We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If it wasn't for the view...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Yalong Bay
Ranked #53 of 1,373 Hotels in Sanya
Reviewed 24 December 2010

We decided to stay in the Holiday Inn, Yalong Bay mainly because of the location. The location is great, it's right on the beach with a great pool and beach swimming area. It also appeared to be good value considering what other hotels in the same bay charges.

The staff were friendly and helpful, though we found it very hard (even though we speak Mandarin fairly) to get them to understand that we needed extra duvets and pillows.

What bothered me the most was the quality of the included breakfast and the cleanliness of the main restaurant. Staying in a Holiday Inn I expected a decent, clean, no frills breakfast. What we got was a restaurant that reeked of stale food and old cooking oil and the food tastes just plain old and not good at all. There was a constant "old curry" smell that hovered over everything. The smell on entering the restaurant was enough to ruin our appetites for the rest of every day. The floor of the restaurant was also extremely dirty and during our one week stay it did not appeared to be cleaned at all. It was slippery with all the grime. I spent the last day in my room with a vicious stomach bug and I am convinced that it relates directly to the poor level of restaurant hygiene and food we expereiences.

The room was fair value for money. It was clean and had a great view of the ocean. The kids had lots of fun in the indoor play area and enjoyed the beautiful pool and beach.

The other strange thing is that if you book online you do not get an option for a "smoke free floor" or even a "no-smoking room". The hotel has two non smoking floors but it is not possible to book a room on these floors online, simply because it appears to be a smoking only hotel.

Would I recommend it? Probably but with a word of caution: if you are concerned about hygiene in a kitchen/restaurant I would think twice to go there.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rihannk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (485)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 29 of 485 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2010

The is is very tired and worn out hotel. As many of the other reviews date back to 2007 back then maybe it was one of the better hotels. By todays standards no where near up to scratch. The floors are softer than the beds, jacuzzi by the pool out of order, water slide for my dausghter out of order. The weather was poor which only emphasised this hotels poor standard as they had very littler entertainment indoors. Regret not paying more and going for a true 5 star hotel!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anilanand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 2 December 2009

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 August 2009

We enjoyed the Holiday Inn but we found it very expensive. The rooms are a little faded too. Try to get a package out of Shanghai or Beijing (we live in Shanghai) - for every additional thing that was not included it was pricey. The bikes, the beer, the spa etc. The spa is quite good I had a fabulous massage there. The swiming pools are nice too although there was no service by the pool and we had to sort out the umbrella's ourselves.

The beach outside of the private beach area is packed with day trippers. There is a little market next door and further along the beach is a foot massage place which is worth a visit. Yalong Bay is beautiful and the sea gorgeous. I wouldn't rush back though!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rackiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

The only commendable thing about Holiday Inn Yalong Bay is the location - right at the beach front. The water and beach is very clean and we had a lot of fun play at the beach. However, don't be mislead by the hotel pictures -- it is NOT a private beach and many local tourists crowd around the area for day trip touring. But the convenient location would allow you to walk past the jetty over to the right side of the bay where it is less crowded and wider.

Hotel staff were not very professional or friendly. For instance, the staffs at the front desk didn't smile much, and wouldn't mind keeping a patron standing and waiting in front of them, while they mind their own business. Another example, they converted a function room into an indoor recreation room, but was not open according to the posted opening hours. No staff was around to help us with that. The only cleaning lady who was around just told us that the staff was not yet in and we just had to wait. We ended up going back to the lobby reception area and asked for help, and got the same reply!! We couldn't accept that no staff is available to help us even though it was already over one hour past their opening hours!

Buffet breakfast food selection is very limited and in general the food looked very tired, especially the cold food like salad, cold cut, etc.

The swimming pool -- we did not even try because it did not look very clean.

Room -- there is not much of a decor. A very basic 3-star kind of hotel room. The furnitures and curtains looked very worn out. Even the bedside clock was not showing the right time (we fixed the clock time the first night we got in, and by the second night it was slow by 1.5 hours!!)

Most patrons are local chinese, and many of them enjoy smoking. Fortunately we got a room on the non-smoking floor and the air was clean.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
Thank JasmineDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2008

Plenty of great hotels nearby at Yalong Bay, this one here is a basic and standard Holiday Inn with a bit outdated facilities but within the touch of a good beach just a foot step away from the hotel. The beach is clean and water is clear [however, not crystal clear]. It is about 50 minutes away from Sanya airport and at the end of the east of Yalong Bay.

If you have more budget, Marriot, Ritz Carlton, No:5, Hilton and some 5-stars local non-international brand along the Yalong Bay is not a bad idea. If you are to select his hotel for its value-for-money rate, 400r-500mb plus during low season, then, get a sea-view room. Food in the restaurant is generally so so but you really have no others places to eat unless you go to others hotels nearby or drop by seafood restaurant in the city.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ahsangje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2008

Spent 4 nights at the Yalong Bay location and found it to be a great stay and probably the best location on the beach among the many hotels in the area. Though we arrived rather late at night, the front desk was very accommodating, especially when I found that the bed in our suite was rock hard, which is typical of hotels in China. (I try to book "western" hotels when in China in hopes of finding a softer bed because of my bad lower back).

The front desk sent a somewhat "softer" mattress alternative to the room right away, and the next morning continued the search for a "pillow top" insert (which they found), and threw in an extra duvet comforter as added padding to boot! Made all the difference in the world!

This time of year is low season for the resort, so the hotel was not very busy, but the service was not lacking and the food offerings were more than adequate. The weather was hit and miss thunder showers, but the ocean / air temp was perfect and the pool(s) like bath water. The location is closest to the beach compared with the other hotels in the immediate area, and with an ocean view room on the top floor, the view and sounds of the surf were just what we were hoping for.

We were credited with RMB200 towards food during our stay, had two hours of free bicycle rental, a free hour on the tennis court and a fruit basket greeted us in the room upon our arrival.

All in all a great stay, and I am looking forward to going back again!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank wil1015nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yalong Bay
Hilton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Yalong Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Yalong Bay

Address: National Resort Area, Yalong Bay, Sanya 572016, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Sanya
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
#47 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
#51 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
Price Range: £57 - £567 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Yalong Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Resort Yalong Bay Sanya is located on the white sand beach of Yalong Bay, Sanya, Hainan Island, featuring crystal clear ocean, blue skies and only a few short steps to the water’s edge.1 hour’s flight from Hong Kong / Guangzhou 3~4 hours’ flight from Beijing / Shanghai3 hours’ drive from Haikou, capital of Hainan Island 50 minutes’ drive from Sanya Phoenix International Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Yalong Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Yalong Bay Hotel Sanya
Holiday Inn Sanya
Sanya Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing