We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEWARE: Beautiful TRAP!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort
Ranked #22 of 1,347 Hotels in Sanya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2013

There's no doubt that the facilities are very nice and show well -especially in pics but you'll leave feeling abused. The reason for my below average rating is that everything is a taxi ride away, and faced with that obstacle, many will just decide to eat and shop right at the hotel. When you do, you'll get taken to the cleaners. Don't take my word for it, I'm posting photos of a few prices so you can see for yourself. Here's an example: 1 diet coke (can) $6 USD (36yuan). That's not room service -that's in the restaurant. Even tea and water will cost you and you can't drink the water in this hotel.

There are a handful of small shops at the hotel selling the usual stuff but also some "luxury" goods you've never heard of. What you need to understand about places like this in China is that the Chinese have very few in-country options and almost no experience. They flock to places like this with credit cards in hand and lack any understanding of value. It's no fun to compete with the unsophisticated. Although we can all pay $6 for a coke, we shouldn't and these folks don't understand that.

The rooms are definitely dated. Even worse, they weren't clean. The grounds aren't bad -not world class but certainly better than the rooms. Beware the cancellation policy (one day BEFORE arrival) because you can't back out once you actually see the rooms.

The concierge was not much help either. At least two of them didn't speak any english at all. You'll be better off going online -but that (like everything else) will cost you. The best way to describe this hotel is like an All-inclusive where NOTHING is included.

It's also one of the farthest hotels from the airport but as long as the taxi uses a meter, it's not unreasonable. Nearby, there's a nice mountain park (rainforest) which isn't bad but doesn't compare with what you'll see in Singapore. You'll spend a half day there and you can do some pretty good hiking if you bring the right shoes. There's also a place nearby called Underwater World which you'll want to avoid.

When you land, I recommend avoiding all the taxi drivers that will almost assault you as you leave the secure area. Just outside the doors and across the single drop-off lane, there's a formal taxi queue (with a roof just in case it's raining) and we got a taxi that plays by the rules without having to wait at all. The taxi drivers trying to grab you are hoping you don't know what you're doing and are trying to get you to agree to a fixed off-meter ride back to the city. They aren't the authorized airport taxis, they're just taxis that have dropped off their pax and want a fare-paying return. I can't blame them -but make sure they use the meter (most will not want to).

A MUCH MUCH better hotel is the Sheraton Four Points. It's nicer than almost any Four Points by Sheraton that I've ever seen and if you get a suite, you won't be disappointed. It's new, rooms are clean and modern. It's right on the beach and they have a pool that's clean. Another surprise was that they DON'T gouge you for every little thing like the Sanya Resort did. Even the movies on TV (usually pay-per-view) are free. The location of the Four Points is also better since it's right down town. Lots of nice restaurants and if you want to go to the rain forest, the taxi will only be $58yuan (under $10 USD) each way. Everyone I talked to at Four Points spoke english and went out of their way to be helpful.

I will never return to the Sanya Resort and I don't recommend them. I actually cut my stay there in half (spending the second half in Four Points) even though I paid a penalty for doing so. If I return, I will book the Four Points without any hesitation. They were great.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and none seemed up to date. Wish I could say what the secret was to get a good...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonSanya, Manager at Sheraton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Dear A.W
May we thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write this review. We sincerely apologize that we were unable to provide you with the exceptional stay you've come to expect from us. We were concerned to read of your disappointment on the room presentation and that you have missed important service details on your recent journey .Your appreciated comment have been taken up by the concerned departments for a detailed review and an improvement where needed. You might want to contact us via email Michael.hoevel@sheraton.com so that we can communicate and learn further on your feedback.

Michael Hoevel, Executive Assistant manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,878)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 1,878 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2013

The resort is very nice from the rooms down to the facilities. The service staff were very good. The prices at the restaurant is alright and the food was not bad. The resort leads down to a beach which is very clean. Nearby is a hut with scuba diving, parasailing and other activities. There are 3 outdoor pools but no indoor pools so the options are limited if it is raining.

Next door is MGM Grand which has a bar and karaoke rooms. Next to that is the Mangrove Tree Hotel which has a good Thai restaurant.

Breakfast at the resort is very good, there were a lot of options.

The resort is around 40 minutes to town and there is not much nearby.

Only complaint is that massage services are extremely expensive (the cheapest is around 500RMB).

A taxi from the airport costs 100RMB by the meter (but some drivers insist on charging 150RMB).

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chickenvspeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonSanya, Manager at Sheraton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear Peter,
Greetings from the sunny island of Hainan. Thank you very much for staying with Sheraton Sanya Resort and leaving us great feedback.
It is our pleasure to offer you an impressive tropical environment, and to provide service done from the heart. We are so happy you like the environment and facilities and enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for your comments, we sincerely welcome you back for your next tropical stay! May be next time for you vacation, I have shared you comments already with our Team .

Michael Hoevel, Executive Assistant manager .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Spent one week on business and found the staff very friendly and helpful. Room was a great size, facilities were above average, grounds and pools were kept to a high quality. Loved the fish in all the pools. Great view to the beach and sea.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonSanya, Manager at Sheraton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2013

Dear Dave,
Thank you very much for choosing Sheraton Sanya Resort and leaving us great feedback.
It is our pleasure to offer you an impressive tropical vacation, and to provide you amiable services. We are so happy you like the environment and facilities and enjoyed your business trip here.
Thanks for your comments, we sincerely welcome you back for your next tropical stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Hardware is little bit old but staff are very nice and thoughtful, they even can plan your stay in sanya and arrange the rountine. Outside garden is very nice and suitble for kids. Rooms arenot very special.Generally suitable for gateaway

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Radiationray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonSanya, Manager at Sheraton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for staying with Sheraton Sanya Resort and leaving us great feedback.
It is our pleasure to offer you an impressive tropical vacation, and to provide you amiable services. We are so happy you like the environment and facilities and enjoyed your vacation with us.
Thanks for your comments, we sincerely welcome you back for your next tropical stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Perhaps we were a bit unlucky with our stay as a typhoon passed by the second day. The resort is quite nice, but I felt it was way too big. There was no real atmosphere wherever you decided to sit down. The breakfast area was big and crowded and the lobby area also felt very big and noisy. The swimming pools were really nice and well maintained, and you had plenty of options to find your own "hidden" spot. The beach was also very nice even though it was closed due to the typhoon.
Our room was quite far away from the lobby, but it was clean and nice. No wireless network there. Nice bathroom and good bed. I also tried the fitness center several times and it had all the equipment you need (treadmills with LCD and a lot of other fitness equipment).
We tried the "nightclub" a couple of times, but it closed at 12PM....so it is more like a dayclub.
Some of the staff in the lobby and restaurants struggled to understand our English.
If you want to try some other places to eat, there is a nice restaurant complex 5 minutes away in a taxi. You can also walk there, turn right when you are down at the main road.

We just checked the prices directly at the hotel as we planned to perhaps return for the Christmas vacation. I was very surpised as the list price was CNY 2500-3000+ per room per night, while we payed just CNY 4800 for a three night stay inclusive round-trip flight tickets with Spring Airlines from Shanghai/Hongqiao and breakfast/lunch. However, this was a group tour for almost 40 people.

Room Tip: They have some nice rooms on the first floor with direct access to the swimmingpool.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ratata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonSanya, Manager at Sheraton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Dear Ratata,

Thank you for your valuable feedback which we take very seriously and encourage from all our guests. It is extremely unfortunate the your stay with us coincided with what so far has been the worst typhoon to affect us this year. We certainly hope it will be the last of the Typhoon season for 2012.

It sounds however that you found our service and facilities met your expectations generally and although we are aware of the shortcomings of some of our associates english abilities, we are working hard to improve their language skills to meet our 5Star international branding. I was surprised to hear that our nightclub had closed at 12midnight as our policy is to stay open as long as guests are in the club and enjoying themselves. I have taken this up with our Food & Beverage Director to ensure this policy is adhered to and am quite confident this was an isolated case. Perhaps it was because of the typhoon as I remember it was quite violent that night.

Please remember that high season will soon be upon us and will last through to late March and we can expect extremely high occupancies over the next 5 months. We always have great opportunities in our off season months of summer so please keep an eye on our comprehensive website which reflects these deals as they become available.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sunny Sanya and the Sheraton Sanya Resort on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

The drive to the property is a bit long (around 45 minutes) but the property is well worth the visit. Nice rooms, good baths, good internet service, and beutiful views. The grounds are beautiful. Multiple pools, restuarants, beach activities make this an exceelend get away for business, couples or families. There are also some wonderful, exclusive bungalos on property. The service was flawless, the food very good - fresh and well prepared - though more geared towards plenty of varieties, choices than anything novel. Would definately go again.

Room Tip: The higher floors have the better views and less noisefrom pool and grounds.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2deer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonSanya, Manager at Sheraton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2012

Dear guest,
It is a delight to learnt that you have enjoyed your stay with us at Sheraton Sanya Resort.
Your comments are well received and we appreciate that you have taken valuable time to share with us your feedback.It is our pleasure to offer you an impressive tropical vacation, and to provide you amiable services.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and to create yet another memorable stay.
Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I was very satisfied with my stay here, 40 minutes away from Sanya Airport. Located on Yalong Bay amongst various other hotels along the beach. It is almost right in the middle of about ten hotels along the beach, although you would never realise this until you look at a map or walk along the beach. Marriot, Hilton, Ritz Carlton and MGM plus others. Having walked around the exterior of the fore-mentioned hotels, Sheraton seem to have the most spacious exterior with more swimming pools than the others. If you like to have direct access to the lagoon pool, you may request odd numbered rooms 1103-1131 situated on the ground level. Expect greater noise levels though since the children playing in the pool will be right outside your balcony. One of the restaurants is under renovation, so the choice of restaurant was limited to only two while I was there, a cafe and a Chinese restaurant. The service is good and staff are very polite. The gym is a bit small but hardly any one used it while I was there.

Room Tip: If you like to have direct access to the lagoon pool, you may request odd numbered rooms 1103-1131 s...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fatfeimao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonSanya, Manager at Sheraton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for staying with Sheraton Sanya Resort and leaving us great feedback.
It is our pleasure to offer you an impressive tropical vacation, and to provide you amiable services.The Grand Deluxe Laguna View Room is one of the most popular room types in our hotel, we are so happy you enjoyed your vacation with us.
Thanks for your comments, we sincerely welcome you back for your next tropical stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Yalong Bay
Hilton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort & Spa
MGM Grand Sanya
#15 of 1,347 in Sanya
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Haitang Bay
Sheraton Sanya Haitang Bay Resort
Yalong Bay
The Ritz-Carlton Sanya, Yalong Bay
Yalong Bay
Sanya Marriott Yalong Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort

Address: Yalong Bay National Resort District, Sanya 572000, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sanya
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Sanya
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sanya
#21 Spa Hotel in Sanya
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
#21 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
#41 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
Price Range: £81 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Sanya Resort, located in the heart of the world-class resort district of Yalong Bay, overlooks the clear waters of the gleaming sun-kissed South China Sea and possesses a fascinating beach. It is approximately 40-minute drive from the Sanya Phoenix International Airport, 15-minute drive from Yalong Bay Railway Station, 5-minute walk from Yalong Bay Tropical Paradise Forest Park and 5-minute drive from the Yalong Bay Outlets. The Resort is equipped with 511 guest rooms including 49 suites and 5 villas, which are spacious and elegant. Each of the room and suite commands spectacular views of the ocean, the tropical lush gardens, mountains or the golf course. All villas have ocean views and direct access to the beach. With a selection of 8 restaurants and bars including Palm Court Lobby Bar, Lotus Café All Day Dining, Spice Garden, Baiyun Chinese Restaurant, Pool Bar, CU Restaurant, Beach Garden and Samba Night Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sanya Hotel Sanya
Sanya Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing