We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hainan: the Chinese Hawaii”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort
Ranked #21 of 1,346 Hotels in Sanya
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hainan: the Chinese Hawaii”
Reviewed 5 August 2009

When people told me that Hainan (China) was the Chinese Hawaii, i was of course skeptical. But I learned first hand that the South-East Chinese island was at least as much. The Sheraton hotel was great in accomodations; the Exective Chef and Manager of the hotel were always eager to help and receive feedback. Morning breakfast (brunch?) was the best: I have never seen such great variety of food and the best surrounding to enjoy it (under waterfalls offering a cool breeze). The location is great, but the native Chinese are doing their best to destroy it (as they do elsewhere on the Chinese continent). Also, be aware of the crooks! Not only will the beach loiterers rip you off, the restaurants will overcharge you as well. Good idea: settle on the menu price before you order, or you'll be stuck with a 1000+++ RMB bill! Or, you could just bstay in the Sheraton resort and have no such worries! Enjoy (it will not last)!

Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank whirled_trevolar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    848
    891
    96
    21
    14
See reviews for
73
83
12
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London / Wiltshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2009

Highly luxurious stay at the Sheraton with family including 3 under 10s. Great facilities including pools and beach. Stayed in a suite with two large rooms two bathrooms, very clean and stylish.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2009

Overall a very pleasing experience! Spacious hotel is well designed, and on huge grounds, beautifully lush and well tended. Rooms are spacious and decorated to a good standard. There are 4 to 5 pools, all beaufitul.

Some cons: Food is overall lousy in Sanya, and service below par in Asia. English limited. Evn tho hotel is on a beach, the view is not all that wonderful. And there are a zillion tourists tramping around from other cheaper resorts, wearing some strange hawaiian type shirt and matching shorts! That cheapened the whole experience a bit. Also nothing much to do in the Sanya overall. But if you are just there to lounge for a couple of days it's OK.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Resortenthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2009

Nice hotel but a lot of tacky chain-smoking guest

We stayed in the Sheraton Sanya from Dec. 31st, 2008 - January 8th,2009.

First to the not so nice part of the Sheraton Hotel : Tacky guests
95 % of the guest are from Russia or China. Nothing wrong with that but I have never seen so many poorly dressed and tacky guests at a 5 Star Hotel (and I do not mean the Chinese guests). Pack your muscle shirts, wear worn out shoes and take some plastic bags as handbags and you will be fine at Sheraton Sanya.
In addition the Russians and many Chinese are chain smoking and on a busy day at the beach you can hardly breath fresh air because you are surrounded by cigarette smoke.


I regret that I did not book the Ritz-Carlton. We went there to check it out and it was wonderful (even though I have to admit that the garden of the Sheraton is nicer). The beach part of the Ritz-Carlton is a lot quieter because until now it is the last hotel at Yalong Bay.
The guest we saw there were decent and the hotel had a 5 Star atmosphere and class!


Airport pick up:
As requested the hotel picked us up from the airport (charge is 300 CNY = approx. 30 Euros for an airport pick up in a Buick). Everything worked out fine.

Check-in:
The check-in was super quick and we did not have to wait at all.

Rooms:
We had booked a Deluxe Sea View Room, which we found out does not mean frontal view of the ocean. From our room/balcony you could see a bit of the ocean and ALL balconies of the Marriott Hotel next door. :-(
The room size is sufficient for two people and pleasantly furnished (modern furniture, beech coloured wood, nice bathroom).

Breakfast:
The very first morning the official breakfast room was full so we had to have breakfast in another “restaurant” in the basement. The restaurant rooms had the charm of a McDonalds. The second morning they tried again to send us to the windowless basement breakfast room (even though we could see plenty of free tables outside) but this time we demanded to wait.
The rest of our stay we had breakfast on the terrace of the official breakfast room with a nice view of the garden and fish pond. The service was nice, the Cappuccino good, the buffet ok (bread tasted like paper, Croissants dry, banana cake good, fruits fresh). There is also a huge selection of Chinese breakfast which we did not try but it looked yummy.

Beach / sun loungers:
The beach is nice with clean white sand and clear water. It would be nice if the stuff could clean the bird [-] from the sun loungers cushions.

Service
We can not complain about that. Everybody was helpful and nice and most of the staff knows a bit English. Should you have special wishes or needs you probably have to speak to the management or find Chinese guests who can translate for you.For example I asked the lady at the guest relation desk if the sellers at the beach sell real pearl necklaces (or if they are all fake) and she did not get at all what I wanted to know from her.

Prices:
Well, eating and drinking at the Sheraton is no bargain. 1Liter Evian costs 88 CNY=8,80 Euros, Cola= 35 CNY= 3,50 Euros, Pizza Margarita 120 CNY= 12 Euros, Salmon 220 CNY=22 Euros, etc.) Internet is 40 CNY for one hour and 80 CNY for one day. In Beijing the Internet was for free.
A 10 minute walk away is a small shopping center with restaurants, supermarket and clothes shops.
What really felt like a ripp off -besides the price for water -was that you had to pay 148 CNY to play ping-pong at the beach. They have two volleyball nets at the beach and if you want to borrow a ball and rackets you have to pay.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ClaudiaMunich2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2008

Bottom line is that this hotel has the best location on Yalong Bay, and the 5 star rating is deserved.

We spent the week there mid Aug 08. We are UK/Spanish expats living in China with 2 children 12/15. Basic idea was to relax, swim, eat, drink, sleep.

Hotel staff - every single one of them - were marvellous. Friendly, professional, polite. A real credit to the hotel.

Guests - mix of Chinese/Japanese/Russian/European. Families and couples, everyone there for a nice time. Atmosphere friendly.

Eating - plenty of choice in the hotel or you can go explore in Sanya. Hotel breakfast buffet outstanding.

There are 3 excellent swimming pools, direct access to the beach (clean), plenty of watersport activities. Accommodation clean and comfortable, high standard. Gym is good.

Easy ride into Sanya (50 or 60 RMB/30 mins taxi ride) where you can explore, eat, buy clothes/watches etc if you like.

If you need to escape for a few days, this is a great place to go, you can recharge yourself. Not cheap, not too expensive ... as with most things you pay for what you get.

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — Nothingh
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pw_trip67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tokyo
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2008

What a wonderful getaway spot in China. We have been expat in Asia for several years and found Sanya to be just the perfect quick getway spot. We had the hotel come and pick us up from the airport (taxi is about 150 RMB (30 min ride), hotel BMW was 450 RMB big difference but it was worth it. They came with an infant seat for us and it allowed for smooth check in). When we arrived at the hotel we were taken directly to our room for a private check in. We had a deluxe sea room.. clean, nice view.. etc. We booked directly with the hotel and were able to get a promotion with American Express buy 2 nights get the 3rd free. You had to pay in advance - non-refundable. Upon check in the staff informed us of the 5 pools, ocean, 2 restaurants that were open, and also recommended for us to try the new Ritz Italian restaurant. (which was nice that they placed recommendations for other hotels and made reservation for us). Probably the one downside of the hotel was the food (average). We did try the Ritz twice and thought the same of the food (average). The great thing about Yalong Bay is that all the hotels are right next to each other and share the same stretch of beach. So you can't go wrong with any hotel ..and it is easy to hop from place to place for dinners.

There are 5 pools, all were clean and well maintained. You are allowed to bring floating toys into the pool too which was nice. Pool service staff was very attentive... just what you want on a holiday. It is a very family friendly place, but with lush gardens there were some tucked away lounge chairs spots if you wanted some peace and quiet...

We did have one run in... after receiving our room service 30 mins later we received a call asking for cash to pay the bill. We had been charging to the room the entire trip. We called down to the manager and complained that someone was calling us asking for cash. The management staff said F&P called the wrong room, but was sorry for the issue and sent us flowers and a fruit basket the next day. We were very happy with how they handled the situation.

Overall, great experience.. stop wasting time reading the reviews..and just book it! You will love Sanya and the Sheraton.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gatorgirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2008

As far as location, I think it was good because it was along the beachfront strip (like how it is in Hawaii). The garden grounds were pretty and abundant. There is a kiddy pool and an infinity lap pool. The hotel decor was pretty much as expected for a Sheraton. My husband and I stayed in a deluxe room which was located dead center of the hotel facing the garden/sea view. The room itself was nice, clean, and even provided waterproof sandals to use around the resort. We just wish the hotel itself was closer to the sea, because you can hardly see the sea due to how widespread the garden was. The downside of this resort is the food and service of the restaurant. The food and service in the international cafe was terrible, it took forever to get service after going there twice and the food wasn't good either. The only decent food there was at the Chinese restaurant. As far as entertainment, besides the horrible filipino band they had playing at night, their only other bar/nightclub was closed!

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank kdk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HappyFyle, Sales & Online Marketing Manager at Sheraton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort, responded to this review, 20 July 2008
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for sharing your feelings and bring up these feedback to us!
It's so important to collect all of you feedback to improve and strengthen our service.
I will share this with our Director of Food & Beverage, if you could share us more detail of your feeling will be highly appreciate!
Warm welcome to receive your email to sanya.sheraton@sheraton.com.
Wish you all the best!

Fiona Deng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Yalong Bay
Hilton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort & Spa
MGM Grand Sanya
#13 of 1,346 in Sanya
442 reviews
Yalong Bay
The Ritz-Carlton Sanya, Yalong Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Haitang Bay
Sheraton Sanya Haitang Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort

Property: Sheraton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort
Address: Yalong Bay National Resort District, Sanya 572000, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sanya
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Sanya
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sanya
#20 Spa Hotel in Sanya
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
#20 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
#43 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Sanya Resort, located in the heart of the world-class resort district of Yalong Bay, overlooks the clear waters of the gleaming sun-kissed South China Sea and possesses a fascinating beach. It is approximately 40-minute drive from the Sanya Phoenix International Airport, 15-minute drive from Yalong Bay Railway Station, 5-minute walk from Yalong Bay Tropical Paradise Forest Park and 5-minute drive from the Yalong Bay Outlets. The Resort is equipped with 511 guest rooms including 49 suites and 5 villas, which are spacious and elegant. Each of the room and suite commands spectacular views of the ocean, the tropical lush gardens, mountains or the golf course. All villas have ocean views and direct access to the beach. With a selection of 8 restaurants and bars including Palm Court Lobby Bar, Lotus Café All Day Dining, Spice Garden, Baiyun Chinese Restaurant, Pool Bar, CU Restaurant, Beach Garden and Samba Night Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sanya Hotel Sanya
Sanya Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing