We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Sanya Haitang Bay Resort
Ranked #34 of 1,328 Hotels in Sanya
Certificate of Excellence
Xi'an
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Hotel, highly recommended”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We had four rooms staying two nights, and the experience was wonderful. The rooms are quite large and very well appointed. The bathtub was right at the balcony, and the sea view is just amazing and breath-taking. The private beach is cleaner and less crowded than in other Bays in Sanya. Beatrice and her team are looking into every detail to create a very welcoming arriving experience. The concierge staffs are knowledgeable, professional and confident in giving sound suggestions. The staffs in the Front Desk and concierge took their time to interact with us, I only wish I could remembered their name or done this review sooner so that I would remember it as I always believe it is important to mention such great hospitality by name. I also encountered several housekeepers in my room and in the corridor, and they are so friendly and polite. I would definitely recommend this hotel and the employees that they should be very proud of their business. Last but not the least, I appreciate the duty manager Cherry to extend my room considering my late flight to catch.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lelellx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    23
    9
    4
    6
See reviews for
29
28
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at the resort for 3 nights. Before our arrival, I had already emailed the hotel to request for higher floor and upon arrival, we were allocated to the Superior Double Room on the 10th floor - which we were very pleased as it offered an unblocked view of the ocean overlooking the beautiful gardens of the hotel.

The size of the room is huge. King bed with a full sized bathroom. Deep soaking bath on the balcony, separate showers and toilet inside. There was a day bed both inside the room and on the balcony. All standard amenities were provided without the need to request for more.

We did not leave the hotel during the 3 days/nights. Accordingly, we tried out all of the restaurants there and whilst the food are not top-notch and not cheap, it was decent and offered us plenty to choose from. Beach was a good 5-7 min walk from the hotel but it was a pleasant walk along their perfect garden. The beach was very quiet (perhaps because the hotel was still relatively new) and we enjoyed every afternoon lying on the comfy sunbeds during our stay there. The pool was also empty most of the time, except between 5-7pm when more people would come down for a dip (since the blazing sun would have subsided during that time).

It was a beautiful hotel and staff was very helpful and nice (we can speak mandarin so that may have made a difference). We would not hesitate to come back again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlorieChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We choose two hotels in Sanya for our Family Day in this year , one is Luxury Collection in Haitang Bay , the other is InterContinental Sanya Haitang Bay Resort. The reason why we selected Intercontinental are : ( 1 ) My wife is a Platinum member in InterContinental ( 2 ) Haitang Bay Intercontinental just opened six months, relatively new ( 3 ) There is SeaWorld 's restaurant .

From just entered the lobby of the Intercontinental feel different, whispering gallery design makes extreme gorgeous, really impressive. Since we are Platinum members , Front Desk led us to dedicated member's area to make check-in. Service is initiative and warm.

When stepped in the room # 1520, we shocked to the immediate landscape, (unobstructed sea / absolute seaview room), which is exactly what we expect. Neat and clean rooms , there is a strong wood texture, fashion design, electronic equipment to easy operate, does not occupy the place.

Here, I want to say something about restaurant "Tianfu "; To be honest, it's hardly to find out a satisfactory Chinese style restaurant in Haitang Bay ; We stayed separately in Conrad, DT by Hilton, Luxury Collection, Ritz Carlton and the Pullman in Yalong Bay , almost no one restaurant to make us feel satisfied on taste, so at this time on the "Tianfu " we also try holding the mentality, and I did not expect to much, really did not expect, but "Tianfu " is by far the best flavored restaurant we ate ( cooking by Cantonese style ) , so we ate there a couple of days . When it comes to taste , while I have to mention the Director Ms. Sue Cao and her staff Miss Millie Liu, Sue's dining experience is very rich, learned from the chat, she was done with the whole idea of the other hotel's dining by a market research and analysis in Haitang Bay, to learn about the customer base catering requirements. Millie skilled professionally, understanding of customer needs, the service warm and patient, left us very impressed.

The hotel left us with the entire impression that : Almost every staff at all times that we met greeted enthusiastic initiative, this situation only if we live in the Mandarin Oriental Singapore time to appreciate, but it makes us lament, in today's Intercontinental Sanya Haitang Bay Resort, we have come to understand. Thank you

We hope to come back here in the next half year and feel enthusiasm from Intercontinental Haitang Bay Resort again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asia, Peru
Level Contributor
171 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

LOCATION: A taxi from Sanya Phoenix International Airport to the resort takes 40 minutes and costs 150 RMB. Located next door to the almost finished Haitang Bay International Shopping Centre.

HOTEL: Welcoming, competent front desk staff. Friendly, bell staff. Big, bright, clean room. Very efficient house keeper. Good bed and very good pillows and duvet. Very good shower. Huge balcony with bathtub. Nice view from the balcony overlooking the beach. Very good breakfast, but go there early in the morning to avoid the crowds. Very good restaurants, especially the Chinese restaurant, Tian Fu. Free in-room WIFI.

CONCLUTION: Though this is a very good hotel, only a few of the staff can speak English. At the nearby Sheraton Royal Begonia where our friends stayed, even fewer staff can speak English.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank HKasyouare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed at the resort last weekend for 4D3N and had the most relaxing time. The lobby was massive, rooms were huge, the colour tones and design were great, except for a few minor glitches. The water from the shower doesn't drain properly, and the staff still needs a lot training(ie. brought wrong lugguages to our room, lack in english communication, couldn't find our confirmed reservation at the restaurant, etc.). The aquarium was great, except the restaurant was a bit smokey due to the open concept kitchen, and they brought us wagyu ribeye when we ordered sirlion. I loved how they have a desk in the room which can also be used as a table for 4 when you decide on having room service meals. It was pretty cool to have a tub on the balcony. The pools were nicely oriented and not crowded, where we always had the entire pool to ourselves. The beach was white, sandy and quiet with a cool ocean breeze during the afternoon. The wenchang chicken at the chinese restaurant was delicious.

Due to the location of the resort, we spent our entire trip there so we practically checked every corner out.

This is a beautiful and spacious resort for family, couples and friends. Do give this resort a shot while everything is brand new.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turtle_Flo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

With family (one child 5yrs) we stayed 4 nights during the 2014 Chinese May holidays at this amazing IC. And what could be better than having a bath tub on the balcony watching the ocean and palm trees in the morning sun! Such Ocean View rooms are huge and have every comfort you wish for. My biggest thanks go to the whole F&B team!! The beach restaurant was the best place having dinner during heavy rain: good food, perfect service in a relaxed atmosphere. Not to forget: they even pick you up with their golf carts and you arrive (more or less) dry at the hotel lobby. Great service during thunderstorms. All the restaurants are as unique as the whole hotel decor is. Even the BBQ nights vary every day - so no need to eat every day the same. The "Aqua" Restaurant for sure will become one of the hottest restaurants in China (and not only in Sanya). The pool service with guards watching your kids, while daddy is having a beer, gets extra points. Any cons? Yes, there is one. On Haitang Bay, you are not allowed to swim in the ocean, because of dangerous waves & deepness at the beach - and this is valid for ALL hotels along Haitang Bay! And: Haitang Bay is the new Resort area of Sanya - if you want more action and food choices, shopping and night bars, then you better stay at the IC on Yalong Bay. Again: well done and congrats to the GM and his team! Will be back for sure!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liside-shanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
346 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of April. First impressions are wow...and it only gets better. A truly top intercontinental resorts, stylishly designed with beautiful wooden decor and amazing landscaping. We were upgraded and the room was huge and very luxurious with every you could possibly need and stunning views of the hotel and sea.

The restaurants options were good, the buffet breakfast was excellent with so much choice. The main restaurant had good dinner options and all well prepared and top quality. The BBQ by the beach was good, despite some teething problems on the opening night. We liked the free flow drinks options. Acqua was a highlight with a beautiful aquarium within the restaurant, book early to avoid disappointment.

The beach is stunning, but you cant swim. There is good shade provided as the sun is very strong.

The pools are great with an adult only option which we preferred. Be careful of the sun as the parasols by the pool do not offer much protection from the sun as we found out!

There are some issues with some staff not understanding English that well and it was frustrating that you couldn't charge items from the overpriced shop to your room. They should have cold water in the gym instead of the warm bottles provided. Providing bottled water at the pool would have been a nice touch, which we have been given at other similar hotels.

Apart from these minor points we absolutely loved this place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Haitang Bay
The Westin Sanya Haitang Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Sanya EDITION
#5 of 1,328 in Sanya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Haitang Bay
Sheraton Sanya Haitang Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Sanya Haitang Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Sanya Haitang Bay Resort

Property: InterContinental Sanya Haitang Bay Resort
Address: No.128 Haitang North Road, Haitang Bay, Sanya 572013, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 1,328 Hotels in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Sanya Haitang Bay Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Sanya Haitang Bay Resort is a luxurious beachside resort nestled on the China’s renowned National Coast – Haitang Bay. Modern design with Hainan influence and lush landscaping which blends into the natural, the Resort is shaped like a dragon resting on the beach and stretches 150,000 square meters. All of the 294 rooms have an attractive open-plan design that overlooks the azure blue waters of the South China Sea. With a décor featuring tropical artwork, all rooms have spacious master bedrooms and private outdoor balconies with bathtubs overlooking the stunning ocean views.Featuring 7 restaurants and bars, we create the true taste and flavor of foods served from around the world. Besides, the conference facilities are provided with over 16,200 square meters of indoor and outdoor, the most impressive and technologically ballroom and meeting space in Hainan, for all kinds of functions and business retreats. Everything makes the perfect answer for an oasis to relax and getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Sanya Haitang Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing