We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Yalong Bay
Nearby Hotels
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
LuxuryCollection
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$190
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$179
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$303
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (484)
Filter reviews
484 results
Traveller rating
141
257
64
19
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
257
64
19
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 484 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2008

Plenty of great hotels nearby at Yalong Bay, this one here is a basic and standard Holiday Inn with a bit outdated facilities but within the touch of a good beach just a foot step away from the hotel. The beach is clean and water is clear [however, not crystal clear]. It is about 50 minutes away from Sanya airport and at the end of the east of Yalong Bay.

If you have more budget, Marriot, Ritz Carlton, No:5, Hilton and some 5-stars local non-international brand along the Yalong Bay is not a bad idea. If you are to select his hotel for its value-for-money rate, 400r-500mb plus during low season, then, get a sea-view room. Food in the restaurant is generally so so but you really have no others places to eat unless you go to others hotels nearby or drop by seafood restaurant in the city.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ahsangje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2008

Spent 4 nights at the Yalong Bay location and found it to be a great stay and probably the best location on the beach among the many hotels in the area. Though we arrived rather late at night, the front desk was very accommodating, especially when I found that the bed in our suite was rock hard, which is typical of hotels in China. (I try to book "western" hotels when in China in hopes of finding a softer bed because of my bad lower back).

The front desk sent a somewhat "softer" mattress alternative to the room right away, and the next morning continued the search for a "pillow top" insert (which they found), and threw in an extra duvet comforter as added padding to boot! Made all the difference in the world!

This time of year is low season for the resort, so the hotel was not very busy, but the service was not lacking and the food offerings were more than adequate. The weather was hit and miss thunder showers, but the ocean / air temp was perfect and the pool(s) like bath water. The location is closest to the beach compared with the other hotels in the immediate area, and with an ocean view room on the top floor, the view and sounds of the surf were just what we were hoping for.

We were credited with RMB200 towards food during our stay, had two hours of free bicycle rental, a free hour on the tennis court and a fruit basket greeted us in the room upon our arrival.

All in all a great stay, and I am looking forward to going back again!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank wil1015nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2008

I went to Sanya with a friend and we booked the Yalong Bay Holiday Inn based on the Trip Advisor Reviews we read.
We weren't too impressed:
The Mountain View Room overlooked the Bus Port, where more than 50 Busses arrive every day to crowd this part of Yalong Bay. Obviously this proved quite noisy. Even if we had wanted to sit on the balcony overlooking the Parking, we couldn't have: no furniture out there.
The beach is very crowded as there is a public amusement area next door, water was pretty dirty and don't go out to the left, there is some military installations.
The lobby area is quite nice, if you speak Chinese, the staff is helpful, restaurant service is ok. The Pool Service is pretty much non existent, we had to get the sun chair covers ourselves after asking 3 times and waiting until 2pm. The choice of cocktails both at the pool bar and the beach bar is a little limited. The Outdoor BBQ is average, neither fish nor meat are on ice, put out around 5pm and you have to carry the raw food across the restaurant yourself to get it BBQed. The staff spoke no English.
Breakfast is ok, Chinese standard, not much Continental stuff like ham, cheese and the likes, anyway not what you expect from an international standard Hotel with 5 Stars.
The Spa was quite expensive for Chinese standards, the massage cut short and the staff again speaks no English.
After half our stay we decided to change Hotels and for pretty much the same price got rooms in the Crowne Plaza, which is pure bliss and at a nice part of Yalong Bay, where there is less people and the sea is cleaner.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulesChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2008

My partner and I visited the Holiday Inn with about 10 other family members. Our stay was short (only 1 night), as we were on a tour of Hainan Island visiting many regions. The Holiday Inn was by far the most comfortable and enjoyable hotel we stayed at on Hainan Island. It also provided pretty good value when compared with other beach side hotels in other parts of Asia.

The hotel is fairly new and very well maintained. It's located directly on a very clean beach with crystal clear water ideal for swimming. The grounds are beautiful and the pools looked inviting. Our room faced the beach and we had a fantastic view of Yalong Bay. The room was pretty standard Holiday Inn fare, with a comfortable bed and tasteful decor. The service was attentive and polite. The food at the breakfast buffet (our only meal at the hotel) was excellent, with a large variety of western and Chinese dishes.

The hotel is located in a large complex of hotels, so you are quite isolated from the "real" Sanya. There are numerous restaurants and shopping facilities catering to tourists, but if you want to go into town you must arrange transportation. Sanya itself was a fairly clean and attractive city by Chinese standards, but does not really offer the foreign visitor much in the way of things to see and do. We were fortunate that some family members spoke Mandarin, which allowed us to eat a pretty good meal at a restaurant in town frequented by locals. If you don't have a Mandarin or Hainanese speaker with you, it will probably be difficult to get around.

A couple of sights you may be interested in visiting include a nicely maintained park located at the southern tip of Hainan (and therefore the southern tip of China). It's a nice place to walk around, enjoy the clean beach, and see the local tourists enjoying themselves. The Goddess of Mercy park is expensive to visit at about $30USD, but is also interesting. It features numerous temples scattered around the lush park, and a giant Goddess of Mercy statue jutting out of the sea.

In conclusion, if you find yourself in Sanya the Holiday Inn is an excellent choice at a reasonable price. You'll be kind of isolated, but if your main goal is to enjoy the sun and sand, then this is a great place to be.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AltaMales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2008

A friend and I booked a spa weekend at the Holiday Inn, and it turned out wonderfully. Both Holiday Inns in Sanya, as well as the Crowne Plaza, have Tea Tree Spas. We booked a package of four treatments over two days. The prices were much cheaper than the same treatment would be in the U.S., and were similar to/slightly less than prices in Hong Kong. The spa treatment areas were very clean, spacious, and tastefully decorated, and the spa staff was extremely professional.

As for the rest of the hotel, we took the advice of previous reviews and made sure we got a Sea View room - it was definitely worth it. Unless you've been to Sanya before, I would highly recommend making sure you get a sea view at any hotel you stay at.

The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. As someone who speaks passable Chinese and has lived in China for more than 1 year, I can say that the service was far better than I expected - many hotels in China don't know the meaning of the word. Their English wasn't great - if you can speak a little Chinese, their enthusiasm increases ten-fold.

The food was far more reasonably priced than I expected, with the exception of the breakfast buffet (which was not included in the cost of our room for the package we booked). We skipped it after the first day and got room service breakfast instead (which was cheaper). As a vegetarian, I was surprised by the number of vegetarian options on the restaurant menu - I never repeated a dish, which is often rare in China. I liked a lot of the food and I felt that the kitchen was certainly trying to put varied items on the menu.

This hotel, similar to many, also caters to Russian tourists. They have a Russian-speaking tour organizer and concierge on call. We didn't go on any tours while in Sanya - a number of my colleagues have had some negative experiences with tours that are short on results and long on hard sells. For a short visit, staying at the resort, walking along the beach, relaxing at the pool, and taking full advantage of the spa is more than enough to keep a person happy. I would be happy to go back to Sanya and to the Holiday Inn Yalong Bay.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ms_Mano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews