experience’ that Markus and Patricia have put together at the Conrad Sanya is the best that I have come across. If it was the Olympics they would have scored ‘a perfect 10’.

Room Tip: All the rooms are villas and of excellent quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank airtravelerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markus K, General Manager at Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest –

To be the “Best Hotel in 35 Years of Travel” is the kind of experience we strive for on a daily basis. It was truly a pleasure to meet you and your wife during your stay with us and of course the feedback you have given to us through out your stay was invaluable! We also thank you for being a loyal HHonors member as well.

I am so happy to hear that you were able to fully experience not only the local culture of Sanya and a few of its historic attractions, but that you were able to enjoy what our hotel has to offer as well! Hopefully you have gained enough rest and relaxation before heading back home to the UK.

Please rest assured that all team members that you have mentioned on your TripAdvisor as well as during your stay will be recognized! We are looking forward to your next return!

Sincerest Regards,

Markus Kosch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We recently enjoyed what can only be described as the most perfect beach holiday during our 10 night stay here in July 2014. From the minute we arrived until our departure we can honestly say we were treated like royalty. I can understand other reviewers concerns regarding a lack of English speaking staff but this was not our experience - the majority of staff we encountered had good English, much better than my Cantonese I must say! The hotel, and I must particularly mention front office manager Patricia, went that extra mile when we sought their advice for interesting places to visit locally, even permitting their driver to stay with us during a tour of Sanya to ensure our enjoyment. We dined in all the on site restaurants and particularly enjoyed Teatra and Senses but we also enjoyed authentic cuisine in La Chine. House keeping was flawless in or King Ocean Villa with the small touches of complimentary mini bar and pastries at turn down were nice. Afternoon tea and evening cocktails in the Vue lounge with a South China Sea sunset rounded off our days. All in all we have no hesitation in recommending the Conrad Sanya for a relaxing beach resort after the hustle and bustle of Hong Kong.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuart m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markus K, General Manager at Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Mr. Stuart –

It was truly a pleasure to have met you and your wife during your recent stay and to have hosted you for your 10-nights.

Your honest feedback given throughout your stay and your feedback now is highly appreciated. Please be assured that we will recognize all team members that you and your wife have mentioned to us throughout your stay!

Looking forward to meeting you again in the near future and hopefully you will be able to play a full round of golf instead of just 9 holes!

Sincerest Regards,

Markus Kosch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Hedong
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
#2 of 1,329 in Sanya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yalong Bay
The Ritz-Carlton Sanya, Yalong Bay
Banyan Tree Sanya
#13 of 1,329 in Sanya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay

Property: Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay
Address: Haitang Road, Haitang Bay Resort, Sanya 572000, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hainan > Sanya > Haitang Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sanya
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sanya
#24 Spa Hotel in Sanya
#25 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
#56 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay Hotel Sanya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing