We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sheraton Sanya Resort
Ranked #22 of 1,330 Hotels in Sanya
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good value restaurant”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

I did not stay at the hotel, just stopped by walking on the beach. The hotel is right on the beach(don't look at the map.

The garden is superb, very nice atmosphere in the restaurant. Surprisingly not very expensive as you would expect in such places, and when i get my tuna salad(98rmb) it was really good and the club sandwich very fresh and tasty, enough for 2 people, with drinks altogether just over 200 rmb with drinks. I recommend the stop so after a long walk in the afternoon on the beach we decided to go there for dinner. Super tenderloin, so tasty and so tender, 1000 rmb meal for 2 with a bottle of chilean wine, definitely a restaurant to recommend

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rcheung, Manager at Sheraton Sanya Resort, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your valuable comments.
Your feedback is very precious for us.
We're engaged in improving our food quality and choices, as well as the service standard all the time. We sincerely welcome you to stay with us next time so that you can fully experience our 5-star services.
Thank you again for your comments, it's our pleasure to serve you during the Chinese New Year Holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,864 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    842
    891
    96
    21
    14
See reviews for
73
82
12
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I have stayed here 1 night during the Chinese New Year and it was the poorest experience I had with the Sheraton.

I arrived with my car and wanted to park, they refused me because I had no card or receipt that I checked in, so I drive to the lobby, they say I can't park there, so I ask where can I park? They say in the parking space area. So I drive down again and they refuse me again with a bad attitude and I'm unable to park. At the end, I park in the front of the lobby, check in and finally can park normally.

The rooms are ok, I paid a high 800 dollars a night because of Chinese New Year holiday.

There is a nice garden and beach, before you go to the beach they will check you if you really live in the hotel, again they ask you your room card rudely and without a smile.

I have been to the neighbor hotels, The Marriott and Ritz Carlton and there mentality is so much better and more professional, that I will book with them next time.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Littlegerald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rcheung, Manager at Sheraton Sanya Resort, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your valuable feedback and comments. We are saddened to learn of your experience during your recent stay.
With the festive season, we have initiated steps to ensure our guests are able to enjoy the hotel facilities and services, however, in this instance; we did not manage this appropriately with your encounter at the driveway and at the beach.
Our guests' comfort is very important to us and we strive constantly to evolve and improve. We have reviewed and taken necessary steps to enliven our guests’ experience.
Thank you once again for your comments. We sincerely look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
87 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Hotel is really nice with no gaudy color scheme to hurt your eye. Service was good tho' a little more smile is preferred but gym staffs were the best.
Food at the Chinese restaurant was very good and the pasta at cafe was good also. Breakfast is ordinary and tho' a buffet, like a war zone. Also, while having breakfast, a women had her kid peed into the reflection pool and the next morning, a woman next to us sneezed on to the floor and wiped snout on her chair.
There was a big wedding celebration when I was there and the place was really noisy, not necessary from the music but from the loud voices on the cell and the "yelling" type of conversation to each other.
The room director Brett and Chris(?) at the cafe were very nice.
On and all, I had a good time there and enjoyed playing tennis away from the crowd. All the unpleasantness from the clientele should be expected, after all, Hainan is China and these people drive the economy today.

Room Tip: The view is worth picking a room with a balcony on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank john l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rcheung, Manager at Sheraton Sanya Resort, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for staying with Sheraton Sanya Resort.
We appreciate that you have taken the time to share with us your feedback.
It is a pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed the hotel facilities and service, despite the inconvenience caused. We value your comments and will strive to improve.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you in the near future and to showcase our Sheraton hospitality.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This hotel is located on the most beautiful clean beach. The Chinese are not great lovers of swimming and sun bathing so the beach was always very quiet. The sea was clear and warm and there was absolutely no rubbish lying around.
The hotel itself was wonderful with magnificent gardens and about five swimming pools dotted around. Service was exceptional with management always on hand to help when necessary, although the staff couldn't be more helpful.
This is the best international standard hotel in which I have stayed - and there have been many.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank colin whalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rcheung, Manager at Sheraton Sanya Resort, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Dear guest,
It is a delight to learnt that you have enjoyed your stay with us at Sheraton Sanya Resort.
Your comments are well received and we appreciate that you have taken valuable time to share with us your feedback. We will definitely share this with our colleagues.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and to create yet another memorable stay.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYCha
Level Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

A good hotel, and very nice location (if you don't mind isolated from the city). Services are good, and up to SPG standard. Restaurants were good also, but there are only 2 restaurants in the hotel, one for Chinese, one for Western.

I enjoyed the hotel, the beach, but not quite relax. There were several meetings in the hotel, while I stayed. One afternoon, I saw many bodyguards standing on the beach (2 people for every 10 meters). No one knew who was in the hotel, but felt like someone was here. After 30 minutes, they were gone. Later I found out the Sheraton was considered the official hotel for lots of government activities in Sanya. I don't mind it, but it felt like it was not quite relax if I really want to have a paradise without any other activity.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rcheung, Manager at Sheraton Sanya Resort, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for staying with us and leaving us the valuable comments.
We highly appreciate your reviews and we'll improve our service accordingly.
It's our pleasure that you have a nice stay and enjoy our beach and sea a lot.
We actually have three restaurants opening in the hotel, one Chineses restaurant, one western, one Southeast Asian, which represent different dinning preferences of all our guests.
We sincerely welcome you back for your next tropical vacation to explore more about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Just returned from my 3rd trip to Sanya. The city claims itself as China's Hawaii and attracts tourists from all over China seeking warm warmth and sunshine. The weather there lives up to its reputation, right temperature and perfect humidity. But like the rest of China, air quality is getting worse with a thick layer of grey haze overshadowing the otherwise blue sky.

The positives: hotel is centrally located in the prestine Yalong Bay, with fine white sandy beach and clean sea water for swimming. Rooms are spacious and clean.

The negatives: service is laid back and sometime lacking (although no tipping is required). A popular site for corporate functions, it is common to see mid-aged Chinese businessmen sitting in the lobby or restaurant enjoying a smoke while chatting loudly.

Bottom line: If you have young children or enjoy quiet relaxation, this may not be the perfect hotel for you.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DPK-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rcheung, Manager at Sheraton Sanya Resort, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for staying with us and leaving us the valuable comments.
We really appreciate your detailed feedback which we can always learn from and improve our service accordingly.
As a resort, we also have numerous meeting groups, corporate and government guests staying in house. We will pay more attention in the future trying to keep a quiet environment for all every guest.
Please do stay with us in your next stay, we're pretty sure seaside is always pleasant and welcoming.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We didn't actually stay in this hotel since the cost was a little bit more than our budget. However, we did some researches and found out the Mandara Spa located in this hotel was very good so we went there and had a wonderful experiences. The service, staff and everything is up to international standard and not to mention how good my skin is after the spa!!! :)

Room Tip: Cannot miss the Mandara Spa!!!
See more room tips
Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CSSNAKEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rcheung, Manager at Sheraton Sanya Resort, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for visiting our hotel and trying our SPA at Mandara.
It's our pleasure to offer you a complete refreshment from the tiredness of urban life, and we are very glad that you enjoy the treatment we offer and the service provided by our friendly and professional staff.
We are sincerely welcome you to stay with us next time, maybe in the low season when we offer various packages for family and friends.
Thank you again for visiting us and leaving the valuable comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Hedong
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
#3 of 1,330 in Sanya
913 reviews
Yalong Bay
The Ritz-Carlton Sanya, Yalong Bay
Yalong Bay
Hilton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
MGM Grand Sanya
#11 of 1,330 in Sanya
438 reviews
Yalong Bay
Sanya Marriott Yalong Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Sanya Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Sanya Resort

Property: Sheraton Sanya Resort
Address: Yalong Bay National Resort District, Sanya 572000, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sanya
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Sanya
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sanya
#20 Spa Hotel in Sanya
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
#21 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
#44 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Sanya Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“The Official Resort of Miss World” for three consecutive years, the beachfront Sheraton Sanya Resort in the Yalong Bay National Resort District overlooks white beaches and inviting tropical gardens. Known as the “Hawaii of China”, Hainan Island is a paradise for creating memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Sanya Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sanya Hotel Sanya
Sanya Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing