We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic with kids” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa
Ranked #14 of 1,326 Hotels in Sanya
Certificate of Excellence
Mannheim
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic with kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed for four nights with our toddler and it was a very relaxing experience. The staff was super friendly with our child and the level of English spoken at the hotel was OK for China (there was always someone there who could help us out). The design of the hotel is beautiful, very airy and spacious.Also the breakfast choices were abundant. Best of all was the biggest pool I have ever seen and a great playroom for kids. Together with the beach and a big grassy lawn and a kids program (starting from 3 years onwards against a small extra charge) this hotel really lets parents relax. I only gave four stars however for two reasons. a) cleanliness: the cleanliness is OK (the essentials like bed, sink, toilet etc. being very clean). However, if you look into any corner or under the bed there is always dirt accumulating somewhere. When we arrived there was e.g. a piece of broken glass behind the door to the walk in closet and a piece of soap our toddler managed to throw behind the sinks stayed there for three days. To make this hotel a real 5 star experience (and it definitely has the potential), I would propose that at least once a week a very thorough cleaning session is done in each room with staff given extra time for cleaning. Also the hotel manager should take some time to walk through the whole hotel. E.g. I used the toilet for the disabled next to the Morning Star restaurant and the toilet seat was lying next to the toilet and there was no soap and no hand paper. Also the spa was lacking. While the surroundings and the design were superior, the staff was very attentive and the massage was fantastic the manicure was substandard and the facial which was expensive enough at 80 USD did not include steaming and the proper cleansing. However, these comments are more geared towards management to polish out these smaller flaws. Overall, our stay was great and we would come again any time.Also it was good value for money compared to many of the other resorts.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mannheim09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    162
    52
    15
    11
See reviews for
193
100
25
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

A group of us went to Sanya for a very relaxing 5 days stay. We checked into the Renaissance hotel. The hotel is massive with the best pool I have ever seen. The food in the seafood restaurant was not good and expensive but the other two restaurants were exceptional. The Chinese restaurant was the best. One of the sad things about the hotel is that most the staff do not speak English. This is a big issue when you have many expats staying in the hotel. Overall a great stay and very enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

I am very disappointed with Cindy and Michael at Red Star Cafe. We were rushing for flight and my 3 year old girl didn't want to take breakfast. We were worried she will be hungry later on and took few breads. Cindy saw and said we were not allowed to take away good. I explained it was meant for my girl and she said my girl didn't pay for breakfast. I told her ours is family package which included breakfast for kids. She insisted we cannot take away and we decided to talk to the manager Michael. Again Michael also insisted and ended up we paid rmb68 for the bread. This left a very bad ending to our Sanya trip, especially being a kids friendly hotel. They were so inflexible, did not bother to listen to our explanation and so insistent with company policy. We will come back to Sanya, but definitely not to Renaissance.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Viberviber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Such a shame as this was our second visit. The pool is still amazing (shame areas were shut for cleaning for most of our visit and over a school holiday, great planning!) Rooms are decent and food in the restaurants good. Unfortunately the general cleanliness of the resort's public facilities let this place down. For example the main (ladies) toilet by the buffet restaurant only has 1 tap working intermittently - kinda puts you off eating there. Toilets by the pools are just dirty & hundreds of Mosquitos (broken light bulbs & sinks) and the glass all over the beach. The hotel could be great, the staff are generally friendly just not bothered & the building is generally uncared for & Ill maintained.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank elaineandellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egypt
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

I spent 6 nights here with my son and his family. Flew there from Hong Kong, only 1 hour.
On arrival airport there was no car to meet us as pre arranged with the hotel! After several phone calls we were told to take a taxi and hotel would pay. We needed 2 taxis what with 3 adults, 2 kids, a stroller and luggage. I had to smile as what was on the meter when we arrived was twice what the hotel had quoted in travel guide so I'm sure the taxi drivers got paid far less. The staff were most apologetic for the mix up and immediately upgraded us.

My rooms and family's suite were extremely good. Comfortable and spacious with lovely sea view and most important - quiet, except for one night with loud music from garden but it finished by 10pm.

The facilities are very good with lots for children to do. The swimming pool is huge- lots of interconnecting ones that run throughout the complex. The kiddies loved the water slides.
We enjoyed the big cabanas on the beach but I don't think the beach is cleaned very often as found washed up pack of pills, glass and even hypodermic ..... So be careful!

The breakfast and evening buffet were both excellent. The first 2 days there was a conference on in hotel and staff were reluctant to let us eat in the evening buffet. We did so anyway and later we could see why as food vastly improved after the conference had finished! We ate in the Fish restaurant which we enjoyed and also had room service which was good.
There is a lack of signs about the place so it can be difficult to find some amenities but they assured us this was being addressed.

The international terminal had a duty free shop and an awful Burger King that only sold 3 items - no fries, coffee or chicken that wasn't spicy! Terrible! The only place with a/c though as rest of airport has only fans. Tip - go to the domestic terminal which caters for the mainland Chinese which is vastly better!

Weather was lovely but with the usual humidity you expect in Southern China.

Room Tip: I would definitely choose sea view as there's a lot of building going on at back of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynneleanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Having been told wonderful things about Sanya from my Chinese friends I had high expectations of both the hotel and the area, sadly i was disappointed by both.
The hotel itself look good from a distance however upon closer inspection had some serious issues especially on the cleaning front, the first room i was allocated looked like the tiles had not been cleaned in a few months...
After a room change it was not much better so needless to say I did not walk barefooted on the floor.
The location of the hotel is also not great, there is basically nothing near by except small farms so you need a car if you want to go into Sanya itself.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riding-Giants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Although it was a very long flight, 21 hours door to door, yet i was really excited to visit the Hainan Island where Sanya is. But from the first experience, it was a real disappointment. Firstly, resorts like the Renaissance hotel where i was staying is an hour drive from the airport..so you can imagine how hectic that is after a long flight. Once you enter the lobby of the hotel you are welcomed by nice smiling staff yet unfortunately they don't know a single word of English or any other language but Chinese! Checking in staff couldn't communicate as well and it took me a long time to get to know the whereabouts of the hotel. Anyways, i checked into my HUGE nice furnished room with a terrace as big as the room...once i entered the room it was smelly as if it was never used or refreshed ever, i honestly couldn't breath properly and held my breath for a while not knowing what that smell was but probably its from not using the room for a long time. I ordered from the room service a bucket of ice, and after at least 5 minutes trying to explain what ice means the ice came very quickly but the surprise was .. they brought the ice in a plastic bag! I've traveled a lot and for me that was a first! In a five stars resort in a touristic destination and they don't have an ice bucket!?!! Breakfast restaurant is very good yet they have a very small station that has international food and the whole rest of stations with Chinese specialties, so not being fond of having stir fried food, rice, noodles...etc in the morning, i wasn't the happiest guest, although it wasn't really a great deal. On one night i went to the bar to have a drink with friends and the bar tender couldn't understand what Johny Walker black label is so at the end we ordered something else to end the hassle. To top it up the weather in Sanya does not help to do any activities, it was 32 felt at least 40 in the mornings and the humidity is over 80%, at night it was 26 with more humidity...with the lobby, lounges and bars not air conditioned one can't do much. The layout of the resort is beautiful with all the gardens and the huge pool. The building looks new and well designed. The staff, regardless of the communication barrier, are very helpful and always smiling. In general it wasn't the most enjoyable experience and if not forced to visit Sanya for business or so I would not consider going there again.

Room Tip: You need to make sure you have an ocean view room because you will probably spend sometime in you ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MinoLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaissancesanya, Resident Manager at Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa and taking time for sharing your experiences with us; your valuable feedbacks and insights will help us to monitor and improve both our services and facilities. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused due to the limited English from some of our ambassadors during your stay, please accept my assurance that we will prioritize and be focusing on improving the overall English level of our ambassadors.

I regret that you could not enjoy the typical tropical climate; we do not air-conditioned public area and it is the common design among hotels in Sanya that encouraging guests to feel the natural environment and tropical climate. However, we do understand many people may not get used to this hot weather.

Thank you again for your insightful comments and we sincerely hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to stay in Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa in the near future again. Please feel free to contact the Executive Office by emailing me at: larry.wang@renaissancehotels.com if I can be any of your service. (Resident Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Hedong
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
#2 of 1,326 in Sanya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Yalong Bay
The Ritz-Carlton Sanya, Yalong Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yalong Bay
Sanya Marriott Yalong Bay Resort & Spa
Sheraton Sanya Resort
#21 of 1,326 in Sanya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa

Property: Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa
Address: No.1 Yezhou Road, Haitang Bay (Tufu Exit), Sanya 572000, China
Region: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Sanya
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Sanya
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sanya
#8 Business Hotel in Sanya
#10 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
#13 Spa Hotel in Sanya
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 508
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa, a Marriott lifestyle brand. Explore the spectacular tropical landscaping and pristine beaches with incredible sunsets. Relax and rejuvenate at our exquisite resort & spa located at Haitang Bay on the South China Sea, where Guest rooms offer a choice of breathtaking ocean or equally stunning mountain views. Enjoy the various culinary delights within the resort. Red Star offers international cuisine and evening seafood & BBQ Buffet, where during the winter, the hot pot selection is also available. Star Anise offers Cantonese cuisine complimented by selection of cuisines from various parts of China. While Starfish Market presents Grill & BBQ selection during the weekend & public holidays. For those seeking a venue to chill out before & after dinner. Visit the Lounge at the Lobby with Live music daily from 2130 (Except Sunday) or share your musical talent at R-Place, our sports bar with Karaoke rooms. To rejuvenate your body and spirit, visit our Quan Spa featuring massages and treatments. Other amenities include the fitness centre, kids' pool with slide, R-kids' club with many recreational activities including bowling alleys. Not forgetting our huge swimming pools, where you can always find a quiet spot to relax. Our event facilities feature an exquisite grand ballroom that accommodates 900+ dinner guests and the lawn for 300+ dinner guests. Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa has the advantage of accessible beach to swim in Haitang Bay. It is only 15 minutes drive to the World's largest duty free mall at the bay by our complimentary shuttle bus and 45 minutes drive directly to the airport, MARRIOTT REWARDS MEMBERS get extensive discounts & benefits in the restaurants & bars, recreation and spa. All members can enjoy happy hour drinks at the Lounge, R-Place and selected meal periods. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Marriott and Expedia so you can book your Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Sanya Resort And Spa
Renaissance Sanya Hotel Sanya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing