We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic (for the price)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Bay
Ranked #43 of 1,347 Hotels in Sanya
Certificate of Excellence
Newport Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
217 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 752 helpful votes
“Fantastic (for the price)”
Reviewed 17 April 2008

MY TRAVEL STYLE: If possible, I try to stay away from business and strongly prefer resorts that resemble the Four Seasons, Aman, and Oberoi but try to find similar properties at lower cost. I seek out the “wow” experiences and I encourage you to view hotels I have stayed at and their respective reviews (by clicking on my name). We stayed at this hotel since we were not allowed into Yalong Bay for few days since the President of China was there.

LOCATION: Good, not excellent. There is a road between the beach and the hotel. The hotel is on the best part of Sanya Bay, but not on the best beach in Sanya (Yalong Bay). There are no restaurants in walking distance. Must take a 30 Yuan, 25 minute taxi to walking street that has a few restaurants, tons of shopping, and McDonalds and KFC. There is less people on this beach than Yalong Bay but not nearly as beautiful.

BEST WAY TO GET THERE: Taxi from the airport costs 40 Yuan (not metered) and takes about 10 minutes.

TYPE OF ROOM: Standard, mountain view.

BED/SHEETS/PILLOW: Bed was soft after we filled out a card to change the bed from hard to soft. Sheets are average and pillows are thin and great.

LIGHTING: Very good lighting in bedroom and bathroom.

BATHROOM/SHOWER: The shower is both a Rain shower and handheld. Very good water pressure and temperature can be made hot if desired. A few times the shower temperature would change from hot to warm.

TOILETRIES: Fine, but nothing special.

CLEANLINESS: The room is very clean. Bathroom is clean with some minor mold in the grout.

A/C: Quickly and quietly gets the room cool.

CLOSET SPACE: Average, enough for two people to hang most items.

STYLE OF ROOM: Standard mountain view has a view of water buffalo, mountains, and the airport, a nice room but definitely worth the extra cost for the sea view since I was able to check out one of those rooms.

QUIET/MORNING LIGHT: The room is quiet from hotel noise, but an occasional plane can be heard as late as 1:00AM. Not too loud and didn’t disturb our sleep, but noticeable while awake.

FOOD: Average to good with never once in 4 nights having a really great meal. But nothing was bad. Breakfast had pancakes, eggs, 3-4 cereals, yoghurts, and breads. Pancakes had corn in them a few days, kind of gross. Mostly Asian food.

TV/INTERNET: TV has 3 english channels, CNN, HBO, and Cinemax. The internet in the room is wired and very slow (same speed as our hotel in Yalong Bay). The internet is provided at no charge.

SERVICE: Mixed. Amazing over the top service is combined with really poor, slow service. Dislike that no one comes by the pool loungers asking if you want drinks.

COMMON AREA: Lobby is nice 4+ star with a very nice pool. Not a “wow” experience but tons of plants, trees, and gardens make the pool area really nice. The band that plays at night in the lobby is good and definitely better than most hotel bands. Beach is similar to California and nice but nothing incredible or as good as Yalong Bay.

ROOM & CITY TIPS: The mountain view room has a nice view, but definitely worth the extra cost for the sea view. We also stayed at the brand new Aegean Conifer Resort in Yalong Bay (see my review). Clearly the best two hotels in Sanya bay area is this hotel and the Kempinksi. This hotel is an absolute bargain at about US$100/night including breakfast and internet. I highly recommend this hotel but if you want the absolute best and are willing to pay for it, head over to Yalong Bay where all the 5 star resorts are located.

  • Liked — Price & pool
  • Disliked — Difficult to find a set table at breakfast
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelSnob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    249
    60
    23
    19
See reviews for
77
67
26
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2008

15 min from the airport and you are in haven. Clean and bright rooms with sea view, large bathroom, very friendly staff. We’ve booked more than a month ahead so it was $100 including breakfast for non smoking standard double.
Restaurants are good; anyway if you want to save some money and have grate experience you may have a dinner at the beach. Every evening some local fishermen’s organize some type of BBQ with today’s catch. Just go 50 m to the right along the beach road.
SPA is quite good and has reasonable prices. In Sanya city you may find lots of massage salons with cheaper prices but not that comfortable.

  • Liked — friendly and helpfull staff, location
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Squamish, BC
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2008

The Holiday Inn Sanya Bay was lovely. The beach stretches for miles and is virtually empty. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The grounds and pool area are beautiful. There is even a pool for a fish massage (not for the extremely ticklish!) There is a Spa with highly trained staff, a haridresser and fitness room. The rooms are large and comfortable. The bathroom includes a soaker tub with shutters that let you look out to the bay. We had rooms on the ocean side overlooking the pool. The rooms on the other side may experience significant noise form the airport. The included breakfast buffet was very good and plentiful.
The only downside to the resort was the restaurant. The staff mean well but the kitchen does not seem to have its act together. We waited a long time for dinners to arrive and even then the whole table was not served at the same time. Save your money and take a moti towards Sanya City and enjoy a great meal at a fraction of the price.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
6 Thank AndieSquamish_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2007

The Holiday Inn Sanya Bay Resort is only 10-15 minutes by taxi from the airport. In fact, you can see the airport from the back of the hotel. We made the mistake of booking pick-up service from the airport, which ended up costing us 100 RMB: 50 RMB over the metered fare, or 70 RMB over the 30 RMB fare you might get for yourself if you're a good haggler.

The check-in desk isn't much, but the adjoining lobby, which opens onto a veranda, is fairly attractive.

The room we booked looked a bit shabby at first sight -- tile floors, unattractive framed prints, cheap-looking furniture with some stains on the cushions, black-out curtains that looked like they'd been salvaged from a mid-80s Howard Johnson. But it grew on us the longer we stayed. The floor tiles make sense given the humid climate and the sand tracked in from the beach; and the balcony, with its view of the pool and of the sea in the distance, made up for the room's shortcomings.

The cleaning staff did a good job of cleaning the room and keeping it stocked with clean towels, soap and the rest. The doormen were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable; and most spoke English quite well. The spa was good but expensive compared with the spas in and around Sanya Summer Mall. The gym was a typical hotel gym: basic to say the least. There seemed to be a lot of security guards on the grounds, which I found reassuring. The food we ordered from Room Service was good, not too expensive and with generous portions.

The beach across the road from the hotel was attractive and fairly clean, with a beach-side bar, a row of beach chairs and umbrellas and a stand where you could rent dune buggies and jet skis.

Words of advice:
1.) When traffic on the road to downtown Sanya (the Summer Mall or Wang Hao Supermarket) is light (morning through early afternoon), you might want to pay taxi fare by the meter, which should add up to around 25 RMB. Once the traffic gets heavier, though, it's probably better to pay the standard fare of 30 RMB (or whatever the doormen say is the standard).

2.) Do your snack, soda and bottled-water shopping at Wang Hao Supermarket (the biggest and cheapest of the three supermarkets we went to) and stock up for a couple days at a time. Why pay ten times as much for the same items in the mini-bar?

3.) Don't take motorcycle-rickshaws unless you're just interested in a novel experience and don't mind getting ripped off. We took them four times and were cheated literally three out of four times. Once, the woman agreed to take us to the Summer Mall for 10 RMB but then turned the rickshaw around and went in the opposite direction to a seafood restaurant where she evidently hoped to collect a commission. Another time, a driver agreed to take us to the hotel for 20 RMB and then stopped halfway there and indicated he wouldn't go any farther unless we paid more. And yet another time, a driver agreed to take us to our hotel for 20 RMB but tried to re-negotiate up to 40 once we got there.Still, the motorcycle-rickshaw drivers were better than the tuk-tuk drivers in Bangkok -- cheating you with a warm smile, instead of with a menacing glare.

4.) When going by taxi on day-trips, have the doorman let your driver know that you want to go only where you've planned to go and that you're not interested in stopping at every tourist trap along the way.

5.) Unless rhesus monkeys in cowboy hats and holding flags are your thing, don't waste your time or money at Nanwan Monkey Island.

6.) Wuzhizhou Island is beautiful -- the water and white-sand beaches remind me of Cancun -- but it's over-priced (unless $8 for a cheaply-made beach towel is your idea of a bargain), so bring your own towels and water.

Aside from Hong Kong, Sanya is the most expensive city in China we've been to. The room was more expensive and not as nice as rooms in other hotels we've stayed in in China, but then Sanya is a resort town, with the inflated prices typical of resort towns, so maybe it's not fair to expect to find a bargain there. Sanya is a relaxing place, though; and the Holiday Inn Sanya is a fairly nice place to stay while there. Wouldn't mind going back -- if there weren't so many other great places to visit still.

  • Liked — The view from the balcony
  • Disliked — The relatively high prices
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank expat34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2007

I must say that this hotel and holiday altogether is amazing.

The staff at this hotel couldn't do more for you and were so polite. The rooms are stunning and are cleaned in the morning with the maids coming back another twice in the day to check that you have clean towels.

Although the hotel is set a bit out the way, it only costs about £2.10 to get up the town and the hotel runs a bus twice daily to different areas of the city.

The food wasn't what I had expected but I did enjoy it. The Phillipino band were fantastic. They are so friendly and if they don't know a song, they will learn it for you.

We met so many nice people on this holiday and I would disagree with the last review saying it was typical Brits. I don't think it was, and I usually hate holidays like that. Most of the Brits there were older but were still great fun.

The only tourists I had a bit of a problems with was the Russians. I found them to be so rude towards the hotel staff, demanding and couldn't seem to do anything by themselves.

I would definately return to this hotel but before Sanya becomes too commercialised.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank nicescot23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2007

Am only just getting over my jetlag from the holiday, so havent been able to write my review any sooner. But i am smiling now re-living the holiday i have just had in Sanya.

The hotel was brilliant. So much better then i expected. I usually book my holidays independently as i find the tour operators scandalous, with awful hotels. But i was plesently surprised with airtours.

The check in was quick and efficient, just what we needed after out long flight.

the room we were given was huge!! You could have had a party in it. The bathroom was ace, and our balcony looked over the stunning pool area and accross to the beach.

The room was kept so clean, the maids were brilliant and we got a change of towells twice a day.

The food in the restaurant was ok, not the chinese you expect from take away. The entertainment in the evening was repetative, but the band was good.

The only problems i found was with the sun loungers. There was not enough. And they were reserved without fail by 9am. Which was a shame
because the pool area was so nice. Also the banter around the pool seemed to revolve around a few attention seekers, and prices of the hotel bar - which is not what we were on holiday for. So me and my husband tended to pay the extra to go to the beaches in Yalong bay most of the holiday. The beaches there are stunning, so beautiful, so amazing, i cant wait to go back. We made friends with a taxi driver who looked after us with fares and we went to meet his family.

I do feel it is the time to go to Sanya NOW!!! And make sure you choose this hotel, but in the Uk winter months. It is being developed and will be ruined very quickly, probably by the brits and europeans. Allthough we met some nice people at the hotel, it seemed to be illustrated all ready that the typical brits had hit this hotel.

Make sure you go here!!! And quickly!!! And be sure to tip the staff,
they dont expect it and they appear not to want to take it, but make sure you tip them!!! They are so lovely and nice!

  • Liked — All of it
  • Disliked — Lack of sunbeds
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank KyliesBits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2007

We stayed in this hotel with my wife for 6 days in October 2007. First of all, I want to mention that the weather conditions are so unstable in Sanya. The first 3 days were all rainy with strong winds; it's because of rainy season. Fortunately, the rest of days were sunny. I recommend to go there between December and March because it's dry season. Except from weather conditions, the hotel was perfect! The staff were so kind and rooms were clean and big enough. Open buffet breakfast and restaurants foods were delicious. The best feature of the hotel is well-decorated swimming pool and beautiful beach! The short walking distance to the beach is not a big matter. This hotel is a good choice for ones expecting relaxing and peaceful holiday. Only deficiencies are noisy clients and lack of entertainment especially in the evenings.

  • Liked — beach, pool
  • Disliked — entertainment, weather
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank peperone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanya hotels
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Resort Sanya Bay
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Sanya Bay Resort
Sheraton Sanya Bay Resort
#30 of 1,347 in Sanya
73 reviews
5.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Hainan, Sanya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Soluxe Hotel and Resort Sanya
1.4 mi away
Wyndham Sanya Bay
Wyndham Sanya Bay
#14 of 1,347 in Sanya
152 reviews
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Yalong Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Bay

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Bay
Address: Haipo Tourism Resort Area, Sanya Bay Road, Sanya 572000, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
#41 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
#57 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Sanya Bay Resort - The Pearl of Sanya Bay, situated on the scenic Sanya Bay. It overlooks beautiful Sanya Bay sandy beach, East Island and West Island. The Resort is 15 minutes away from the famous The End of the Earth, Nanshan Buddhist Cultural Zone, Sanya Phoenix International Airport and the downtown. 226 tastefully decorated guest rooms and suites with wide balconies overlooking spectacular sea & mountain views. The Executive Club Floor features 35 guest rooms & suites and an elaborate Club Lounge, which provides coffee, tea and evening cocktails. You can enjoy a hot spring shower in the room.Every restaurant offers a choice of indoor and outdoor seating. The Marina Café, an oriental bistro restaurant & café, features global favourites with specially designed set menu and lavish authentic buffet spread to suit local taste and international travellers. Guest can enjoy exquisite Cantonese cuisine, as well as local popularities of Hainan Province in the Southern Hill Chinese Restaurant.A place overlooking the distinctive swimming pools and spectacular panoramic ocean view of Sanya Bay, the Harbour Lounge features snacks, pastries, coffee, teas and cocktails.Holiday Inn Sanya Bay Resort offers a very relaxing environment that features comprehensive recreational facilities. Hot spring massage gives you a wonderful experience. Only at the Holiday Inn do we provide a festive Philipine band for your dinning enjoyment! 'a colorful trio of guitars'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sanya Bay Hotel Sanya
Sanya Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing