We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Far from a 5 star experience” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Resort
Ranked #28 of 1,326 Hotels in Sanya
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Far from a 5 star experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

My husband and I recently stayed here for a friend's wedding. The hotel itself looked nice and we had a big and comfortable room. However, the service ruined our entire experience. From the moment we arrived, nothing went right. We waited 30 minutes in line just to check in and then we were told that our room wasn't ready yet. Since we had arrived before the official check-in time, we were fine with that, but then something weird happened. They gave us keys to our room and they took our luggage and asked us to follow them. They took us to our room, opened the door, and showed us that it wasn't clean yet. They put our luggage in there and told us to have lunch and that they would text message us when the room was clean. I found it extremely strange that they would escort us to a dirty room and give us keys to it. Any other hotel would have put our luggage at the concierge desk and told us to return in a few hours when the room was ready. So then we went to have some lunch while we waited and decided to try the western restaurant. Service at the restaurant was extremely slow and rude, and the food tasted terrible. After finishing lunch we still hadn't gotten any text about our room, but since we already had the key we went to check it out. It had been cleaned, but we never got a text all day. The staff needs to be trained better and they definitely need to be taught some basic English. The next day we tried the Chinese restaurant, Ming Xuan, and the food and service was much better compared to the western restaurant. Unfortunately, that is not enough to make us come back. Overall, the quality of service and experience we had at this hotel did not meet our expectations for a St. Regis. Our friends who were also staying there for the wedding also did not enjoy their stay. Extremely disappointing.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank APRILandMING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St_Regis_Sanya, Manager at The St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Resort, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Honored Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to complete the review regarding your recent stay, we hope that you had a pleasant return journey.

First of all, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused in this respect.

We are concerned that you have left with such a disappointed and negative feeling about our resort and we sincerely regret that we have failed to meet your expectations. We have noted your comments regarding the check in process and service. This is certainly not the level of service we want our guests to experience and we can fully understand your disappointment concerning the same, the immediate action has been taken to remedy this shortfall which you experienced and to avoid recurrence of the same in the future.

On the behalf of the entire team of The St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Resort, we do hope this situation will not mar you whole impression. We sincerely look forward to have opportunity to serve you again for your next trip in Sanya.

Allow Me,
St. Regis Butler Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    36
    18
    11
    10
See reviews for
62
31
8
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
116 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Attended a wedding at the hotel and thought the property was fantastic. Loved the children amenities and the thought around that. Breakfast buffet was amazing. Lots of fun and the staff did the best to make us feel at home.....really enjoyable. I would say that whilst there were some absolutely brilliant staff (butler who is studying hotel management was very good), but there were continual issues with service delivery being slow, drinks not coming, lunch menu around the pool was very poor and no snacks if people wanted to have something before dinner. There was little anticipation from the staff which you would expect normally from a St Regis property....so go, enjoy but go with being patient in mind as you can wait 30 mins for a drink around the pool, forgotten lunch orders, etc....lovely place though...

Room Tip: They're all good actually, villas are stunning, ask for room 1117 - corner villa great pool and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nickjcthompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St_Regis_Sanya, Manager at The St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Resort, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Honored Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to complete the review regarding your recent stay, we hope that you had a pleasant return journey.

We are truly glad to know that you enjoyed our resort and had a pleasant stay, and we are disappointed to find out that we failed to meet with your expectations on the issues you’ve mentioned.

We have noted your comments regarding the service delivery. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused in this respect. This is certainly not the level of service we want our guests to experience and we can fully understand your disappointment concerning the same.

Thank you once again for sharing your feedback with us and thereby giving us the opportunity to enhance our service quality. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in the future and certainly hope that your next stay will be as amazing as the last.

Allow Me,
St. Regis Butler Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Arrived here tonight so you would say it's too early to review but have already experienced a lot and decided to jot it down. The St. Regis in Sanya is a beautiful resort with a very spacious layout and that is great. Lush gardens, large lobby, very wide corridors and very spacious room. This is all fantastic; I consider space a true luxury.

I have a suite which is very large. Decoration could be more daring but hey; St. Regis wants to be classic. A great bathroom and - I have never seen that - even a selection of glossy magazines... in the toilet!

The staff are all very kind... But very inexeperienced. Knowledge of English is really limited. My "butler" - included when you book a suite - was waiting for me in the airport, and that is very pleasant. Upon check-in, all was still OK. In the suite, the butler doesn't know the way and could not find the room service menu. When I ordered, it was very hard to order some bread with my salad - and actually it never arrived. I called Guest Services again, this time to ask for the WiFi password. The staff member did not know what to answer and I was put on hold for very long until a colleague of hers explained me - the internet connection itself is fine BTW.

When my salad arrived, there was no bread. Calling Room Service did not help... I was put on hold, someone else picked up, and told me "we don't serve bread at night".

All in all I feel that everyone at the St. Regis in Sanya does his very very best, however the staff is just not experienced. They are not familiar with routines such as the internet connection, a simple room service order, et cetera. Other than that, my first impression is that this is a fantastic hotel where you will certainly have a great time with your family.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rogiervanderheide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St_Regis_Sanya, Manager at The St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Resort, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Honored Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete the review regarding your recent stay at The St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Resort. We hope that you had a pleasant return journey.

We are delighted to learn that you had a nice stay with us and enjoyed our layout, spacious rooms, your affirmative is most appreciated.

Besides, we have noted your comments regarding the experience of staff. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused in this respect. Rest assured that immediate action has been taken to remedy this shortfall in service which you experienced and to avoid recurrence of the same in the future.

Thank you once again for sharing your feedback with us and thereby giving us the opportunity to enhance our service quality. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in the future and certainly hope that your next stay will beyond your expectation.

Allow Me,
St. Regis Butler Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Travelled from London via Hong Kong with our 14 year old son in July. Stayed for a week. Never been to Sanya before and we don't speak Mandarin. Staff at hotel couldn't have been nicer or looked after us better. We had a lovely butler, Sherley. Room was lovely - ocean view. Hotel grounds are huge and beautifully looked after. Swimming pools were great fun. One is a family pool with slides. Other is an infinity pool looking out to sea. Food was great especially at Decanter, where we had an amazing meal. Buffets at Social and Driftwood were also excellent -very high standard and wide selection. Beach and beach bar good. We left the hotel twice. Once to go to local town and the other to go to Ritz Carlton for dinner next door - which was also good. I used the spa - very good - comparable to anything in London or NYC. As a family we have stayed at Fairmont in Maui several times and St Regis Sanya is in the same league. St Regis delivered exactly what we wanted, a lovely relaxing family holiday; good facilities, lots to do and great food. Thanks to all the staff at St Regis Sanya.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BBBreading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St_Regis_Sanya, Manager at The St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Resort, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Honoured Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete the review, we hope that you had a pleasant return journey.

We are delighted to learn that you had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed our room, swiming pools and foods, we have conveyed your compliments to all the staff members and they are certainly pleased to see that their efforts are so well appreciated.

Your valuable feedback is important to ensure that we continually deliver the ultimate experience St. Regis is renowned for and exceed your expectations for future visits. Thank you once again for sharing your feedback with us and looking forward to welcoming you back.

Allow Me,
St. Regis Butler Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanya, China
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

My wife, two children and I booked one week at the St. Regis, Sanya for annual vacation. We do not get much holiday time, so we wanted a great room with a full Ocean View to enjoy ourselves.
The staff at St. Regis are very friendly and try to be helpful, but their hands are tied to a property that simply does meet global standards of a five star hotel as a result of management and the property itself. There is a lot of lip service to trying to be helpful, but really slow action to remedy issues. The website also falsely represents the rooms. This is a serious problem as having stayed at St. Regis around the globe I have never seen complete and utter false representation of rooms. Here are the facts of our stay:
1. check in staff very nice, but not properly trained to use credit card system. As a result check in took 20 minutes with staff keep asking for another credit card saying mine was declined. Eventually she figured out to check us in using the card provided;
2. We reserved Royal Villa which was confirmed in writing as "Full Ocean View". The first room provided had highly obstructed ocean view and full view of marina. They changed our room, but it was not a full Ocean View, but partial. None of the Royal Villa's have Full Ocean View as advertised on the Starwood website. The picture they post on the website cannot exist or was taken before the Marina was constructed that now obstructs the view. None of the staff seem to think this is important. Although the hotel charges for this room 10,000 RMB about USD $1,600 per night. All the staff just laugh when I tell them this and they all confirm "yes sir it is not full ocean view".
3. When we checked in the floors were very dirty. I took a small white cloth and wiped it on the floor and it came back black. The hotel remedied this when they changed our room.
4. The first morning we want to the breakfast buffet at 9:30 am. I called the hotel to service the room while we were gone. We arrived at the only restaurant for breakfast and lined up until 10:20 for a table. I have never had to line up at a St. Regis or for that matter any Starwood property for breakfast. The buffet is simply very very average.
5. Each Buffet table also has an off putting sign. Everyone has their choice about helping people around the world in various financial circumstances, but St Regis seems very sanctimonious with these words: "There are still many people suffering from hunger all over the world. Please be considerate when taking food from the buffet..."
6. I had requested to check out early simply because it seems rather shocking to reserve a full ocean view and not get what was reserved, but there is no manager that will take responsibility for changing our reservation and the duty managers say you cannot check out early. Every manager that has talked to me says "I don't have the authority to change your reservation". They keep saying we will do anything we can to make your stay enjoyable, but they cannot or will not simply give us the room we reserved as it simply does not exist at this hotel. Normally if you sell something and you know you cannot provide it this is a fraudulent misrepresentation under the law. A serious matter in the Western World.
7. the hotel has many renovations going on currently. Behind our room a backhoe ran all day on our arrival. The main swimming pool is pulled apart in a key corner and dirt and debris from the renovation spill into the pool. As a result the main swimming pool is not clean.
All in all this property seems to have friendly staff, but they do not deliver at all what they promise and seem more concerned about securing payment than really providing the level of service and quality that St. Regis brand stands for. I would suggest it be rebranded Sheraton 4 Points , barely qualifies however.

Room Tip: Royal Villa are not full ocean view. They view to the Marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BPCTraveller604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St_Regis_Sanya, Manager at The St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Resort, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Honored Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to complete the review regarding your recent stay, we hope that you had a pleasant return journey.

We are concerned that you have left with such a negative feeling about our resort and we sincerely regret that we have failed to meet your expectations. We have noted your comments regarding the check in process, view of royal villa and breakfast experience. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused in this respect. This is certainly not the level of service we want our guests to experience and we can fully understand your disappointment concerning the same, the immediate action has been taken to remedy this shortfall which you experienced and to avoid recurrence of the same in the future.

For the view of Royal Villa, it is effected due to the growth of plants in the garden, we are so sorry about the inconvenience caused in this matter, but please rest assured that the image on our branded website is realistic, we have looked into the matter and will update the images regularly.

Thank you once again for sharing your feedback with us and thereby giving us the opportunity to enhance our service quality. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in the future and certainly hope that your next stay will be as amazing as the last.

Allow Me,
St. Regis Butler Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Very nice stay! Hotel locates in a relatively quiet area ... very friendly staff offering great service ... not bad restaurant choices for western food! Definitely a better choice if noise acceptance is low!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yxc166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St_Regis_Sanya, Manager at The St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Resort, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Dear Honoured Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete the review. We hope that you had a pleasant return journey.

We are so happy to learn that you had a flawless stay with us and we really appreciate your kind feedback regarding our services and facilities. We have conveyed your compliments to all the staff members and they are certainly pleased to see that their efforts are so well appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your positive feedback and we would like to take this opportunity to invite you back to the beautiful resort agian.

Allow Me
St. Regis Butler Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

I spent the weekend at the St. Regis in Sanya in late May, 2013. It was such a wonderful break from a multi-week business trip throughout China. To start, the service was fantastic. From hotel entry, check-in, gold member upgrade, and throughout the weekend, I was remembered and treated as I would expect from any global St. Regis. In particular, the GSM, Charles Li, who aided me on check in was attentive and efficient. He made sure I was all set for a late check out as well as car service back to the airport, in addition to showing me to my room. The service only got better from there- I was greeted and remembered at the restaurant, Social, and had very special service, such as the kitchen sourcing some tofu to modify dishes to vegetarian ones to suite my needs. Fresh, cold towels were abundant to refresh. The ocean and the pool swimming were both great. I had a lagoon room right on the pool, which although it not a private plunge pool was fantastic. room design and service was relaxing and all that one could want. Special thanks as well to the service at Social: Son Ngyuen took care of us each time we were at the restaurant, and I could tell the similar service was being provided to a family of four near me and other guests.

Room Tip: I highly suggest the lagoon rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evilexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St_Regis_Sanya, Manager at The St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Resort, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Dear Honoured Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete the review, we hope that you had a pleasant return journey.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed the stay with us. We have conveyed your compliments to all the staff members and they are certainly pleased to see that their efforts are so well appreciated.

On behalf of Charles Li and all of our staffs, we highly appreciate your feedback, hoping to welcome you back again!

Allow me,
St. Regis Butler Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Yalong Bay
The Ritz-Carlton Sanya, Yalong Bay
Hedong
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
#2 of 1,326 in Sanya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yalong Bay
Hilton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort & Spa
MGM Grand Sanya
#4 of 1,326 in Sanya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Haitang Bay
Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay
Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay
#24 of 1,326 in Sanya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Resort

Property: The St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Resort
Address: Yalong Bay National Resort District, Sanya 572016, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Sanya
#7 Business Hotel in Sanya
#25 Spa Hotel in Sanya
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
#27 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
#53 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Resort is ideally situated on a generous stretch of the most coveted location on Yalong Bay, with exclusive access to more than 800 meters of pristine coastline. A resort unlike any other on Hainan, the St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Resort offers wide appeal across a variety of audiences – from business executives to couples seeking romance to families seeking a fun and relaxing vacation. The resort is exquisitely designed with luxury in mind, offering 401 contemporary guest rooms including 28 beachside villas. The St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Resort offers a world of epicurean experiences, with three full-service restaurants, a wine bar, and a tea room. In addition, the St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay will be the only resort in Sanya that offers the signature St. Regis butler service to all guests, as well as South China’s first Iridium Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and Starwood APAC so you can book your The St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Hotel Sanya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing