We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“China's Hawaii”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Sanya Resort
Ranked #22 of 1,330 Hotels in Sanya
Certificate of Excellence
Braintree, Essex
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“China's Hawaii”
Reviewed 2 September 2007

The Chinese are renown for copying things but in this case they are truly unique and a cut above the rest. I truly loved this place and totally forgot I was in China. I will always remember Sanya and want to come back one day.

Stayed January 2006
Helpful?
Thank MichaelDJJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,864 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    842
    891
    96
    21
    14
See reviews for
73
82
12
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, Lancs
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2007

After a gruelling, yet fabulous 9 days exploring China we ended up at the Sheraton for 5 days to chill. Most of the others on our tour were staying at the Mariott or Hilton, some of them said that this was due to the poor reiews the staff at the Sheraton had received on this site, so my teenage daughter were on our own there.

The hotel was wonderful. The rooms huge and well appointed (we were upgraded on our arrival as the drinks vouchers in our package had been forgotten - it was 11.30 at night - and were deducted from the final bill anyway), the pools fabulous, the beach lovely and the staff.........

Every member of staff we met, whether by the pool, in the room or just walking through the huge and beautiful grounds, said "Good morning" with a friendly smile. The waiters remembered who we were, sometimes even greeted us by name and were very attentive. The food did take some time in coming, but that was because it was cooked to order. Anyway, who cares, we weren't in a hurry to get anywhere! The staff at the Madarin Spa were lovely and the treatments amazing. The bell boys tried hard with their English and if they didn't understand got someone who did. The reception staff were helpful and the staff in the Samba bar/nightclub really friendly.

We saw some guests being very rude to some of the waiters so if they got bad service, I'm not really surprised - they probably deserved it. Our experience was quite the opposite. I'd have no hesitation in going back at all. It really is like Hawaii - gorgeous!

  • Liked — the pools, grounds and spa
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marvelmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2007

We stayed at the Marriott next door (right next door ... some rooms at the Sheraton overlook the Marriott's gardens) but went to the Sheraton for drinks and dinner.

Hotel looked fine - very nice gardens - and had cocktails in the lobby. Why that Ferrari is there is a mystery ... but the drinks were fine.

We ate in the Spice Garden - food was DELICIOUS but the room lacked atmosphere.

Didn't see the bedrooms, but if they were as good as the public areas you won't be disappointed

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank Christo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2007

We are not the type of travelers who typically enjoy the big resorts, but we really enjoyed our stay at the Sheraton Sanya. We met up with a small group of friends and spent 4 days here.

The rooms are very nice and big - very comfortable beds with light down comforters, sleek furniture, very updated, very clean. Plantation shutters separate the bedroom from the bathroom, and they open so you can sit in the tub and see the view through the sliding glass doors to the balcony.

The beaches are wonderful - clear water, sandy sea floor, no trash. There are comfortable lounge chairs at the beach and to get service, simply put out the "service" flag and someone is there to take your drink and food order. We only had a couple of women try to sell us pearls, so we were never accosted.

There are numerous swimming pools and we kept discovering a new one each day.

The Mandara Spa on site is really beautiful and is decorated in the old Asian style with lots of "antique" timbers and earth-colored stone work. Our massages, facials and pedicures were all great. (Prices were comparable to Western prices, maybe a little less.)

There is also a medical clinic and a China Southern Airlines office on site. The staff does speak pretty good English, depending on the person. Most of our group speaks Mandarin, so we didn't have any trouble.

The restaurants are good - not exactly fine dining, but still good. I especially enjoyed the Pan-Asian restaurant with the choices of Indian, Thai, Japanese and Chinese cuisine. Food was very spicy, but I liked that. The Chinese restaurant is also good. The cafe food was only okay. And none of the places are cheap. I never got sick, which is always key.

We stayed here in late June and it was VERY hot and humid - 95F every day and 99% humidity. Even sitting in the open-air pavilion, there were no ceiling fans and no breezes - it was SO hot. The upside is that the resort was not overly crowded - we actually could sit by one of the pools and have it all to ourselves, which is significant in Asia. The pool water and the beach water were more like bath water, so it brought little relief from the heat. And the sun is VERY strong - I wore waterproof 30 sunblock and still got sunburned. Service can be slow, alcoholic drinks are mediocre, but overall the place is great.

We signed up through the dive shop on site to snorkel. There were several people also with us who went scuba diving. The whole experience was really disorganized, with more people on the boat than there probably should have been. We rode out to a pontoon where we put on our snorkeling gear and snorkeled around a cove. The "divemasters" were smoking cigarettes around the scuba tanks. They allowed the "scuba divers" to walk around on the coral and touch it. The snorkeling was pretty good, but not great. And it was pretty sad to see how the coral had been badly damaged already - eco-tourism has not yet arrived here. Our tour was supposed to be an hour, but because of the disorganization and the "divemasters" interest in 3 squealing teenage girls, we were out there about 2 1/2 hours, at least half that time sitting on the pontoon, because they told us to get ready to leave and then just goofed around. I would NOT advocate the scuba diving here - just not safe.

One note - we did eat at the Vietnamese restaurant at the Marriott one night, which is just next door. The food was excellent and we talked to some well-seasoned Asia travelers who say it has the best Sunday brunch in the area. The strangest thing was how much cooler it was at the Marriott. I think the design of Sheraton somehow keeps the breezes from coming in, because the minute we walked off the beach and got back to the Sheraton, it was at least 10 degrees warmer than the Marriott and there were NO breezes. Sounds strange, but it's true.

Didn't go into Sanya City - did walk way down the beach to the Holiday Inn to a "market" which is just across the street from the Holiday Inn. They were selling animals made of shells, cheap beads, some purses, flowered shirts and some kids clothes - not much to choose from, but I did get a couple of things. They will bargain with you.

Hainan Island is not well known to Americans (for some traveler, that might be a good thing?) - there are lots of Chinese and Russian tourists that come here.

Sheraton Sanya is a really wonderful beach vacation place for couples, solo travelers and families. We never left the resort, as we have been traveling a lot and just wanted to relax by the beach.

  • Liked — Comfortable beds, spacious rooms, good in room air-conditioning
  • Disliked — Hot! Pool water was as warm as bath water
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BrightStar43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2007

The Sheraton is an impressive hotel but to me it felt in some ways more like a business hotel than a resort. It's huge - I think it has seven swimming pools - and heaven for kids. There seems to be gushing water everywhere - couldn't sleep! It's not very subtle. The staff are sweet - more laid back than on the mainland - but service not as good as an equivalent resort in, say, Thailand or Singapore. The beach area is lovely and the rooms are decent but it lacks character. I preferred the Crowne Plaza, with its beautiful bathrooms, slightly quieter vibe (not so many kids) and lovely people working there. By the way, if you are in Yalong Bay it's hard to get cheap local food. Take a taxi to Sanya City for good seafood at about a tenth of the price at the Sheraton.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tongyuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2007

My husband and and 8 year old visited Sanya April-2-10, 2007. My husband is working in Shanghai so we wanted a getaway in China. They say that it is the "Hawaii" of China and this is very true. The beaches and hotels are gorgeous.

We did have a hard time as Americans finding much food that appealed to us. It is very authentic chinese and very expensive. We like the Pad Thai at the hotel restaurant, but that was only available at night. This part of the trip was very disappointing. There is also very little to do for entertainment outside of the beach and hotel singers at night. We did not run into any other Americans on our trip and very few people whoe spoke any english. Actually, it felt a bit isolating to us but if you don't mind this, you may be o.k.

The Sheraton was very nice and modern. The rooms were very clean and nicely decorated with vessel sinks, faucets, modern showers and soaking tubs. They were also quite big. We found our service to be good but expect very little english to be spoken.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim_Minnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2007

I stayed at this hotel after a fabulous yet completely exhausting tour of eastern china. to say that it was paradise is actually an understatement. this hotel really raised the bar! the rooms are incredible - spacious and heavenly, with furnishings that are modern yet still compliment the local enviroment. fantastic spa, breathtaking beach, great food. really, really blissful.

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank schiaperelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Yalong Bay
Hilton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort & Spa
MGM Grand Sanya
#11 of 1,330 in Sanya
438 reviews
Yalong Bay
The Ritz-Carlton Sanya, Yalong Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hedong
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
#3 of 1,330 in Sanya
912 reviews
Yalong Bay
Sanya Marriott Yalong Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Sanya Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Sanya Resort

Property: Sheraton Sanya Resort
Address: Yalong Bay National Resort District, Sanya 572000, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sanya
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Sanya
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sanya
#20 Spa Hotel in Sanya
#21 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
#45 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Sanya Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“The Official Resort of Miss World” for three consecutive years, the beachfront Sheraton Sanya Resort in the Yalong Bay National Resort District overlooks white beaches and inviting tropical gardens. Known as the “Hawaii of China”, Hainan Island is a paradise for creating memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Sanya Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sanya Hotel Sanya
Sanya Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing