We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel with a spacious and charming territory”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cactus Resort Sanya by Gloria
Ranked #40 of 1,366 Hotels in Sanya
Reviewed 10 January 2012

The hotel is quite recommendable. It has a vast green territory with lots of nice small details, like hanging chairs, hammocks, fresh water showers.. The smimming pool is huge and has a great view of the hotel and a number of comfortable lounge chairs. There is a small pool bar with a limited choice of drinks.
The hotel's beach is about 12 minutes walk away and there is a shuttle car service to and from the beach running every 5-8 minutes. The beach has lounge chairs with umbrellas exclusively for the hotel guests. However, the chairs at the beach unlike at the pool have no mattresses and are therefore quite hard. The hotel does not provide beach towels, but the guests are not prohibited to take the regular shower towels from the rooms to the beach.
We did not like our room much, as it was rather small and had no balcony. The bathroom was extremely small and the bathtub was leaking, so the bathroom floor was always wet.
However, the beds were very comfortable. And there was everything necessary in the room, including a kettle, a fridge, lots of mirrors, a table, a wardrobe.. Complimentary water. Complimentary broadband internet. Free wifi in the lobby.
The breakfast was great, a mixture of Chinese and Western dishes. Fresh pastries. Indoor and outdoor seating. However, there was not that much seating space at peak hours. A bit pricey at 80 rmb per person per day.
Unfortunately, we found it a bit tricky finding passable dining options in the Yalong Bay area. The hotel only offers buffet dinner in the evening (188 rmb a person - too pricey. You could also go to the other hotels, but their meals are also rather expensive and nothing special. There is an entertainment (shopping+dining) complex at Crown Plaza hotel (about 15 minutes walk to the right from the Cactus along the beach ). There you can get some Chinese restaurants, a Pizza Hut, expensive and deserted shops and a small supermarket.
For more dining and shopping options one has to go to Dadonghai Bay (10 rmb by bus, 50-60 rmb by taxi).

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank selya84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 33 of 1,490 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2012

terrific resort,nice outdoor area with large pool,Not far to the beach.
big nice room and nice clean bathroom.
very good food at the buffet:)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Everything about this resort is average. We booked it because of the price comparing with other hotels. The rooms are nice, hotel beach is very good with a nice bar. As well this resort is in Yalong bay, so if you want to go where all the action is in Sanya expect a 30 min drive and 60 Yuans one way. Breakfast overpriced.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IIM612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Read the previous reviews and despite the mostly negative reviews, i booked a 3 night stay and i am glad I did. The hotel has seemingly undergone a thorough renovation and it boasts a very pleasant and welcoming atmosphere. Everything looked clean and new.

They have free wi-fi in the lobby and wired internet in the rooms. A bit slow but functional

The rooms are spacious enough, bathroom's a little smaller, but it was ok for me since i was a solo traveller. Breakfast buffet was big, but i was not particularly impressed with the food available. It was very "lunch" kind of food, typical of asian breakfasts. I agree with most, the dinner buffet was quite pricey, but there is an optional a la-carte restaurant on the lower flower with good food and affordable prices.

I was quite disappointed with the spa. I tried to book for a massage session, but they only had the spa menu written in russian and chinese and the staff in there spoke no single word of english.

As the hotel is not located opposite or close to the beach, they have recently and conveniently made available two golf carts that run at 10min interval, transporting hotel guests to and from the beach. However, should you choose to walk, it takes less than 10min each way.

Overall, it was good. I had a very relaxing time.

Room Tip: pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nyenyezi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

This hotel was close to what I expected. It is not a five star resort but is very nice. Hotel is clean and new with little of the peeling paint and constant construction you often see in China. The one thing that this hotel is lacking is really top notch service but this is typical throughout China. As an expat who has lived in China for the past year, this hotel is China good - excellent from a Chinese standard. The Bar, Moon Bar, was under construction and I would have really liked to have had some place to have a drink the nights we were there. My wife (who is Chinese) arranged tours while we were there that so we were able to eat off property. The property restaurants are expensive from a Chinese standard. I think the English was limited but I let my wife do that talking so we had no issues. If you want to do mostly sightseeing, you might be better staying downtown Sanya but this place is nice if you want to spend the day at the pool or beach.

Room Tip: Our mountain view room had no view at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hankg387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2011

The hotel is next to the butterflies park but don't have direct access to the beach. You have to walk a bit to reach the sand; however there a part of the beach is belong to the hotel. Room are large and very comfortable. Nice sea view and excellent pool in the middle. You can take a nap under jack fruit tree in the afternoon , it's quiet.
There is a buffet BBQ sometimes around the pool which is good as there is no much others restaurants around the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank voyageurautourdumond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2011

Good clean rooms, beds large and comfortable, washing room a bit small, but sufficient
Internet connection slow but reliable
Breakfast medium quality, food not as good as in the great shopping mall nearby - neither in variaty, freshness nor taste.
Service in general good - but allmost nobody has a decent knowledge of english.
Pool and Beach good - shuttle with golfcartype buggies is working in daytime.
All together good for the price but certainly nothing special.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank darwinist2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Sanya Bay
Palm Beach Resort & Spa Sanya
Yalong Bay
Universal Resort
Universal Resort
#367 of 1,366 in Sanya
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Costa Hotel
#307 of 1,366 in Sanya
45 reviews
Yalong Bay
Resort Golden Palm
Resort Golden Palm
#58 of 1,366 in Sanya
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cactus Resort Sanya by Gloria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cactus Resort Sanya by Gloria

Address: Yalong Bay National Resort, Sanya 572016, China
Region: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
#7 Family Hotel in Sanya
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sanya
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Sanya
#34 Spa Hotel in Sanya
#38 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
Price Range: £42 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cactus Resort Sanya by Gloria 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Cactus Resort Sanya by Gloria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cactus Resort Sanya By Gloria Hotel Sanya
Cactus Hotel Sanya
Sanya Cactus Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing