We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value but needs improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Sanya City Center
Ranked #41 of 1,333 Hotels in Sanya
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good value but needs improvement”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This hotel is in good location, quite near to the city. Free parking for the guest. Easy to get to the highway to airport, Yalong Bay and Haitang Bay. Rooms on a higher floor were quiet and clean, with a nice river view.
Lobby is always crowded and noisy. Attention: smoking is permitted everywhere! Stay away from the public area will be a good choice. Tower B is a little far from lobby entrance but the parking lots for both A & B are connected with each other.
Overall, good choice for just 1-night stay as a transit hub if you arrive at Sanya late at night. And then go to your seaside resorts directly.

Room Tip: Book the room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sissiwei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
634JessicaL, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Sanya City Center, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thanks for your choosing Ramada Plaza Sanya for your pleasant journey in Sanya! Located in City Center, with the only international hotel brand in City center, Ramada Plaza always becomes your best choice in the center. variety hotel products can bring memberable staying experience for you, your lover and your family. Hope you will stay with us by next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    27
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
14
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

On the city center island-between 2 rivers- the hotel is well located. Easy to get a bus to go to Dadonghai or the city center-walking street-, the buffet breakfast is quite impressive with a large selection ( price at 138 rmb), however I regret to do not find there more local fresh fruits in the breakfast or even a fresh cut station, bread& danish also could have been better. My room was very confortable with a panoramic view from my bathtub, also good to enjoy the evening city night view from the balcony. The lobby is huge and widely open just sitting sofas just next to a water and waterfall. Good swimming pool on the roof 9 th floor between the 2 building towers.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank voyageurautourdumond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

i went there for business trip.
it is very near the duty free store , just across the bridge, 15 min walk.
my room was river view.... very noisy at night and unable to sleep well
the only good thing is the room rate is quite low
but if i go there for leisure, i will not pick this

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyCheung25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The hotel is nestled in a vibrant area and a stone throw away from the Bar Street, Marina, CDF and International Shopping center. Yue chao Cantonese Valued lunch packages is very good.
In house guests are entitled to enjoy 10% off on less than rmb8000 commodities in duty free shop until july 31st.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foreverbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I arrived at the hotel at around midnight and found nobody around. I had expected a conceirge to greet me and help me with my bags out of the taxi but I looked around and found nobody. I wandered into the hotel and looked around for someone to deal with me. Then I saw the top of soeone's head behind a desk and walked over to find a bored girl playing with her mobile phone. She turned out to be the receptionist. She processed me without breaking into a smile and even though I had specified online and then confirmed on checking in that I wanted a double room when I got up there it was a twin. Very annoying - late at night - have to go back down to reception and drag her back from her mobile phone again, to get me the room I booked.

That night I was kept awake until at least 3am by the sound of the traffic and constant blasting of car horns at the busy road junction which was directly underneath my window (albeit 10 floors down). I decided that I would have to move out the next day because I could not imagine 3 more nights of very little sleep.

However the room was very nice and I decided to try it for one more night and see whether it was better. The next day I ws so worn out that I slept well and the receptionists seemed a more cheerful bunch. I discovered the swimming pool which was great and the concierge were very helpful and soon I forgot about my initial imperssion of the hotel and I got used to the traffic noise eventually.

The location of the hotel is good - near a bus stop and walkable to the beach. The rooms are excellent and have everything you need. The pool is fab. The buffet in the restaurant was quite good and overall I would stay there again.

Room Tip: I was in Tower A which is at the noisey road junction. Perhaps Tower B is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanchang_Nel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalian, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed for 6 nights in this very new and modern hotel in downtown Sanya and was very satisfied with my stay. Very clean and spacious room facing the river, the front desk was very friendly and helpful. Location of the hotel is right between the bustling main street and the beach area, if you're not up for a "All inclusive next to the beach Holiday" it's really nice, downtown is only a 10 minutes walk away. Main bar area 100 meters opposite to hotel, but not really noisy. Liked the hotel bar, but the buffet restaurant on the ground floor was so so, not bad but everything was a bit overcooked. Didn't try the other restaurants or the pool. I definitely would stay again in this hotel if I come back to Sanya.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Sven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Our recent trip of 3 days to Sanya was made even more enjoyable by selecting this hotel through Asia rooms at a discounted rate.
The reception staff were very helpful, facilities of a high standard, and overall an excellent place to stay if you wish to stay in the city area. It was a short walk to both the duty free shopping mall and the city centre. Trips to the beach areas were a little further away.
The hotel swimming pool was clean and well managed. The Marina Cafe had an excellent range of food both buffet or a la carte. We can certainly recommend a stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms away fro the main roads may be less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisnjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramada P, Manager at Crowne Plaza Sanya City Center, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Guest,warmest greeting from Ramada Plaza Sanya!
Thank you for visiting our hotel and taking the time to share your experience here. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us in Ramada Plaza Sanya.
As you know that Ramada Plaza Sanya share the good location for about 10 mins away from China Duty Free Shop and First Seafood Market.
And the most privacy swiming poor and sauna center located on the 3 floor in tower B which can give you the delighted experience.
Otherwise, Hotel insist the core value 'Leave the rest to us' to serve all the guests to have an unique & comfortable stay experience. We are hoping to see you again very soon for your next stay in Sanya!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanya hotels
9.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Resort Sanya Bay
2.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Hainan, Sanya
6.8 mi away
Wyndham Sanya Bay
Wyndham Sanya Bay
#13 of 1,333 in Sanya
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sanya Marriott Hotel Dadonghai Bay
1.5 mi away
Le Parker International Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Shanhaitian Resort Sanya, Autograph Collection (by Marriott International)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Sanya City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Sanya City Center

Property: Crowne Plaza Sanya City Center
Address: No.3 Yuya Road, Sanya 572000, China (Formerly Ramada Plaza Sanya)
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 1,333 Hotels in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Sanya City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 493
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanya is world famous for its endless fresh air, wonderfully soft beaches, gentel sunshine and beautiful ocean views as far as the eye can see. Crowne Plaza Sanya City Center is conveniently located on Yuya Road, a scenic thoroughfare running along Yulin Harbor. We are 17 kilometers from Sanya Phoenix International Airport and 11 kilometers from Sanya Railway Station. Nearby attractions and points of interest include Sanya International Yacht Club, Bar Street and Sanya International Shopping Center. Putting you close to nearby Dadonghai Beach, Mountainous Luhuitou Park and popular Sanya No.1 Market Sanya, where you can enjoy all of the authentic flavors of Hainan. Sanya is China's tropical city, welcoming you to paradise. The hotel offers 493 finely appointed guest rooms and suites, all with flat-screen television, satellite channels, a spacious work desk with ergonomic seating and wireless high-speed internet access. Crowne Plaza Executive Lounge is located on the 16th floor, and provides personalized services to meet the unique needs of discerning business and leisure travelers. For a perfect night's sleep, we offer the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage program providing in-room options such as ergonomic pillow selection (facing-up,facing-side or facing-down pillow),Crowne Style or Lavender aromatherapy and your choice of warm milk or red wine. Sleep Advantage items are delivered within 15 minutes upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Sanya City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing