We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place!”
Review of Captain's House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Captain's House
Ranked #2 of 592 Sanya B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect Place!”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here at the beginning of a 6 month trip around Asia. We came off the back off a long, uncomfortable train journey into Sanya. Tom (the owner) greeted us with a big smile and a comfy clean room - I could've hugged him! The place is lovely, homely and clean. Tom & Robert and the most friendly people I've met and catered to our every need.

Breakfast is amazing value for money and really tasty - fried eggs on toast - what more could a brit wish for!

My boyfriend gor really burnt during our stay - Tom provided ice for us every night. Very sweet. We were pointed in the direction of anywhere we wanted to go. Tom & Robert also took us to a beach BBQ one night which was so much fun - and really delicious!

I can't rave about the service enough - really was great. The rooms are spacious, there's a cinema room and Tom has an armoury of dvds.

Really perfect for a backpacker - Tom even wrote out an itinerary for our onward travel and took our phonecalls when we had problems with the language barrier so he could translate!!

A must stay in Sanya :) Fantastic value for money!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alicehappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
6
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Hasan got à fantastic Chief , THE food is exellent, service are amazing good, and the crew make you feel at home, if anything is wrong, dont worry Hasan get it right! And there are good prices to, grill chocken 10TL!
Go to this place , eat, take a drink or à coffe, you wouldnt regret it

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Greger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Initially only booked for 1 night but ended up stay for 4. Clean and mellow hostel, has everything you need, staff super friendly and helpful in every aspect of my stay and queries. Definitely the number 1 stay in Sanya for me, hire of the moped is a must do! Enjoy. Thanks guys, if ever i'm back i'll be back!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beckieellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We had such a great stay at captain! It was one of the best hostels you can stay in. The rooms are clean, the bathrooms are nice, the decor is really nice and unique! The staff was amazing- they went out of their way to make sure we were happy! They all speak very good English and are very friendly. My room has got view of the lu hui tou moutain .it's quite convenient getting around sanya. Food and drink options are limited at the moment, but you can eat around the villeage very cheaply.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andrea l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Tom and Robert are amazing. I spent Chinese New Year at Captain's House. The dorm rooms are coed and very comfortable. The staff is great and so kind. Tom hosted a tropical fruit tasting for guest at that hostel (free of charge). The staff at Captain's House made my Holiday truly fantastic. Tom's personal service and dedication to the guests goes above and beyond what anyone should expect. Captain's House has all the international charm of staying at a hostel with the personal service of a five star resort. I will return to SanYa again just to visit my new friends Tom & Robert.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny996Pro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hongkong
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Awesome hotel! Very convenient location, just outside dadongbay beach. Beds are clean, toilets are clean, rooms are clean! Staff are very friendly and approachable. Most decent hostel I've ever stayed in. I would definitely choose captain's house again if I were to visit sanya again. the owner should open more hostels in other cities of china!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crol y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guangzhou
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Usually I am a bit demanding, but I spent one of my best holiday weeks here. Staff is working extremely hard for your well-beeing. Rooms, Beds, Lockers are ok. WIFI in the room isn´t as fast as in the Common Areas, don´t know why. Restrooms are very clean. Bonus is the breakfast and real coffee (not only dark water). Location is minimum triple A (close to the beach and bars). compare to what you paid, strongly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Hedong
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
#2 of 1,327 in Sanya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Baohong Hotel
#37 of 1,327 in Sanya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hantang Holiday Apartment
#147 of 1,327 in Sanya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Sanya Bay
Howard Johnson Resort Sanya Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's House

Property: Captain's House
Address: DA Dong Hai, LU Ling Rd, Next to Sanya Royal Garden Resort, Sanya 572000, China
Region: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 592 B&Bs / Inns in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Captain's House is located in the Dadonghai beach. The hostel has a 10Min short walk to the main tourist beach.the xiao dong hai bay which is quite and clean is also close to us. we start the business since 2012, many international guest consider xiao dong hai bay is best beach in the city ,especially during busy season.5mins walk from the fishing village where you can get authentic local food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Captain's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing