We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Séjour incroyable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa
Ranked #15 of 1,341 Hotels in Sanya
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Séjour incroyable”
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed at the Renaissance for a week. The hotel is amazing. One of the most beautiful I've ever seen. Pools everywhere, amazing breakfast, a spa and gym perfect. The beach is very quiet and very pretty compared to the rest of the island. The staff is amazing too. We have been particularly satisfied by the great work, kindness and availability of Irina Litvinenko.
A place to recommend!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    164
    56
    18
    11
See reviews for
207
103
29
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Had a long weekend here from Hong Kong in early September. Wasn't sure what to expect - Sanya is one of those places I have been meaning to try but without being convinced it was worth the effort. I went for a girlie weekend and had a great time - we didn't leave the hotel once. The pool is fabulous and is very underused, especially during the day as I don't think the mainland tourists (which is most of the guest list) are that keen on swimming. The common areas of the hotel are extremely well done and we tried - and enjoyed - all the restaurants. Starfish and Star Anise deserve a special mention as being very well done with excellent food. Red Star Cafe breakfast was a bit of a scrum, I didn't like the room layout and somehow the food wasn't as good as I might have expected, but still 4/5 stars. English isn't always great - but you can't really object as 90% of the clientele are Mandarin speakers and in any case there was also someone nearby who did speak it - they have several non-PRC senior staff there who were obliging. Also, in any case, the staff are always friendly and we really didn't have any problems communicating with a smile. We had massage and manicures. My massage was one of the best I have had and my manicure and pedicure lasted very well - it was incredibly carefully done. Rooms were well apppointed - we basically had a double bed each in our "twin" bedded room - and we had a nice view over the entrance area where there is a landscaped water feature area. The beach was very clean and at the moment there is no development either side (in contrast to some other bays in Sanya), so to me the whole experience was really like being in Thailand. I will definitely come back here, ideally with hubby. The only reason I am marking it down is because I think there are SOME service issues. Check in was a bit disorganised - lots of running around but not a lot of action. It would have been nice to have staff come over to the pool loungers and ask if we wanted drinks. This happened once, but we were sitting quite close to the bar at the time - it's a big pool area and they don't hunt you out. One morning we noticed the waste bin by our lounger was full of rubbish from the day before. The common areas on the way down to the rooms are looking a bit chipped and battered in places, the shower floor was a bit "tired" and the loo flush didn't work brilliantly - not the sort of thing one might usually criticise but not up to international Renaissance standards - I suspect they have a build quality and workmanship problem that is difficult to overcome in China. Will recommend and will come back - but go before the entire strip is developed and serenity is ruined for ever!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FSHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

While we may not want to return to Sanya city in the near future, if we do not then it would only be for the resort. Big plus is that staff understands English.. what a relief !!

We are a couple with full day tiring jobs and look for pampering resorts when it comes to resort vacations.
This resort fulfill all your requirements - from lovely suites (yes we were upgraded to acknowledge our Marriott membership), never ending beautiful pool that you cannot get tired of, lovely private beach, lovely garden with beds to relax in..
Food was served not only in restaurant, lobby, room but even on the beach and in gardens. Food was customized as we wanted and the breakfast buffet was great.

5 nights of absolute bliss and pampering !!

Thanks Renaissance staff ! (Specially Sudeep Menon)

Room Tip: Ask for 100% sea facing rooms, which they are in the farthest wing but worth the extra 5 minutes of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdmundHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We had the most amazing break at this resort in May 2012, as a 4 day extension to a Hong Kong getaway. It was so easy to relax and enjoy all the facilities of the resort, we didn't want to leave!!

Our days were spent sleeping in, then enjoying a lazy breakfast at one of the largest breakfast buffets I have seen. Spending time by the pool or in the beachside cabanas the attendants were sure to check in with us and provide cold water and towels. Lunch and a great cocktail selection in the Star Fish Bar was casual either inside, outside or at the swim up bar.

We tried three different restaurants for dinner, with the favourite being the seafood platter in the Star Fish market. The service was attentive and friendly, even helping us break open our crab claws when we couldn't manage it.

There was no need to leave the resort as it is well equipped for activities, we played pool in the games room but ran out of time to try the tenpin bowling!! Movies, a gym, yoga, Wii and Xbox games areas are all available for those who need more entertainment. An afternoon of pampering at the day spa on our last day was well worth it, and ensured we went home relaxed. With all these activities we hardly spent any time in our room, but it was very spacious with two queen beds and a big bathroom (great shower head!!)

I think this is a new destination for Australians to visit if they are looking for a resort holiday, only an hour's flight from Hong Kong it is easy to get to and I will be heading back when I next need a relaxing break.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hgeorge76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

If you want to escape the concrete jungle and relax on the beach for a few days - look no further! This must be one of China's best kept secrets. Definitely had the wow factor from arrival to departure. Beautiful hotel (only 18 months old), never ending pools, nice clean beach (no hawkers - hurray!!), and the best cocktails in China (especially the ones in the lobby and poolside water bar)! The staff were amazing - especially Qwincy, Jeff, Sudeep and Jenny! They went out of their way to make us feel welcome, comfortable and valued customers. The breakfast buffet was on par with other Renaissance hotels - i.e. out of this world, but it did get a bit crowded around the 10:00am rush hour and there were a few guests of a neighboring nationality that shall remain nameless, who did prefer to use their elbows rather than queue up. We went in August and it was quiet but that's exactly what we wanted. The weather was rainy on one day and beautiful on the other two days (around +35C). It’s about 45min from the airport and they put on 3 shuttle busses per day. Other than the hotel there didn’t seem to be much else nearby but who cares - the hotel has amazing restaurants and bars so if you are not here for the sightseeing then this place is perfect. If you do want stretch your legs, they have bikes and a free bus into town! Bottom line - loved it. Already planning our next visit!

Room Tip: Worth spending a little extra for the ocean view. Ground floor, ocean view rooms lead directly to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alek815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2012

My family and I have just returned from an eleven night stay at this beautiful beachfront resort. The resort surpassed our expectations in terms of aesthetically beauty, well maintained private beach, immaculately landscaped gardens, seriously large swimming pools and extensive facilities. The pool includes many areas, different pool depths to accommodate all preferences (from toddlers to lap swimming adults), water slides, spa baths, water jets, night features of underwater color changing fairy lights and a kidswater activities and play centre (under construction).

The hotel staff went above and beyond to cater to our every request, all staff were very friendly and the hotel appeared to be managed very efficiently and effectively. Good variety of food from the three different styles of restaurants, which we felt catered well for the children as well as the adults. We ate at the resort almost every meal and enjoyed both the quality of the cuisine and the reasonable price of the food. The room and its facilities were immaculate, as was the staff servicing them, their attention to detail and frequency of the servicing.

The most extensive and well catered breakfast buffet we have ever experienced in 20 years of travel, included in the price of the room. Chefs from breakfast through to our evening dinners endeavoured to say hello and enquire (even if only briefly) as to how we were enjoying our meal. They appeared eager to please and accommodate reasonable requests we made.

With bountiful kids club activities every day, many sporting facilities, bars, free return shuttles to and from town, spa/health centre, gym, movie & games centre etc. the extent of your enjoyment was only limited by your imagination and attitude. Hotel cars and local taxis made it easy to travel to local attractions (numerous golf courses and local hot springs).

Our stay in Sanya was only one leg of a larger holiday, but it was without doubt the stand out highlight of our trip. It was the most enjoyable family holiday accommodation we (my wife, three kids under 10 and I) have ever experienced.

We would be keen to return to the Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa soon as possible and have already recommended this resort to many friends and family. Big thanks to Becker, Alan, Micheal Lee, Andrew (breakfast chef), the Marriott ambassadors (Irena and Susie) and the General Manager - Sean.

We hope to see you all again soon!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We had a week at the Renaissance Sanya Resort and Spa, mid July. Sean and his team exceeded our expectations. Right from the moment we arrived we were treated with nothing but pleasant, helpful and friendly staff who would go the extra mile for us. The food and service was sensational. The resort itself is beautiful and easy to get around.The grounds are immaculate. Fantastic staff in the Kids Club, our daughter wanted to go there every day. Great water slides for the kids to play on. To lay in a cabana right by the beach, and feel the clean fresh air off the sea, was a real treat, especially as we live in Beijing ! Both my husband and I agree we would not hesitate to return to this resort. Also not to forget, the accommodation was very very comfortable, clean, modern and spacious.

Room Tip: if you have a family of more than 1 child, the villas are a perfect option
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KBBSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Hedong
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
#3 of 1,341 in Sanya
941 reviews
Yalong Bay
The Ritz-Carlton Sanya, Yalong Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Herton Seaview Hotel
#169 of 1,341 in Sanya
96 reviews
Yalong Bay
Sanya Marriott Yalong Bay Resort & Spa
Club Med Sanya
#2 of 1,341 in Sanya
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa

Property: Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa
Address: No.1 Yezhou Road, Haitang Bay, Sanya 572000, China
Region: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sanya
#5 Family Hotel in Sanya
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sanya
#8 Business Hotel in Sanya
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
#14 Spa Hotel in Sanya
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
#17 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 508
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa, a Marriott lifestyle brand. Explore the spectacular tropical landscaping and pristine beaches with incredible sunsets. Relax and rejuvenate at our exquisite resort & spa located at Haitang Bay on the South China Sea, where Guest rooms offer a choice of breathtaking ocean or equally stunning mountain views. Enjoy the various culinary delights within the resort. Red Star offers international cuisine and evening seafood & BBQ Buffet, where during the winter, the hot pot selection is also available. Star Anise offers Cantonese cuisine complimented by selection of cuisines from various parts of China. While Starfish Market presents Grill & BBQ selection during the weekend & public holidays. For those seeking a venue to chill out before & after dinner. Visit the Lounge at the Lobby with Live music daily from 2130 (Except Sunday) or share your musical talent at R-Place, our sports bar with Karaoke rooms. To rejuvenate your body and spirit, visit our Quan Spa featuring massages and treatments. Other amenities include the fitness centre, kids' pool with slide, R-kids' club with many recreational activities including bowling alleys. Not forgetting our huge swimming pools, where you can always find a quiet spot to relax. Our event facilities feature an exquisite grand ballroom that accommodates 900+ dinner guests and the lawn for 300+ dinner guests. Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa has the advantage of accessible beach to swim in Haitang Bay. It is only 15 minutes drive to the World's largest duty free mall at the bay by our complimentary shuttle bus and 45 minutes drive directly to the airport. MARRIOTT REWARDS PRIVILEGES Members get extensive discounts & special prices in the restaurants & bars, recreation and spa including all day happy hour drinks in the Lounge & Starfish Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Sanya Resort And Spa
Renaissance Sanya Hotel Sanya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing