We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's great,but there is still a long way to be a REAL "The Luxury Collection"!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal Begonia, A Luxury Collection Resort Sanya
Ranked #26 of 1,345 Hotels in Sanya
Certificate of Excellence
Guangzhou, China
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“It's great,but there is still a long way to be a REAL "The Luxury Collection"!”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We just came back from Sanya.We spent 2 nights at The Royal Begonia,during our stay,we felt great!

It was the second time we stayed in The Luxury Collection resort.At the first time,we stayed in The Naka Island,that was a wonderful experience,at that time,I have become a big fan of The Luxury Collection,so we had a high expectation on this resort before we arrived.

The Royal Begonia is located in Haitang bay,it provides free shuttle service from Sanya Phoenix International Airport to the resort,but the shuttle service made us feel very disappointed.Before we went to Sanya,the resort called my hubby and told him how to find the shuttel bus,when we arrived at the airport,my hubby found the bus,but the bus seemed like a normal airport shuttle which need charge and there were no any hotel logo on the bus and no hotel staff,the dirver was not in the bus at that moment,so it made us very confused,we were not sure if the bus was the right one!I think the driver could not speak English,if the foreigners who cannot speak Chinese need to take this shuttle,that was really a big big problem!The bus was shabby!We could not image that was a good shuttle service of The Luxury Collection,it was horrible!The resort guests need to share this free shuttle service with the guests of Sheraton Sanya Haitang Bay Resort,that was not a big problem,but when we booked the shuttle from resort to airport,they replied us they needed to confirm if the bus was fully booked by Sheraton guests first,that was ridiculous!Well...in my opinion,The Luxury Collection is much higher level than Sheraton,at this point,we could not feel the superiority of The Luxury Collection and we didnot get the excellent sevice which The Luxury Collection should provide!

Although the horrible shuttle bus made us disappointed,the disappointment disappeared when we arrived at the resort.The property had a very different style from The Naka Island,The Naka Island was primeval style,but The Royal Begonia was very grand,both of them were stunning and we did love these two different styles!The lobby of this resort was splendid,especially the reception,it was gorgeous!

The room was very grand,roomy and clean,especially the bathroom,fabulous!The room was European style,but it was also combined with some Chinese elements,that was pretty cool!There was a private balcony in the room and sometimes we would sit in the chair in the balcony and enjoyed the beautiful pool view and a little bit seaview from the balcony.The bed was comfortable.We were satisfied with this room!

The private beach was very nice,the water was clean and blue,the sand was fine.It was pretty comfortable when we walked barefoot on the beach!

There were several outdoor pools and jacuzzis in the resort,they looked beautiful,some of them were very large.Although all the pools were open,all the jacuzzis were closed,we could not use them,that was not cool!When we went to the pool to swim and wanted to get swimming towels at the pool bar,the pool staff who was not in the bar told us to register before we get the swimming towels,but the staff was not friendly and not helpful,he didnot go back to the bar to help us to register and didnot proactively gave us the swimming towels.As our experience in W Retreat Koh Samui and The Naka Island,they would put some swimming towels in the villa for our convenience,when we went to the pool or the beach,the pool staffs proactively gave us swimming towels without register and also proactively helped us to spread the swimming towels on the sun lounge chairs,they showed me what was the excellent service,but I couldn't get such excellent service in this resort!

I knew that The Luxury Collection guests could use the facilities of Sheraton Sanya Haitang Bay Resort,but the Sheraton guests could not use the facilities of The Royal Begonia.When we were swimming,we saw that two Sheraton guests in Sheraton bathrobes came here and swam in the pool of The Royal Begonia,however,the pool staff didnot ask them to leave but served them!If I stay at Sheraton and I can got the same service and use the facilities in The Luxury Collection,why I book a room at The Luxury Collection at a higher rate?It dosen't make sense!

The Begonia All Day Dining Restaurant was wonderful,the breakfast was tasty,it was not breakfast buffet,it provided several breakfast sets,including western,Spanish,vegetarian and the Cantonese-style breakfast!My hubby loved the Spanish breakfast,I tried the western and the Cantonese-style breakfast,the western breakfast was delicious,the Cantonese-style breakfast was combined with some Hainan typical food,that was distinctive!The atmosphere of the restaurant was great,the service was terrific!Although most of the staffs were new,they were considerate and very friendly,after we only gave them our room number,they knew who we were and addressed us by our last name immediately,execellent service!The service of the waiter who asked our room number and took us to the table on the second day was impressive,when we finished breakfast,he asked us if we went back to room,we said yes,he said "it's 2nd floor,right?"we nodded,he proactively helped us to push the elevator button,that was very considerate,what excellent service!

Most of the resort staffs were friendly and helpful.The service of the resort was good,but could be better.However,they must improve their service!

There is still a long way to be a real "The Luxury Collection",I hope that it will be much better when we come back!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Penelope L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton H, Manager at The Royal Begonia, A Luxury Collection Resort Sanya, responded to this review, 29 September 2012
Thank you very much for staying with The Royal Begonia, A Luxury Collection Resort and leaving us great feedback. It is our pleasure to provide you an impressive tropical vacation and amiable services. Also, We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for the issues you have experienced. Our team has taken actions immediately aim on the problems you mentioned. We sincerely welcome you come to Luxury Collection again, hope meet you soon!
Wish you and your family happy Mid-autumn day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    20
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
44
27
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Based on the previous reviews we were looking forward to our stay at the new Royal Bergonia hotel as we are big Starwood Luxury Collection & St Regis fans. Our stay however only lasted for the most of 4 hours before having to check out and look for alternative hotel arrangements.

At the time of booking the hotel was advertising a "Grand Opening" of 31 Aug (this has now since changed to 15 Sept), prior to the soft launch period they seemed to already have. However after checking in and then deciding to explore the resort just about everywhere we went was 'closed'. The beach was closed, ALL the swimming pools were closed, the fitness centre doors were open but clearly wasn't ready to be open, there were plenty of workers inside and the flooring clearly was full of building and working equipment. What was open however, was the neighbouring Sheraton hotel which we were told to use instead. But if I wanted to stay at the Sheraton we would have booked a room at the Sheraton at a cheaper rate!

We weren't expecting a perfect experience given it was a new hotel but we certainly weren't expecting not to be able to use the beach and resort facilities, after all that is what you look for in a resort. When we complained we were told there were issues which they had discovered a few days prior (which we can understand for a new hotel) but disappointing from a luxury collection guest experience:

- if the hotel is still part closed, why not disclose this on the website so guests can make better informed decisions
- surely you can't promote a 'Grand Opening' when clearly your facilities are not ready to be open
- if you had discovered issues just a few days prior why weren't we called to advise of the issues to be given the option to decide whether or not we wanted to continue with our booking and worse still there is absolutely no excuse for not disclosing this at point of check in. There is a real issue of integrity on this part thinking that you could just get away with it.

A note for guests who are looking to book in the future which is not clearly mentioned on their website:

- this is a complex hotel so things such as 'kids club' and recreation club are actually part of the Sheraton hotel and not the Royal Begonia. Therefore if these facilities are important to you, you're better off paying less and booking at the Sheraton hotel instead rather than paying a premium for a luxury collection brand, which isn't up to standard at the moment.

Overall, I think the resort product is fine however don't look to book here in the near future if you want it to be a 'special' experience as you will be disappointed. Be careful on the 'Grand Opening' date posted as clearly in our instance it was not open and since now has been changed again on the website, hence who knows when the proper 'Grand Opening' will be. I would give it a good few months to be absolutely sure.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank THZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton H, Manager at The Royal Begonia, A Luxury Collection Resort Sanya, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for the issues you have experienced. Our team has taken actions immediately aim on the problems you mentioned. We are looking forward to welcoming you back. We’d like to offer you a new experience of our hotel. We may arrange a flawless stay and extend additional courtesies. Once again thank you for valuable comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We were among the first guests staying at the resort for the soft opening and were given an especially warm welcome by the enthusiastic and beaming team on arrival at the hotel. For the entire stay , we received great hospitality from each and every single member of the staff.I would rate the service here as PERFECT .

Breakfast is not the usual buffet style but offered as a variety of set menu : western set, spanish setetc. Quite a interesting concept

We had dinner at the Yue restaurant serving Chinese cuisine which has a lovely setting and very attentive staff.
Although spoken English was lacking at both restaurants, staff made up for it by their great effort for trying their level best

We also had a most awesome birthday surprise planned by Ms Bonnie Zhang,the Begonia Club Service manager, and meticulously executed by the staff. We had a blast of a time, thanks to the great display of fireworks! WOW



We stayed in a luxuriously furnished ocean view suite which was very spacious and was definitely most impressed .

The hotel is located in Haitang bay, right next to its sister property Sheraton Haitang which provide free shuttle to the Yalong bay area. The hotel also has a fleet of car for hire at very reasonable rates.

The resort ground is huge with at least 5 pools . We took strolls along the beach in the evening just by the hotel.

We would most certainly hope to be back once again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M_Teo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton H, Manager at The Royal Begonia, A Luxury Collection Resort Sanya, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for staying with The Royal Begonia, A Luxury Collection Resort and leaving us great feedback. It is our pleasure to provide you an impressive tropical vacation and amiable services. We sincerely welcome you come to Luxury Collection again, hope meet you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Stayed at the hotel on the opening night.

Hotel: Located in Haitang Bay which is currently being populated with loads of 5 star resorts. 7 open at the moment. Shares location with the Sheraton next door. About 20-30min drive from Sanya train station.

Facilities: Very nice pools. Did not check out the gym. Several restaurants. Tried Chinese cuisine at Yue. Pretty decent food.

Room: Got suite upgrade as part of SPG platinum benefits. Awesome room with great view. Living and dining area. Separate balconies for living room and bedroom. Huge bed with great sheets and pillows. Very comfy! Walk in wardrobe. Separate tub and rain shower. TV in bathroom.

Service: Very very very good. Was contacted by guest service manager, Bonnie, before arrival who arranged transport to the hotel. Also looked after our restaurant reservations, minor problems with the room etc. All needs and requests met with efficiency, speed and a great smile.

Overall one of the best experiences that I have ever had in terms of personal service. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dr_LTLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton H, Manager at The Royal Begonia, A Luxury Collection Resort Sanya, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Thank you very much for staying with The Royal Begonia, A Luxury Collection Resort and leaving us greet feedback. . It is our pleasure to provide you an impressive tropical vacation and amiable services.Thanks for your comments again, We sincerely welcome you come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Haitang Bay
Sheraton Sanya Haitang Bay Resort
Haitang Bay
Wanda Vista Resort Sanya
Wanda Vista Resort Sanya
#46 of 1,345 in Sanya
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Haitang Bay
Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay
Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay
#30 of 1,345 in Sanya
241 reviews
Haitang Bay
The Westin Sanya Haitang Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Begonia, A Luxury Collection Resort Sanya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Begonia, A Luxury Collection Resort Sanya

Property: The Royal Begonia, A Luxury Collection Resort Sanya
Address: No.78 Haitang North Road, Haitangwan, Sanya 572013, China
Region: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 1,345 Hotels in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Begonia, A Luxury Collection Resort Sanya 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an idyllic beachfront location facing the South China Sea,and a backdrop of lush green hills under endless azure skies,The Royal Begonia is an island utopia,seamlessly blending nature and refinement. The gentle wafting breezes, tropical landscapes and crystalline waters create a symphony for the senses. A gallery of impressive traditional and modern Chinese art, sculpture, pottery and hand-woven fabric creations showcases the talent of local artisans and it on display throughout the resort. Tours through surrounding villages and cooking classes featuring local indigenous dishes create an unrivalled cultural experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Begonia, A Luxury Collection Resort Sanya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing