We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Class destination.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa
Ranked #13 of 1,354 Hotels in Sanya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We have stayed at this wonderful resort a few times and it is always great to revisit. The standard was always high but I think it has got better as it has become established as a class destination.
The staff are very welcoming and remember you and the manager seems to be everywhere around the vast location and always keeping an eye on the place,
The Star Fish restaurant was our pick and always delivered.
Great place for the family and a real chance to relax.

Room Tip: Take a trip down to the Star Fish bar in the late afternoon with its swim-up bar and very friendly s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ozzie1830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (604)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

194 - 200 of 605 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

I stayed here with my family during the recent October holidays and were expecting to feel overwhelmed by crowds of people. I must say, we were pleasantly surprised at how good a job the hotel does of spreading out the guests!! Aside from the crowds at breakfast, we were hard pressed to spot the 1000+ guests during the days. The hotel has a beautiful pool that is enormous and allows for guests to be spread out nicely so that they are not on top of one another. We ate at a number of the different restaurants and were pleased with our food at all of them. We traveled there with our 5 year old and 3 year old and they LOVED the kiddy pools. They spend the balance of most of the days playing in the pools, going down the slides, and even spent and afternoon at the Kids Club. The view from our room was spectacular and I found it really hard to believe we were still in China. Having a lap pool was a big plus for me as I enjoy swimming as a work out. Equally as nice was their state of the art Gym, which if you go you have to yourself! The spa was very relaxing and had a great 1 hour massage. Prices are 5 star hotel prices. We ate room service one evening, which took 50 mins, but the food was hot when it arrived and quite good` - good value for the money. They have quite a good selection for kids on the kids menu and are a good value for money. I would agree that some of the other restaurants are a bit expensive for what you get. In general, we found the staff to be very friendly and responsive. Our room was clean and nicely decorated, however, we did also smell a musty smell, which i suspect is due to the humidity. There is no free wifi in the room, but if you join the Marriott rewards program, you can get it free in your room. All in all, I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone interested in heading to Sanya. It was a fabulous vacation and we can back to Beijing relaxed and regenerated from our vacation!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lundy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I stayed here with my family during the October holiday so we were prepared for crowds swarming the hotel but it ended up being ok. The only time we had to stand in line was during breakfast time when there were not enough empty tables.
Also, the restaurants were almost all fully booked for dinner (again we were there during the October holiday). We ended up ordering room service which came surprisingly fast and was reasonable priced.

Pros:
- Great place if you have small kids! Kiddy pools, attentive staff to the kids, kids room is wonderful!
- Staff is really friendly and attentive. So unlike China! They are very very well trained and I do hope they can keep up the good attitude.
- We also saw the GM pro-actively walking around and checking up on staff, food and greeting hotel guests. He has a heart for the place!
- Breakfast buffet is really worth your money
- Even though there were obviously lots of guests during the holiday, the pool and private beach were far from crowded.

Cons:
- We had some hick-ups during check-in (mix up between our name and a similar name of another guest). It took longer than anticipated for the reception staff to figure out the problem and we were told we didn't have a proper reservation. Quite frustrating, especially with a tired 3 year old clinging to our legs.
- The food in the restaurants is good yet over-priced and the food comes out a bit slow. There is literally nothing outside the hotel so you have no other option that the hotel restaurants.
- The cleanliness of the rooms is far from a 5 star hotel! We found hairs, dust and sand on our floors and around the bath tub. The room also had an unpleasant smell (humidity+ a smoker probably secretly lit a couple of cigarettes in our non-smoking room). That is really a pity!
- There is no free wifi in the room.

Room Tip: We opted for an ocean view room on the sixth floor and were very happy about it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin_Omma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Wonderful experience for all ages with plenty of activities for children and chill places for adults.
The children spent endless hours in the kids pools and RKids Club plus the RCade with bowling alley and other games.
We were welcomed and looked after the whole holiday by friendly and helpful serving staff as well as friendly 'hellos' from the gardening staff, despite English as their second language, which is to be expected in this part of the world.
Whilst the location was remote from external amenities the internal amenities were excellent, with lavish gardens, top restaurants from fine dining to casual and endless swimming pools.
Suggest you take insect repellent with you during summer as it did not seem to be available from the internal shops. A place to relax and unwind

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor with sweeping views of the resort and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We loved every minute at the Renaissance in Sanya. The grounds were perfectly manicured; providing the perfect serene setting to support the South East Asian beach feel. We thought we were in Vietnam or Thailand..not China. The service was great, food was over priced but pretty good quality. One bad burger was replaced with a free meal. One watch out...they try to charge by the hour for kids club (which is a joke; give this is free in every other resort). Negotiate to get it added free. BEST BREAKFAST at a hotel / resort EVER!

Room Tip: The twin rooms provide 2 proper double beds...comfortably enough for 4 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Galesloots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

After being treated terribly at Kempinsiki Haitang Bay after over night delayed flight arrived 6:30 early in the morning, with two young children, we have finally been warmly welcomed by The Renaissance!
Pros-
-Very friendly staff greeted with fruit punch and extremely friendly with children while we checks in.
- very considerate. we were soooo tired after the 8hours of delay in the airport. They were able to let us checked in to our room at 9:30am.
- great villa room! Very spacious, great layout for family with young children! They even have a mini kitchen with stoves and microwaves
- great dinner and breakfast buffet! Very tasty and great variety!
- Very responsible General Manager! I see him power-walking everywhere in the hotel! I see him at least 5 or more times per day! Checking on food, service, kids club etc......
- great pools! There's a lot of pools! Kids pool and waterslides are great! They also have a sandy baby pool area! The pool bar is another hit place with young kids! Perfect depth and can order food to eat and drink!
- great Kids Club! It's huge! Has a sand pit, outdoor playground, movie room, board game room, Nap room ( with cribs and a "car" bed), tent room, toy room, activity room..... Also with great staffs!
- very very caring staffs! I asked if they have aloe Vera coz my daughter got sun burned on her cheek where the operator said the hotel doesn't have any, but then I got a call 10mins later and said she found some in the office's pot plant. So we got couple slices from the pot plant!
- they were able to give us a very late check out at 5:30pm coz our flight was at 9:30pm!
- a lot of activities for kids!
- there are many detail things they do that makes you feel very well looked after!

Cons-
- cleanliness is one of the main downturns! Our room is generally clean but u just can't look closely! We got in changed toothbrush glasses, dempt towels on our towel rack, our villa deck weren't cleaned unless we asked them to.
- food serving was very slow at the Star Fish Bar. Average need to wait for 20-30mins for our food and some came cold.
- food variety it's a bit limited.it seems like the choices are very similar between the restaurants.
The kiddy pool and bar pool's water it's a bit dirty. Some places it's a bit slimy..... My son and i almost slipped in the ankle depth pool coz it was a bit slimy.
- the hotel can be a bit more well maintained.its still a young hotel but the villa has rusted areas and tear and wear here and there.

Anyways, overall we had a wonderful time! Their very caring and loving staffs made us feel very welcomed! Enjoyed it! We will come back again for sure but really hope the hotel can improve on their cleanliness and maintenance. Thank u Renaissance!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dwing8026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We traveled during Chinese National Holiday and were prepared to be crushed by tourists, but I was pleasantly surprised that the only time we really felt the onslaught was in the mornings at the breakfast buffet. I was shocked that I could spend one or two hours at a time in one of their pools and rarely - if at all - see another swimmer, and that I could still get a lounge chair at the beach.

Overall we were really pleased with the resort, the grounds, the facility and the staff (the friendly welcoming staff were refreshing if you're used to the standard Chinese customer service, which is usually sub par and unfriendly).

Room: We stayed in the deluxe room on the second floor. It was nonsmoking and we couldn't smell and traces of anyone having broken this rule. The room had a great balcony. The view was only trees, but we knew that this is what we would be getting. The 1st floor looked a little more convenient as they could walk out onto their patio and then on towards the pool. The room itself was only average levels of clean. There were corners in the bathroom that had grime, the table in the room had crumbs and whatnot from previous guests, the rug around the beds was old, worn and faded (in fact, we noticed little things like this throughout the hotel: dust around the chairs in the coffee shop, tattered seat cushions in the restaurant where you have breakfast - perhaps a little TLC is in order for the resort soon). All in all the room was clean, I didn't feel like I couldn't get under the covers, but it was just the little things that could have been cleaner.

Pros
- Breakfast buffet: Well worth the money, great selection and very good.
- Pools and beach: Beach was clean and not too busy with attentive staff and a nearby snack bar (for when you're in need of a coconut drink or some food). Pools were really, really great and beautiful with nice touches like jets and whirlpools throughout. Swim up bar at one of the restaurants. Towel stands all over the place.
- Concierge staff were great in helping to coordinate travel into Sanya or tourist sites.

Cons
- We had problems with the staff accidentally charging a card at check-in, not reversing a hold and not being able to provide a receipt that the hold was canceled upon checkout, which all took time out of our vacation to sort out. Staff were wonderfully friendly and apologetic, but it still left us with a bad taste in our mouths.
- While lobby/housekeeping/hotel staff were really, really great and friendly we found that some of the restaurant and shop staff reverted back to the Chinese standard of hospitality/customer service - ignoring us, needing to be told multiple times about orders or requests, etc. I live in Shanghai and am fairly used to being treated like this, but while on a relaxing beach vacation at an international hotel chain I, for some reason, expected better service. (In particular, I was perplexed by the staff in the shops who sat and watched loud Chinese dramas on their phones while you shopped. Not particularly relaxing.)
- Smoking in the lobby. The lobby is a giant, open air room which I guess leads people to believe they can smoke inside, but this was bothersome. Again, I've lived in China for awhile and I know that smoking is not as taboo as it is becoming in the West and smokers are not considerate, really, of non-smokers. But when I'm sitting on a sofa in the lobby and a man is sitting behind me smoking while staff walk by, I feel like that's unacceptable. The same thing happened at breakfast one morning. Again, it's a giant open air room, but it's still shouldn't be ok to smoke inside.
- If you're on a dining budget, don't come. There are something like four or five (maybe) restaurants, all fairly expensive and we found that the customer service was lacking a lot at most of them.
(One last note: One day the concierge arranged a car for us to Sanya. He recommended two restaurants, one of which was called Dolphin which we went to. Don't go. I don't think the hotel should recommend this place. It's some sort of American-style sports bar that's dark, smokey, shady customers and so-so food to boot - although the price is much cheaper than at the hotel. There must be better restaurants in Sanya).

Room Tip: If you're not choosing and ocean view room, choose a 1st floor room so you can walk right out to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlueLouLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Hedong
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
Yalong Bay
The Ritz-Carlton Sanya, Yalong Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Haitang Bay
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Sanya Haitang Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa

Address: No.1 Yezhou Road, Haitang Bay, Sanya 572000, China
Region: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sanya
#5 Family Hotel in Sanya
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sanya
#8 Business Hotel in Sanya
#12 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
#12 Spa Hotel in Sanya
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
Price Range: £57 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 508
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa, a Marriott lifestyle brand. Explore the spectacular tropical landscaping and pristine beaches with incredible sunsets. Relax and rejuvenate at our exquisite resort & spa located at Haitang Bay on the South China Sea, where Guest rooms offer a choice of breathtaking ocean or equally stunning mountain views. Enjoy the various culinary delights within the resort. Red Star offers international cuisine and evening seafood & BBQ Buffet, where during the winter, the hot pot selection is also available. Star Anise offers Cantonese cuisine complimented by selection of cuisines from various parts of China. While Starfish Market presents Grill & BBQ selection during the weekend & public holidays. For those seeking a venue to chill out before & after dinner. Visit the Lounge at the Lobby with Live music daily from 2130 (Except Sunday) or share your musical talent at R-Place, our sports bar with Karaoke rooms. To rejuvenate your body and spirit, visit our Quan Spa featuring massages and treatments. Other amenities include the fitness centre, kids' pool with slide, R-kids' club with many recreational activities including bowling alleys. Not forgetting our huge swimming pools, where you can always find a quiet spot to relax. Our event facilities feature an exquisite grand ballroom that accommodates 900+ dinner guests and the lawn for 300+ dinner guests. Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa has the advantage of accessible beach to swim in Haitang Bay. It is only 15 minutes drive to the World's largest duty free mall at the bay by our complimentary shuttle bus and 45 minutes drive directly to the airport. MARRIOTT REWARDS PRIVILEGES Members get extensive discounts & special prices in the restaurants & bars, recreation and spa including all day happy hour drinks in the Lounge & Starfish Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Marriott, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Sanya Resort And Spa
Renaissance Sanya Hotel Sanya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing