We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super brilliant property” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 1,327 Hotels in Sanya
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Super brilliant property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

What an utterly brilliant property the Sanya Renaissance is. Loved the whole architecture and the wide open spaces in the property. We had been upgraded to an Ocean View Studio Suite which was fantastic. Loved the balcony attached to it and the super awesome bath tub too!

Breakfast was lovely with plenty of Asian and Western options. We dined mostly in the hotel restaurant's choosing not to step out. Food was delish and the beach was lovely. Mostly the beach remained out of bounds due to strong waves but was super all the same.

I seem to have used a whole lot of adjectives in this review but really the hotel deserved it and more!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KittyKaht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    162
    52
    15
    11
See reviews for
197
100
25
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

We wanted to get away and celebrate my wife's 30th birthday somewhere special with our 8 month old daughter.

From the moment we were picked up at the airport we knew we had made the right decision. We arrived to a very friendly greeting from the staff and we very quickly checked in and taken to our room. In fact our little girl had her first swim within about half an hour of us getting to this beautiful resort.

Sean the GM welcomed us personally and we were lucky to spend time with him and his family during our stay.

As we explored around the resort we found the most amazing pool we have ever seen and a very nice beach also which we appreciated very much as in Shanghai the beach is not really an option.

The breakfast was very good and after our first day the staff knew that we had some special requests, we didn't even have to ask the following days. Being new parents the kids club was never something we had been interested in before but I doubt there are many better. Whilst still a bit young to enjoy it all at 8 months there was still plenty of sights and sounds to keep her amused.

As far as the dining options go;

Red Star Cafe - we only did breakfast here and not the other meals but can imagine that they were amazing because the breakfast was fantastic, the highlight without doubt was the Hainan twist on Eggs Benedict which was absolutely beautiful

Star Anise the Chinese restaurant was lovely, we had take way from there an ate it in the villa several times

Star Fish Market - we dined here for my wife's 30th birthday and had a wonderful night.

We also had some drinks at the Star Fish Bar and if we didn't have the baby with us I am sure we would have spent some afternoons lazing in the pool bar there.

The rooms were very well appointed and clean, and although the room service missed a couple of things it was still great service. The villa had its own pool and beautiful outdoor bed that we also enjoyed.

We went and checked out R Place the arcade and games area and whilst too young for our kid there were plenty of older kids enjoying it.

We would go back to the resort without doubt and we would highly recommend it to couples as well as families. Even though we were told a couple of nights were fully booked due to the vast area the resort covers it never really felt very crowded.

Room Tip: We decided to lash out and stay in one of the Villa's and it felt like home immediately. We didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

This is a very comfortable hotel with very spacious tastefully decorated rooms and big bathrooms. The architecture is Thai in nature and the lobby is huge. The pool is gigantic and supposed to be the biggest in China, stretching from one end of the hotel to another, with white sandy beach just in front. The gardens are very tropical with many palm and coconut trees and a lovely luscious lawn.

The front desk staff members are very friendly and try their best to communicate in English but most other staff's English is minimum so communicating was a bit frustrating at times. However, they were very helpful and accommodating.

There are many food and beverage outlets here and I thoroughly recommend the Lobby Lounge for Happy Hour and light food. The view is breathtaking and the staff are extremely friendly (especially Qwincy, Gloria, Jeff and Nikki) and made it a point to address us by our names.

The bathrooms could have been cleaner when we first checked in and even though the property is only about a year old, the furnishing and fixtures looked a bit tired. There are no other properties nearby and no other dining options so it limited our experience. On the whole, it was a pleasant stay and very children-friendly.

After some hiccups regarding the room type,

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Punamdemanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

6 stars: the pool and staff.
Pool is huge and beautiful, with nice lighting during the evening, jacuzzi's, great children area with slides.
Staff is very friendly and thoughtful.
5 stars: accommodation and beach.
Rooms are luxurious and spacious. Restaurants are great, lobby beautiful. Beach is clean and enough area to sunbathe.

Advice anybody who goes to Sanya to book this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dusault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

I was blown away by this hotel! Having received a recommendation, my expectations were high so to have them exceeded was a delight.

The facilities are fabulous and made travelling with a child a dream. The kids pool, waterslides and splash park were a hit with our son. And the huge swim-up bar a hit with us parents!

You are spoilt for choice for food with excellent western (as in western western, not chinese western) and chinese cuisines available. And the wine lists are extensive with great Aussie and NZ picks.

What made it the most enjoyable stay though were the staff. Both the management and staff make a superb effort to entertain, accommodate and generally engage you which we found really pleasant.

Get a lagoon room to step out into the pool or a high-floor to enjoy the view of the resort at night and the ocean at day.

Loved this resort!

Room Tip: Get a lagoon room to step out into the pool or a high-floor to enjoy the view of the resort at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

Forget Yalong Bay - this is the pick of places to go in Sanya!

We are based in Beijing and booked a last-minute holiday here when other plans fell through. We spent 6 days here over the October holidays with our 3 children - 5,7, and 8 - and another family and and couldn't have asked for amore relaxing, easy and perfect family holiday.

We'd been to Sanya 5 years previously and stayed at one of the resorts in Yalong Bay which had been an ok cookie-cutter experience so we had medium expectations. But from the moment we arrived, everything was perfect. This is a beautiful hotel on a lovely beach with great airy rooms, fabulous service, and good food options.

From the airport we took a 200 rmb taxi from the airport and were at the hotel within 30 minutes. The lobby has a big, breezy open plan with views across the a mass of swimming pools and out to the ocean. The hotel is brilliantly laid out withe a staggering array of pools and a surprisingly good beach all within steps of each other. The lay out is extremely kid friendly - very easy to relax while keeping an eye on kids in safe surrounds - and means that none of the pools or beach ever gets crowded. It was easy to spend the whole day wandering from beach to pool to cabana and back again. Snacks were great and easy to have by the pool, in one of the restaurants or in-room. A great breakfast buffet open until 11am and a good, reasonably priced kids menu also made feeding kids easy. The pool bar worked really well for dinner with friends and kids dipping in and out of the pool between courses. Heaps to keep kids entertained besides the beach and array of pools with a busy kids club and an older kids' arcade with bowling, air hockey, playstation and the rest - though the weather was fantastic so we only made it to the arcade once and never used the kids club.

We managed to score an upgrade to a villa with a private pool which was truly amazing but our friends were just as happy as us in their Ocean View rooms. All the staff were really helpful and friendly and the level of English was surprisingly high. Early check-in? No problem. Late check-out? No problem.

A very special mention and big thank you goes to Alan, the Rooms Director, who gave us his mobile number and went out of his way to make sure we had a holiday to remember - everything from first aid for a cut toe to milk for baby bottle to sunburn cream for sore noses arrived at our door within minutes of a quick sms. We loved the remote location away from the the strip of resorts along Yalong Bay and the fact that except for a long walk along the beach there was no reason to leave the resort.

We'll certainly be back and are already thinking about about our next trip.

Room Tip: If you book an ocean view room, make sure you ask for one with glass panelling, not brick - otherwis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gurgle70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deventer
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

This is really a beautiful place at the beach, especially if you have (small) children. They enjoy the beach, huge swimming pool (I have never seen a bigger swimming pool than here, I guess 25000 M2) and many many activities.
If you like to have dinner out of the hotel every day, don’t go here, it’s not possible, only with free shuttle bus to Sanya city which takes you about 45 minutes, or rent a car. Don’t rely on the place Google-maps shows you for this hotel, its 15 km more to the north.
Anyway, we had a perfect week here.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frans K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Hedong
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
#2 of 1,327 in Sanya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Yalong Bay
The Ritz-Carlton Sanya, Yalong Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yalong Bay
Sanya Marriott Yalong Bay Resort & Spa
Sheraton Sanya Resort
#20 of 1,327 in Sanya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa

Property: Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa
Address: No.1 Yezhou Road, Haitang Bay (Tufu Exit), Sanya 572000, China
Region: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Sanya
#5 Family Hotel in Sanya
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sanya
#8 Business Hotel in Sanya
#10 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
#11 Spa Hotel in Sanya
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 508
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa, a Marriott lifestyle brand. Explore the spectacular tropical landscaping and pristine beaches with incredible sunsets. Relax and rejuvenate at our exquisite resort & spa located at Haitang Bay on the South China Sea, where Guest rooms offer a choice of breathtaking ocean or equally stunning mountain views. Enjoy the various culinary delights within the resort. Red Star offers international cuisine and evening seafood & BBQ Buffet, where during the winter, the hot pot selection is also available. Star Anise offers Cantonese cuisine complimented by selection of cuisines from various parts of China. While Starfish Market presents Grill & BBQ selection during the weekend & public holidays. For those seeking a venue to chill out before & after dinner. Visit the Lounge at the Lobby with Live music daily from 2130 (Except Sunday) or share your musical talent at R-Place, our sports bar with Karaoke rooms. To rejuvenate your body and spirit, visit our Quan Spa featuring massages and treatments. Other amenities include the fitness centre, kids' pool with slide, R-kids' club with many recreational activities including bowling alleys. Not forgetting our huge swimming pools, where you can always find a quiet spot to relax. Our event facilities feature an exquisite grand ballroom that accommodates 900+ dinner guests and the lawn for 300+ dinner guests. Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa has the advantage of accessible beach to swim in Haitang Bay. It is only 15 minutes drive to the World's largest duty free mall at the bay by our complimentary shuttle bus and 45 minutes drive directly to the airport, MARRIOTT REWARDS MEMBERS get extensive discounts & benefits in the restaurants & bars, recreation and spa. All members can enjoy happy hour drinks at the Lounge, R-Place and selected meal periods. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia and Ctrip TA so you can book your Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Sanya Resort And Spa
Renaissance Sanya Hotel Sanya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing