We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Sanya Haitang Bay Resort
Ranked #33 of 1,328 Hotels in Sanya
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort!”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed at the resort last weekend for 4D3N and had the most relaxing time. The lobby was massive, rooms were huge, the colour tones and design were great, except for a few minor glitches. The water from the shower doesn't drain properly, and the staff still needs a lot training(ie. brought wrong lugguages to our room, lack in english communication, couldn't find our confirmed reservation at the restaurant, etc.). The aquarium was great, except the restaurant was a bit smokey due to the open concept kitchen, and they brought us wagyu ribeye when we ordered sirlion. I loved how they have a desk in the room which can also be used as a table for 4 when you decide on having room service meals. It was pretty cool to have a tub on the balcony. The pools were nicely oriented and not crowded, where we always had the entire pool to ourselves. The beach was white, sandy and quiet with a cool ocean breeze during the afternoon. The wenchang chicken at the chinese restaurant was delicious.

Due to the location of the resort, we spent our entire trip there so we practically checked every corner out.

This is a beautiful and spacious resort for family, couples and friends. Do give this resort a shot while everything is brand new.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turtle_Flo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    23
    9
    4
    6
See reviews for
29
28
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

With family (one child 5yrs) we stayed 4 nights during the 2014 Chinese May holidays at this amazing IC. And what could be better than having a bath tub on the balcony watching the ocean and palm trees in the morning sun! Such Ocean View rooms are huge and have every comfort you wish for. My biggest thanks go to the whole F&B team!! The beach restaurant was the best place having dinner during heavy rain: good food, perfect service in a relaxed atmosphere. Not to forget: they even pick you up with their golf carts and you arrive (more or less) dry at the hotel lobby. Great service during thunderstorms. All the restaurants are as unique as the whole hotel decor is. Even the BBQ nights vary every day - so no need to eat every day the same. The "Aqua" Restaurant for sure will become one of the hottest restaurants in China (and not only in Sanya). The pool service with guards watching your kids, while daddy is having a beer, gets extra points. Any cons? Yes, there is one. On Haitang Bay, you are not allowed to swim in the ocean, because of dangerous waves & deepness at the beach - and this is valid for ALL hotels along Haitang Bay! And: Haitang Bay is the new Resort area of Sanya - if you want more action and food choices, shopping and night bars, then you better stay at the IC on Yalong Bay. Again: well done and congrats to the GM and his team! Will be back for sure!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liside-shanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
346 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of April. First impressions are wow...and it only gets better. A truly top intercontinental resorts, stylishly designed with beautiful wooden decor and amazing landscaping. We were upgraded and the room was huge and very luxurious with every you could possibly need and stunning views of the hotel and sea.

The restaurants options were good, the buffet breakfast was excellent with so much choice. The main restaurant had good dinner options and all well prepared and top quality. The BBQ by the beach was good, despite some teething problems on the opening night. We liked the free flow drinks options. Acqua was a highlight with a beautiful aquarium within the restaurant, book early to avoid disappointment.

The beach is stunning, but you cant swim. There is good shade provided as the sun is very strong.

The pools are great with an adult only option which we preferred. Be careful of the sun as the parasols by the pool do not offer much protection from the sun as we found out!

There are some issues with some staff not understanding English that well and it was frustrating that you couldn't charge items from the overpriced shop to your room. They should have cold water in the gym instead of the warm bottles provided. Providing bottled water at the pool would have been a nice touch, which we have been given at other similar hotels.

Apart from these minor points we absolutely loved this place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Don't miss this:
This April (2014) marked our eighth trip to China, but this time we were lucky enough to enjoy the non plus ultra on the island of Hainan. A hotel straight from paradise: beautifully located and furnished with modern, tasteful decoration throughout, stunning views of the ocean from all rooms, magnificient pools, a breath-taking landscaped garden, exquisite food (including the largest aqua restaurant of Asia) and attentive, helpful staff - all overseen by an Austrian General Manager. Top class in every respect and offering a unique opportunity to forget about your worries and just relax. We will be back as soon as possible! But this information is only meant for you - so don't tell anyone!!!

Room Tip: Stunning views of the ocean from all rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ge_erber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I have stayed and inspected numerous luxury hotels in China but this IC Hotel is one of my favorite ones, even though it just opened recently.

Spacious tastefully decorated rooms, all with seaview and specifically designed for golfers, a bath tub on the balcony and fantastic amenities including a top of the line fitness center are just a few strong arguments for this stunning hotel. The hotel´s signature restaurant, called "Aqua" is located underground with glass windows to China´s biggest saltwater aquarium and has propelled itself onto the top of the hot spot dining list in Sanya area just within a few months. Service is outstanding there, prebooking is absolutely required though.

There is no doubt that there are some minor language barriers, but the friendliness of the staff and the smiling faces definitely make up for them. Everybody is very caring and willing to go the extra mile to provide a fantastic stay.

Even though I was there for business this time, I did check out the services provided for golfers and was positively surprised to learn that the hotel has excellent arrangements with various golf courses, runs its own Golf Desk and is set up to cater for the needs of golfers.

I can highly recommend this top-notch hotel to my industry partners and all my friends and I will hopefully be back there very soon for a relaxing golf holiday myself.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eve969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel architecture is very fabulous. I especially like the use of wood in the lobby. The giant aquarium and the tube in it, is really great! You can also go to "aqua" restaurant and literally be in the aquarium. I did not eat there.
My room (0922) was huge and really luxurious with a nice view on the sea.
The food at the buffet (had no choice since I was attending a conference) was regular. Not a lot of choice. Quality on average.
I went to the spa : professional people and nice place. Not always perfectly clean as they ask you to share slippers everybody used before + I found a bandage stuck in the shower wall. Maybe I was not lucky...
The beach at the hotel is clean but don't expect to swim there as it is forbidden due to currents. I walked along the beach outside the hotel place: never seen such a disgusting beach, full of garbage + jellyfishes. On top of that some Chinese people are fishing using bombs, this is why you will find some dead fishes along the beach.
The karaoke somewhere around the hotel doesn't help to sleep as the room door is just on an open sky environment, so you can hear everything. Listening to Chinese karaoke is not the perfect lullaby.
I would recommend this place for work as it fits to international standards but not for a private stay if you really enjoy nice environments....

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidGR2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I've seen and stayed in a few 5* resorts in Hainan and although just recently opened, the IC Haitang Bay is definitely one of the best. The room is with 80 sqm more than spacious with a great view from the bed to the South China Sea. Rooms are very tastefully decorated with a lot of bright wood and very practically designed. The spacious balcony has a bathtub, a sofa and a wooden "curtain" than can be slided in place if needed.
There were some minor issues such as a bit an unsteady temperature flow in the (spacious) shower, but the management told me this will be resolved very soon, as it was an issue with the solar power system.
The lobby is massive in size, but also tastefully decorated and in general the whole hotel area is simply huge. Despite it only needs very little time to get from the room to the lobby or restaurants and the pool area. The design is very functional. The beach is huge and it's a beautiful 500 meters walk to get there (to give you an impression how huge the size is). So better double check that you didn't forget anything in the room when going to the beach.
The breakfast offers a wide choice of Western and Chinese fare and everything is excellent.
Also there is a 500 sqm kids Club which is nicely decorated and spotless clean with very friendly young ladies taking well care of the kids. Also it is right beside the pool and has toilets 5 meters away, with a 70 meter walk to the room elevators, so VERY practical for families with young kids.
For dining there is the impressively decorated Chinese restaurant which offers outstanding Chinese food (being myself over 10 years in China I can say without any doubt that the Chef is top of the line) and than there is Aqua, which is located underground with glass windows to the aquarium and dining here is more than an experience. They also open the sightseeing Aquarium tunnel for dining in the evening, but seats are limited and pre-booking a must.
Service is outstanding and way better than any other newly opened 5* Hotel I've encountered in China. Room service is fast (4-5 minutes for drinks) and all the employees super friendly and very professional, no matter in which area of the hotel.
All the hotels in Sanya I've been to have unique features but also every single of them has somewhere a massive downside. At IC Haitang Bay the only downside can be seen in the location. There is no bar street or restaurants in a reasonable walking distance outside the hotel. However, if you live like me in China, this is not really a downside, since if I want to experience local life, I would anyway not book a resort hotel. For golfers on the other hand the location is great as Haitang Bay is the ideal location to have access from Shenzhou (on the east coast of Hainan) to the courses in Sanya with a minimum of driving.

Conclusion:
For me definitely in every aspect currently one of the best, if not THE best Hotel in Hainan.

Room Tip: For families, take the wing to the south, as you will have it closer to the Kids Club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dolmala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Haitang Bay
The Westin Sanya Haitang Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Sanya EDITION
#6 of 1,328 in Sanya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Haitang Bay
Sheraton Sanya Haitang Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Sanya Haitang Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Sanya Haitang Bay Resort

Property: InterContinental Sanya Haitang Bay Resort
Address: No.128 Haitang North Road, Haitang Bay, Sanya 572013, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 1,328 Hotels in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Sanya Haitang Bay Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Sanya Haitang Bay Resort is a luxurious beachside resort nestled on the China’s renowned National Coast – Haitang Bay. Modern design with Hainan influence and lush landscaping which blends into the natural, the Resort is shaped like a dragon resting on the beach and stretches 150,000 square meters. All of the 294 rooms have an attractive open-plan design that overlooks the azure blue waters of the South China Sea. With a décor featuring tropical artwork, all rooms have spacious master bedrooms and private outdoor balconies with bathtubs overlooking the stunning ocean views.Featuring 7 restaurants and bars, we create the true taste and flavor of foods served from around the world. Besides, the conference facilities are provided with over 16,200 square meters of indoor and outdoor, the most impressive and technologically ballroom and meeting space in Hainan, for all kinds of functions and business retreats. Everything makes the perfect answer for an oasis to relax and getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Sanya Haitang Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing