We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the money.”
Review of Resort Golden Palm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Resort Golden Palm
Ranked #53 of 1,330 Hotels in Sanya
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good value for the money.”
Reviewed 22 November 2009

This hotel is a good value for the money. If you want 4 pools and 6 restaurants to choose from, this isn't the place for you. The pool was big and nice. The hotel is not on the beach but 5 minute walk across the road and down a short path. I found the staff very friendly. Buffet breakfast was always good. I didn't eat in the restaurants so I can't evaluate. I usually walked 15 minutes down to a shopping complex that had several restaurant and bar choices and tried those or I took a taxi to Sanya. Sanya is 45 minutes from Yalong Bay but Yalong Bay area is very clean. I found Sanya to be quite a dirty place, yet interesting. The hotel doesn't really have much as far a nightlife/bar. If you are looking for peace and quite, it is good. Granted, I visited in June which is off season. I wouldn't hesitate to stay again. I was very happy with the choice.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stirfry91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    412
    44
    14
    5
See reviews for
15
39
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
132 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2009

We have stayed at this hotel twice now, each stay for 1 week. Overall, we like this hotel. Though it doesn't sit on the beach, it has a nice, long private beach across the street. The hotels private beach has a volleyball court, a roped off swimming area with lifeguards and a lot of sun chairs.

The breakfast buffet was good with a good combination of Chinese and Western choices. The seafood buffet they offer each night for dinner is good, but go early. Once the food is gone, there will not be more. If you arrive a half an hour after the buffet has started, don't bother going. Most of the best seafood will be gone and they will not bring out any more.

The hotel has 2 good sized swimming pools and 1 large kiddy pool. The pools were all well maintained and were quite relaxing.

The room size was okay. The rooms were in good, but not perfect condition. There was evidence of wear and tear in the bathrooms as well as in a few other places in the room.

The Resort Golden Palm is a decent choice, but there are many other hotels on Yalong Bay that are considerably better that offer great views of the beach.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surmang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, Kent
Level Contributor
101 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2009

Having arranged a rather hectic tour of China we opted to finish our trip off with a few days relaxation at Yalong Bay but really wish we hadn't bothered. On a positive note our room was clean and adequately equipped and after two weeks of rather firm beds elsewhere in China we welcomed the softer matresses here. However, as our room was located on a corner of the building our balcony was tiny and the chairs and table old and tatty.

The pool area was nicewith plenty of sunloungers and the hammocks dotted around were pleasant to relax in. The beach was a short stroll away and whilst I have been to far more atrractive beaches elsewhere in Asia it was very clean and although the hotel was busy there were plenty of free loungers everytime we went down.

Our major problems with this hotel surrounded the catering. At breakfast the restaurant just could not cope with the numbers. We tried different times but there was always a problem finding a table and whilst there was a good range of potential options to eat the reality was that various items ran out and those that didn't run out were often luke warm.

Evening dining options at this hotel were very limited- a seafood bbq at 168 yuan per person (£16.00) or an a la carte chinese restaurant. Both restaurants were promoted as being open until 10pm but when we went to the bbq before 8.30 we found that much of the food had run out and there was no fresh supplies to come. There were no deserts left at all and there was only one meat option. On top of that the containers of side dishes were largely empty or the burners had gone out and the food was cold. When we queried this we were more or less told it was tough luck. We understand that in Chinese culture the evening meal is usually eaten early but our point was that if the restaurant is advertised as operating until 10pm, 8.30 is hardly leaving it late, especially when the cost of the meal wasn't exactly low. Similarly we understand that there may have been a reason why supplies had run low felt that in that situation the staff could at least infrom customers before they sign the meals costs to the room so that they can make an informed decision. Eventually after speaking to one of the managers we were given food from the room service menu which was very nice but we weren't asked what we wanted to eat and there was no question of even a partial refund.

The next night we opted for the a la carte restaurant. Large posters outside the hotel advertised a promotion for a selection of dishes at a fixed price but when we tried to access this we were told no such promotion existed. We assumed we had made a mistake and read an advert for a different restaurant or that it was a lunchtime offer but when we checked the next day it was clearly there.

For our last couple nights we chose to eat outside of the hotel, including at a nearby hotel where the food was far superior and the prices much lower.

Another issue with this hotel linked to catering was that at lunchtime almost all of the seating around the lobby was taken over for the lunchtime buffet. On our last day the weather was poor and we had several hours to kill between checking out and leaving for the airport. We ordered drinks and cakes and settled down to play cards only to be told once our drinks were finished we had to move. If there had been anywhere else to go and sit this would not have been a problem but there wasn't as lots of other guests were in the same position as us.

All in all this hotel fell way short of what we would expect from a 4* resort, and we are certainly not hard to please. We can only assume that those guests that have expressed far more positive experiences visited when the hotel was quieter or they have not travelled widely in other Asian countries and hence are not aware of how much more you get for your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
139 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2008

Resort Golden Palm is very close to the beach in Yalong Bay, Sanya. Note that for westerners, the beauty of this beach is strongly overrated, and a pacific island may be a more appropriate beach destination. Also Yalong Bay is far from most of the attractions in Sanya, except for the beach and a bevy of overpriced resorts.

The Resort Golden Palm had no trace of our booking, so we waited for a few tense minutes while they did some checking. Eventually the somewhat dour receptionist gave us a family suite overlooking the beach. This set of rooms was huge and very convenient, and a great deal for the price we paid. The poolside is very impressive, and there were some swings right next to the lake, which gave a very romantic atmosphere. We ate at the resort several times and in general had no complaints about either the food or its price.

However, one day we requested in room breakfast by hanging the order slip on the doorknob well before the cut-off time. By the next day, when we reached the time for our breakfast, there was no sign of it, and the slip was still on the doorknob. We called the room service to complain, and to order the breakfast we wanted. One hour later, they delivered the food, but it was different to what we wanted, and much smaller than expected. My wife complained to them, and they told us they they did not have the supplies, so substituted where necessary without informing us first. It was still quite tasty, but we recommend visitors go to the dining room for breakfast rather than requesting inroom service.

  • Liked — Room was spacious and had a great view
  • Disliked — Staff were extremely forgetful and not prepared to be accountable
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SingaporeMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcester uk
Level Contributor
163 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2007

What a wonderful place. Buffet breakfast and dinner, although a la carte also available in the evenings. Very quiet location, yalong bay is purely a hotel complex, therefore nothing to do except relax. Fabulous beach a stones throw from hotel entrance. Beautiful swimming pool. Excellent staff, english spoken by most staff. Room spacious and clean. We absolutely loved it.

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — lack of things to do
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank travelexpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2006

We spent 9 days at this hotel over the main holiday week and I have to say the staff are lovely and try very hard to help you, but their English is limited.

One small moan they were slow at cleaning the rooms, one day it was nearly 6pm before our room was finished.

Don't let this put you off though, I would go again, the pool area is delightful and you can sit on a chair swing or hammock over looking a lake.

I wish I had stayed longer there and I would definately go back.

  • Liked — Pool area
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank laney_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2006

We have just returned from a 10 day holiday at this wonderful resort and we would like to recommend it to others who would like a relaxing holiday by a beautiful beach in southern China. The staff is friendly and helpful and have enough English language skills to be able to assist guests with most requests. We stayed in a spacious and comfortable 'deluxe seaview room' on the 6th floor and I would definitely recommend staying on that side of the resort. The ground floor garden view looked over the large pool (hammocks and lounges abound!) and might have been a little noisy if you wanted an afternoon nap. There is an ATM in the foyer, the food in the 2 restaurants was tasty and snacks were available in the small lounge area at the front of the resort. There are very few alternative options for eating in Yalong Bay itself beyond the various resorts, but a 5 yuan ride on the regular blue double decker bus that plies the resort areas along the coast will take you to an area frequented by Chinese folks where the seafood is cheap and fresh. Just point at what you want and they will indicate the price per kg on the calculator. I had fresh shrimp for 18 yuan per 500 grams (compared to 120 yuan I was quoted at one hotel at the end of the strip!). A taxi ride to and from the airport will cost 100 yuan, and a trip to Sanya city will be about 50. The resort's section of the beach was always much less busy than those which were allocated to other resorts either side of us. The water was crystal clear, the sand clean and wooden deck chairs with umbrellas were available for lounging. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
22 Thank LouiseLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Yalong Bay
Universal Resort
Universal Resort
#338 of 1,330 in Sanya
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
MGM Grand Sanya
#11 of 1,330 in Sanya
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort Golden Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort Golden Palm

Property: Resort Golden Palm
Address: Yalong Bay National Resort District, Sanya 572016, China
Region: China > Hainan > Sanya > Yalong Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Sanya
#27 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
#50 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort Golden Palm 4*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Resort Golden Palm is located in Sanya, a famous tropical seashore city, in Hainan Province in south China sea. It is situated in Yalong Bay National Resort District, a beautiful national AAAA level scenic spot that is the most extremely geographical position for tour and holiday. It is a national four star multifunction resort. You can take a leisure vacation, traveling and sightseeing in the Sanya area. The Resort also caters to commercial conferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Resort Golden Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Golden Palm Hotel Sanya
Hotel Golden Palm
Golden Palm Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing